Abilene
City of Abilene Planning
In short
City of Abilene Planning issues 4 permits we publish for Abilene, last verified 2026-08-24. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Itinerant Business Permit | City of Abilene Planning | $100 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Board of Adjustment Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Planning | $400 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Planning | 2% of the sign value, or the minimum — $200 non-billboard, $500 billboard — whichever is greater; portable signs a flat $50 | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Plat Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Planning | $350 for the first 4 lots, plus $15 per lot thereafter, capped at $2,500 | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Itinerant Business Permit
$100 for a business trading in Abilene without a fixed permanent premises — the seasonal stall, the travelling vendor, the pop-up. Abilene is one of the few cities in this dataset that still licenses itinerant trading as a named category.
Board of Adjustment Application
$400 to file with the Board of Adjustment — the route for a variance or a special exception where the zoning ordinance does not permit what you intend outright. An easement release is also $400, a proportionality appeal $500 and a sidewalk waiver or deviation on a plat $250.
Sign Permit
Value-based with a high floor: 2% of the sign value or $200 for a non-billboard sign, whichever is greater, and $500 minimum for a billboard. A portable sign is a flat $50. That $200 minimum makes an ordinary shopfront sign more expensive to permit in Abilene than in Waco ($48 to $110 by area) or Frisco ($150 flat) — worth checking before ordering.
Plat Application
$350 covers a preliminary, final, minor or replat for the first four lots, then $15 a lot up to a $2,500 review cap, with actual county filing costs on top. A preliminary development plan costs nothing. Projects inside the city's designated infill area get a 50% reduction under the Infill Development Strategy — that discount does not apply to pass-through costs such as filing fees or notifications, but on the review fees it is real money.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Abilene
- Phone
- 325-676-6237
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- City of Abilene Fee ScheduleCity of Abilene · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Other offices serving Abilene
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Texas jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
