13 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Abilene?
In short
A childcare centre in Abilene, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Abilene Building Inspections charges $100 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a childcare centre in Abilene
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daycare Inspection | Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, Environmental Health | $100 per inspection | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire State Licensing Inspection | Abilene Fire Department | $30–$200 by building area | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Child Care License | Texas Health and Human Services | $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity | annual | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Abilene
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review Fee | City of Abilene Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $100 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $300 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Protection System Permitonly if it applies to you | Abilene Fire Department | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Floodplain Development Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $150 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Planning | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Abilene Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Abilene?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a childcare centre in Abilene, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $200.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire State Licensing Inspection: $30–$200 by building area
Child Care License: $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Abilene permits page and the TX state page.
Is Abilene expensive for a childcare centre?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Abilene sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Abilene charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Abilene?
Permits for a childcare centre in Abilene, TX come from 7 separate offices: City of Abilene Building Inspections, Abilene Fire Department, Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, Environmental Health, City of Abilene Planning, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Texas Health and Human Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Abilene Building InspectionsIssues 5 permits on this page, including Commercial Plan Review Fee, Certificate of Occupancy, Temporary Certificate of Occupancy555 Walnut Street, Abilene, TX 79601 · 325-676-6232www.abilenetx.gov/563/Fee-Schedule
- Abilene Fire DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Protection System Permit, Fire State Licensing Inspection250 Grape Street, Abilene, TX 79601 · 325-676-6434www.abilenetx.gov/563/Fee-Schedule
- Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, Environmental HealthIssues 1 permit on this page: Daycare Inspection850 N 6th Street, Abilene, TX 79601 · 325-692-5600www.abilenetx.gov/563/Fee-Schedule
- City of Abilene PlanningIssues 1 permit on this page: Sign Permit555 Walnut Street, Abilene, TX 79601 · 325-676-6237www.abilenetx.gov/563/Fee-Schedule
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
- Texas Health and Human ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care Licensewww.hhs.texas.gov
What does a childcare centre need in Abilene that other businesses do not?
2 of the 3 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Abilene: Daycare Inspection and Child Care License.
Daycare Inspection
$100 for the environmental health daycare inspection. The fire side is separate and cheaper — the Abilene Fire Department charges a state licensing inspection banded by floor area, starting at $30 for premises up to 5,000 sq ft.
Child Care License
Worked example: a centre licensed for 100 children pays $135 a year ($35 + $1 x 100). The annual fee falls on the anniversary of the date the initial license was issued, not on a calendar date.
Shared with other businesses in Abilene
- Fire State Licensing Inspection — Abilene Fire Department, $30–$200 by building area, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for veterinary clinics and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Abilene, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Abilene permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Abilene?
The closest match is a veterinary clinic, which shares 1 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Daycare Inspection and Child Care License. A veterinary clinic needs Commercial Mechanical Permit, Commercial Alarm Permit and Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027, which a childcare centre does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a childcare centre | Only a childcare centre needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Retail stores | 14 | 1 | 2 | 13 |
| Auto repair shops | 7 | 0 | 3 | 7 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 0 | 3 | 6 |
| Contractors and trades | 9 | 0 | 3 | 9 |
| Fitness studios | 6 | 0 | 3 | 6 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 13 | 0 | 3 | 13 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Abilene permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Abilene Fee ScheduleCity of Abilene · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- 5200, Fees — Child Care Regulation HandbookTexas Health and Human Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
