Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Abilene?

In short

A salon or barber in Abilene, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Abilene Building Inspections charges $100 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 5 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Abilene

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Grease Trap and Interceptor Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Abilene Building Inspections$75 new or replacementnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Alarm PermitCity of Abilene Building Inspections$50 per yearone year2026-08-24
Fire Operational Permitonly if it applies to youAbilene Fire Department$50 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment LicenseTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation$78 per license periodtwo years2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Abilene

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Plan Review FeeCity of Abilene Building InspectionsVaries — formula on the Abilene pageone-time, per application2026-08-24
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Abilene Building Inspections$100 per certificatenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to youCity of Abilene Building Inspections$300 per certificatenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Fire Protection System Permitonly if it applies to youAbilene Fire DepartmentVaries — formula on the Abilene pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Floodplain Development Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Abilene Building Inspections$150 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Electrical PermitCity of Abilene Building InspectionsVaries — formula on the Abilene pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Abilene PlanningVaries — formula on the Abilene pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Building PermitCity of Abilene Building InspectionsVaries — formula on the Abilene pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Abilene?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a salon or barber in Abilene, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 7 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $228.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all.

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Abilene permits page and the TX state page.

Is Abilene expensive for a salon or barber?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Abilene sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Certificate of Occupancy: Abilene charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Abilene?

Permits for a salon or barber in Abilene, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Abilene Building Inspections, Abilene Fire Department, City of Abilene Planning, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Abilene that other businesses do not?

1 of the 4 permits particular to a salon or barber here applies to no other business type we cover in Abilene: Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License.

Grease Trap and Interceptor Permit

$75 for a new or replacement sand trap, grease trap or interceptor, permitted under the plumbing schedule. A commercial irrigation system is $100 against $75 residential, and a new or replacement water or sewer service is $75.

Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License

Establishment licenses are valid for two years from the date of issue, so the $78 is a two-year cost rather than an annual one — worth halving before you compare it with a yearly permit elsewhere. The fee applies to standard and specialty establishments; a mini-establishment license is $70. It covers full-service, mobile and specialty establishments, and applies to licenses expiring on or after 1 September 2023. Individual practitioners are licensed separately from the establishment, so a salon needs both its own license and a license for each operator working in it.

Shared with other businesses in Abilene

  • Commercial Alarm Permit — City of Abilene Building Inspections, $50 per year, one year. Also required for retail stores, restaurants, coffee shops, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
  • Fire Operational Permit — Abilene Fire Department, $50 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for auto repair shops, coffee shops, contractors and trades, fitness studios, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 8 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Abilene, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Abilene permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Abilene?

The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 3 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License. A coffee shop needs Commercial Mechanical Permit, Food Establishment Permit and Temporary Food Permit, which a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Abilene, TX, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops6313
Auto repair shops7314
Fitness studios6224
Restaurants133110
Veterinary clinics4133
Retail stores142212
Contractors and trades9138
Childcare centres3043
Food trucks3043

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the veterinary clinics page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Abilene permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Abilene Fee ScheduleCity of Abilene · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  2. Barbering and Cosmetology Fee Changes — TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.