18 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Abilene?
In short
A auto repair shop in Abilene, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Abilene Building Inspections charges $100 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 6 of the 18 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Abilene
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Mechanical Permit | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $75–$85 by system type and size | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Grease Trap and Interceptor Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $75 new or replacement | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Board of Adjustment Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Planning | $400 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Alarm Permit | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $50 per year | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Construction Permitonly if it applies to you | Abilene Fire Department | $50 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Roofing Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $200 per roof structure | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Operational Permitonly if it applies to you | Abilene Fire Department | $50 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Abilene
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review Fee | City of Abilene Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $100 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $300 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Protection System Permitonly if it applies to you | Abilene Fire Department | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Floodplain Development Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Building Inspections | $150 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Electrical Permit | City of Abilene Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Abilene Planning | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Abilene Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Abilene page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Abilene?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 18 records listed for a auto repair shop in Abilene, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $150.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 18 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Commercial Mechanical Permit: $75–$85 by system type and size
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Abilene permits page and the TX state page.
Is Abilene expensive for a auto repair shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Abilene sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Abilene charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Abilene?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Abilene, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Abilene Building Inspections, Abilene Fire Department, City of Abilene Planning, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Abilene Building InspectionsIssues 10 permits on this page, including Commercial Plan Review Fee, Certificate of Occupancy, Temporary Certificate of Occupancy555 Walnut Street, Abilene, TX 79601 · 325-676-6232www.abilenetx.gov/563/Fee-Schedule
- Abilene Fire DepartmentIssues 3 permits on this page: Fire Protection System Permit, Fire Construction Permit, Fire Operational Permit250 Grape Street, Abilene, TX 79601 · 325-676-6434www.abilenetx.gov/563/Fee-Schedule
- City of Abilene PlanningIssues 2 permits on this page: Board of Adjustment Application, Sign Permit555 Walnut Street, Abilene, TX 79601 · 325-676-6237www.abilenetx.gov/563/Fee-Schedule
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a auto repair shop need in Abilene that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in Abilene
- Commercial Mechanical Permit — City of Abilene Building Inspections, $75–$85 by system type and size, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Grease Trap and Interceptor Permit — City of Abilene Building Inspections, $75 new or replacement, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
- Board of Adjustment Application — City of Abilene Planning, $400 per application, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Commercial Alarm Permit — City of Abilene Building Inspections, $50 per year, one year. Also required for retail stores, restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
- Fire Construction Permit — Abilene Fire Department, $50 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Commercial Roofing Permit — City of Abilene Building Inspections, $200 per roof structure, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, restaurants and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Fire Operational Permit — Abilene Fire Department, $50 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for coffee shops, contractors and trades, fitness studios, restaurants, retail stores and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 8 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Abilene, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Abilene permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Abilene?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 7 of these permits. A restaurant needs Commercial Demolition Permit, Grading Permit, Food Establishment Permit and 3 more, which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 13 | 7 | 0 | 6 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 4 | 3 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 6 | 4 | 3 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 14 | 6 | 1 | 8 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 3 | 4 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 9 | 4 | 3 | 5 |
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 2 | 5 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 7 | 3 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 7 | 3 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, salons and barbers page, veterinary clinics page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Abilene permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
