25 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Abilene?
In short
A retail store in Abilene, TX has 11 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 14 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Abilene Building Inspections charges $100 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 10 of the 25 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Abilene
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $200–$500 single or multiple storey | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Mechanical Permit | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $75–$85 by system type and size | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Grading Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $250 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Itinerant Business Permit | City of Abilene Planning | $100 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Board of Adjustment Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Planning | $400 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Alarm Permit | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $50 per year | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Permit | Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, Environmental Health | $75–$350 per year, by inspection frequency | one year, on a calendar-year cycle | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Construction Permitonly if it applies to you | Abilene Fire Department | $50 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire State Licensing Inspection | Abilene Fire Department | $30–$200 by building area | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Roofing Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $200 per roof structure | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Food Permitonly if it applies to you | Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, Environmental Health | $52 per event | per event | 2026-08-24 |
| Swimming Pool, Spa and Interactive Water Feature Permit | Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, Environmental Health | $240 per permit | annual | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Operational Permitonly if it applies to you | Abilene Fire Department | $50 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Plat Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Planning | $350 for the first 4 lots, plus $15 per lot thereafter, capped at $2,500 | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Abilene
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review Fee | City of Abilene Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $100 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $300 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Protection System Permitonly if it applies to you | Abilene Fire Department | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Floodplain Development Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $150 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Electrical Permit | City of Abilene Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Planning | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Abilene Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Abilene?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 25 records listed for a retail store in Abilene, TX, 11 apply to every business of this type and 14 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 11 that always apply, 5 carry a flat fee, coming to $490.00. That is a floor, not a total. 10 of the 25 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Commercial Demolition Permit: $200–$500 single or multiple storey
Commercial Mechanical Permit: $75–$85 by system type and size
Food Establishment Permit: $75–$350 per year, by inspection frequency
Fire State Licensing Inspection: $30–$200 by building area
Plat Application: $350 for the first 4 lots, plus $15 per lot thereafter, capped at $2,500
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Abilene permits page and the TX state page.
Is Abilene expensive for a retail store?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Abilene sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Abilene charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Abilene?
Permits for a retail store in Abilene, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Abilene Building Inspections, Abilene Fire Department, City of Abilene Planning, Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, Environmental Health, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Abilene Building InspectionsIssues 11 permits on this page, including Commercial Plan Review Fee, Certificate of Occupancy, Temporary Certificate of Occupancy555 Walnut Street, Abilene, TX 79601 · 325-676-6232www.abilenetx.gov/563/Fee-Schedule
- Abilene Fire DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Fire Protection System Permit, Fire Construction Permit, Fire State Licensing Inspection, Fire Operational Permit250 Grape Street, Abilene, TX 79601 · 325-676-6434www.abilenetx.gov/563/Fee-Schedule
- City of Abilene PlanningIssues 4 permits on this page: Itinerant Business Permit, Board of Adjustment Application, Sign Permit, Plat Application555 Walnut Street, Abilene, TX 79601 · 325-676-6237www.abilenetx.gov/563/Fee-Schedule
- Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, Environmental HealthIssues 3 permits on this page: Food Establishment Permit, Temporary Food Permit, Swimming Pool, Spa and Interactive Water Feature Permit850 N 6th Street, Abilene, TX 79601 · 325-692-5600www.abilenetx.gov/563/Fee-Schedule
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a retail store need in Abilene that other businesses do not?
Fire State Licensing Inspection
$30 up to 5,000 sq ft, $50 from 5,001 to 12,000, $100 from 12,001 to 24,000 and $200 above 24,000. This is the fire inspection required for state licensing of nursing homes, foster homes, ICF/MR homes, hospitals and daycare — so a childcare operator needs this alongside the health district's $100 daycare inspection, and the two are charged by different departments on different bases.
Commercial Roofing Permit
$200 per roof structure — a flat fee, not a percentage of the work, so Abilene is far cheaper than Grand Prairie's 1% of value on a large commercial reroof. Towers and satellite dishes are $250 and a commercial swimming pool $250.
Fire Operational Permit
A flat $50, whichever operation it covers — and the list is long enough that most commercial operators will find themselves on it: amusement buildings, battery systems, carnivals and fairs, combustible dust-producing operations, combustible fibres, compressed gases, cryogenic fluids, cutting and welding, dry cleaning plants, exhibits and trade shows, explosives and fireworks, flammable and combustible liquids, hazardous materials, high-piled storage, industrial ovens, liquid or gas fuelled vehicles inside assembly buildings, LP-gas, lumber yards and woodworking plants, open burning, places of assembly where alcohol is consumed, pyrotechnics, repair garages and service stations, spraying and dipping operations, tents and temporary membrane structures, and waste handling or wrecking yards. A restaurant with a bar, a body shop and a self-storage yard all land here at the same $50.
Shared with other businesses in Abilene
- Commercial Demolition Permit — City of Abilene Building Inspections, $200–$500 single or multiple storey, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Commercial Mechanical Permit — City of Abilene Building Inspections, $75–$85 by system type and size, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, auto repair shops, fitness studios and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Grading Permit — City of Abilene Building Inspections, $250 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Itinerant Business Permit — City of Abilene Planning, $100 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for food trucks and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Board of Adjustment Application — City of Abilene Planning, $400 per application, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, auto repair shops, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Commercial Alarm Permit — City of Abilene Building Inspections, $50 per year, one year. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
- Food Establishment Permit — Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, Environmental Health, $75–$350 per year, by inspection frequency, one year, on a calendar-year cycle. Also required for coffee shops and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Fire Construction Permit — Abilene Fire Department, $50 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, auto repair shops and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Temporary Food Permit — Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, Environmental Health, $52 per event, per event. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Swimming Pool, Spa and Interactive Water Feature Permit — Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District, Environmental Health, $240 per permit, annual. Also required for fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Plat Application — City of Abilene Planning, $350 for the first 4 lots, plus $15 per lot thereafter, capped at $2,500, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 8 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Abilene, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Abilene permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Abilene?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 11 of these permits. A retail store also needs Itinerant Business Permit, Fire State Licensing Inspection and Swimming Pool, Spa and Interactive Water Feature Permit. A restaurant needs Grease Trap and Interceptor Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 13 | 11 | 3 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 9 | 8 | 6 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 7 | 6 | 8 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 5 | 9 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 6 | 5 | 9 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 3 | 11 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 12 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 2 | 12 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 13 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the contractors and trades page, restaurants page, food trucks page, veterinary clinics page, coffee shops page and fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Abilene permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Abilene Fee ScheduleCity of Abilene · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
