11 permits · verified 2026-08-27
What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Allen?
In short
A childcare centre in Allen, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Allen Building and Permitting Division charges $125 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 6 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a childcare centre in Allen
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Specific Use Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Allen Planning and Development | $450–$700 per application, plus $10 per acre on new development | per application | 2026-08-27 |
| Childcare Facility Food Permit | City of Allen Environmental Health | $300 per year | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Child Care License | Texas Health and Human Services | $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity | annual | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Allen
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Allen Building and Permitting Division | Varies — formula on the Allen page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Fire Protection System Construction Permit | City of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Allen page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Commercial Trade and Over-the-Counter Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Allen Building and Permitting Division | Varies — formula on the Allen page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Allen Planning and Development | Varies — formula on the Allen page | 1 year for temporary and billboard permits; not stated for permanent signs | 2026-08-27 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Allen Building and Permitting Division | $125 per certificate | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Allen?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a childcare centre in Allen, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $425.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Specific Use Permit: $450–$700 per application, plus $10 per acre on new development
Child Care License: $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Allen permits page and the TX state page.
Is Allen expensive for a childcare centre?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Allen sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Allen charges $125. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 12 charge less, 8 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Allen?
Permits for a childcare centre in Allen, TX come from 7 separate offices: City of Allen Building and Permitting Division, City of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, City of Allen Planning and Development, City of Allen Environmental Health, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Texas Health and Human Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Allen Building and Permitting DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Commercial Building Permit, Commercial Trade and Over-the-Counter Permit, Certificate of Occupancy305 Century Parkway, Allen, TX 75013www.cityofallen.org/departments/community_development/building_and_permitting/index.php
- City of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Protection System Construction Permit305 Century Parkway, Allen, TX 75013www.cityofallen.org/departments/fire/index.php
- City of Allen Planning and DevelopmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Specific Use Permit, Sign Permit305 Century Parkway, Allen, TX 75013www.cityofallen.org/departments/community_development/planning_and_development/planning_regulationssignsmaps.php
- City of Allen Environmental HealthIssues 1 permit on this page: Childcare Facility Food Permit305 Century Parkway, Allen, TX 75013www.cityofallen.org/1013/Environmental-Health
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
- Texas Health and Human ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care Licensewww.hhs.texas.gov
What does a childcare centre need in Allen that other businesses do not?
2 of the 3 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Allen: Childcare Facility Food Permit and Child Care License.
Childcare Facility Food Permit
$300 a year, priced as its own category rather than folded into the food preparation bands. That puts an Allen nursery at the light-food-preparation rate regardless of how much cooking it actually does, which is dearer than Prosper's free ISD-owned kitchens and cheaper than a private school food establishment there at $350. A childcare facility also needs the state Child Care License, which is a separate matter from this permit.
Child Care License
Worked example: a centre licensed for 100 children pays $135 a year ($35 + $1 x 100). The annual fee falls on the anniversary of the date the initial license was issued, not on a calendar date.
Shared with other businesses in Allen
- Specific Use Permit — City of Allen Planning and Development, $450–$700 per application, plus $10 per acre on new development, per application. Also required for auto repair shops, restaurants, veterinary clinics, fitness studios and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Allen, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Allen permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Allen?
The closest match is a veterinary clinic, which shares 1 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Childcare Facility Food Permit and Child Care License. A veterinary clinic needs Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027, which a childcare centre does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a childcare centre | Only a childcare centre needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 10 | 1 | 2 | 9 |
| Retail stores | 11 | 1 | 2 | 10 |
| Coffee shops | 7 | 0 | 3 | 7 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Allen permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Allen Fee Schedule, last updated 10 June 2026 through Res. No. 4218-5-26(R)City of Allen · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-27
- 5200, Fees — Child Care Regulation HandbookTexas Health and Human Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
