24 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Abilene?
In short
A restaurant in Abilene, TX has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 16 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Abilene Building Inspections charges $100 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 10 of the 24 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Abilene
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $200–$500 single or multiple storey | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Mechanical Permit | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $75–$85 by system type and size | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Grease Trap and Interceptor Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $75 new or replacement | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Grading Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $250 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Board of Adjustment Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Planning | $400 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Alarm Permit | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $50 per year | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Permit | Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, Environmental Health | $75–$350 per year, by inspection frequency | one year, on a calendar-year cycle | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Construction Permitonly if it applies to you | Abilene Fire Department | $50 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Roofing Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $200 per roof structure | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Food Permitonly if it applies to you | Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, Environmental Health | $52 per event | per event | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Operational Permitonly if it applies to you | Abilene Fire Department | $50 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Plat Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Planning | $350 for the first 4 lots, plus $15 per lot thereafter, capped at $2,500 | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)only if it applies to you | Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission | $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal | every 2 years | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Abilene
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review Fee | City of Abilene Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $100 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $300 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Protection System Permitonly if it applies to you | Abilene Fire Department | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Floodplain Development Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $150 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Electrical Permit | City of Abilene Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Planning | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Abilene Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Abilene?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 24 records listed for a restaurant in Abilene, TX, 8 apply to every business of this type and 16 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 8 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $150.00. That is a floor, not a total. 10 of the 24 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Commercial Demolition Permit: $200–$500 single or multiple storey
Commercial Mechanical Permit: $75–$85 by system type and size
Food Establishment Permit: $75–$350 per year, by inspection frequency
Plat Application: $350 for the first 4 lots, plus $15 per lot thereafter, capped at $2,500
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB): $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Abilene permits page and the TX state page.
Is Abilene expensive for a restaurant?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Abilene sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Abilene charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Abilene?
Permits for a restaurant in Abilene, TX come from 7 separate offices: City of Abilene Building Inspections, Abilene Fire Department, City of Abilene Planning, Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, Environmental Health, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Abilene Building InspectionsIssues 12 permits on this page, including Commercial Plan Review Fee, Certificate of Occupancy, Temporary Certificate of Occupancy555 Walnut Street, Abilene, TX 79601 · 325-676-6232www.abilenetx.gov/563/Fee-Schedule
- Abilene Fire DepartmentIssues 3 permits on this page: Fire Protection System Permit, Fire Construction Permit, Fire Operational Permit250 Grape Street, Abilene, TX 79601 · 325-676-6434www.abilenetx.gov/563/Fee-Schedule
- City of Abilene PlanningIssues 3 permits on this page: Board of Adjustment Application, Sign Permit, Plat Application555 Walnut Street, Abilene, TX 79601 · 325-676-6237www.abilenetx.gov/563/Fee-Schedule
- Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, Environmental HealthIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Establishment Permit, Temporary Food Permit850 N 6th Street, Abilene, TX 79601 · 325-692-5600www.abilenetx.gov/563/Fee-Schedule
- Texas Alcoholic Beverage CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)www.tabc.texas.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a restaurant need in Abilene that other businesses do not?
1 of the 13 permits particular to a restaurant here applies to no other business type we cover in Abilene: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB).
Commercial Mechanical Permit
$75 minimum, and remarkably flat: a Type I grease hood system is $75, a Type II hood $75, a refrigerant system up to 10 tons $75 and over 10 tons $85, a boiler up to 100,000 BTU $75 and above it $85. A restaurant's entire mechanical package in Abilene is a few hundred dollars, against Arlington's per-component pricing that can run into four figures on a large kitchen.
Grading Permit
$250 flat. Engineering charges separately for the site works around it: a driveway approach is $35 each, sidewalk, curb and gutter $35 for the first 100 linear feet then $0.06 a foot, and a drainage plan review $25.
Board of Adjustment Application
$400 to file with the Board of Adjustment — the route for a variance or a special exception where the zoning ordinance does not permit what you intend outright. An easement release is also $400, a proportionality appeal $500 and a sidewalk waiver or deviation on a plat $250.
Food Establishment Permit
Abilene prices this by how many inspections the establishment needs, not by turnover or risk band: four inspections a year is $350, three is $275, two (including multi-seasonal) is $200, and one is $75. A non-profit not designated 501(c)(3), and ball parks, pay the one-inspection rate of $75; a seasonal snow cone operation has a nine-month option at $100. Biannual school inspections are $75. The renewal cycle is the calendar year and the deadline is mid-January — pay between 16 and 31 January and it is $50 extra, after 31 January $100 extra. Re-inspection is $75.
Fire Construction Permit
$50 to install, modify or remove flammable and combustible liquid tanks and piping, install or modify an LP-gas tank, install or modify a private fire hydrant, install or modify a spray room, dip tank or spray booth, erect a temporary membrane structure or tent, or fit a vent hood suppression system. A tent permit for public access of at least 200 square feet is also $50.
Plat Application
$350 covers a preliminary, final, minor or replat for the first four lots, then $15 a lot up to a $2,500 review cap, with actual county filing costs on top. A preliminary development plan costs nothing. Projects inside the city's designated infill area get a 50% reduction under the Infill Development Strategy — that discount does not apply to pass-through costs such as filing fees or notifications, but on the review fees it is real money.
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)
Read directly from the TABC two-year licensing fee schedule: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB) $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal, charged on a two-year cycle. A Wine and Malt Beverage Retailer's Permit (BG) is $1,900 if you do not need spirits. Note a widely-cited competitor lists $6,006 for this permit, which does not appear in the TABC schedule.
Shared with other businesses in Abilene
- Commercial Demolition Permit — City of Abilene Building Inspections, $200–$500 single or multiple storey, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Grease Trap and Interceptor Permit — City of Abilene Building Inspections, $75 new or replacement, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for coffee shops, auto repair shops and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
- Commercial Alarm Permit — City of Abilene Building Inspections, $50 per year, one year. Also required for retail stores, coffee shops, salons and barbers, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
- Commercial Roofing Permit — City of Abilene Building Inspections, $200 per roof structure, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, auto repair shops and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Temporary Food Permit — Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, Environmental Health, $52 per event, per event. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Fire Operational Permit — Abilene Fire Department, $50 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for auto repair shops, coffee shops, contractors and trades, fitness studios, retail stores and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 8 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Abilene, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Abilene permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Abilene?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 11 of these permits. A restaurant also needs Grease Trap and Interceptor Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB). A retail store needs Itinerant Business Permit, Fire State Licensing Inspection and Swimming Pool, Spa and Interactive Water Feature Permit, which a restaurant does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 14 | 11 | 2 | 3 |
| Auto repair shops | 7 | 7 | 6 | 0 |
| Contractors and trades | 9 | 7 | 6 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 6 | 7 | 0 |
| Fitness studios | 6 | 4 | 9 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 3 | 10 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 2 | 11 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 1 | 12 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 13 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the contractors and trades page, salons and barbers page, veterinary clinics page, retail stores page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Abilene permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Abilene Fee ScheduleCity of Abilene · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Two-Year Licensing Fees — TABCTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
