Commercial Compliance Hub

24 published records

Business licenses and permits in Abilene, Texas

Taylor County. Abilene publishes one city-wide fee schedule covering every department, which makes it unusually easy to cost a project here end to end. Its food establishment permit is priced by how many inspections a year the business needs rather than by turnover or risk band — $75 for one inspection up to $350 for four — so a low-frequency operation pays a fraction of what the same business would pay in a sales-banded city. Environmental health is run jointly as the Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District.

What are you opening in Abilene?

Permits that apply to every type of business in Abilene

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Plan Review FeeCity of Abilene Building Inspections25% of the permit feeone-time, per application2026-08-24
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Abilene Building Inspections$100 per certificatenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to youCity of Abilene Building Inspections$300 per certificatenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Fire Protection System Permitonly if it applies to youAbilene Fire Department$50–$200 by building areanot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Floodplain Development Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Abilene Building Inspections$150 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Electrical PermitCity of Abilene Building Inspections$75–$350 by service size or work typenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Abilene Planning2% of the sign value, or the minimum — $200 non-billboard, $500 billboard — whichever is greater; portable signs a flat $50not stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Building PermitCity of Abilene Building Inspections$75 minimum to $500 of valuation; $75 plus $1.50 per $100 to $2,000; $97.50 plus $7 per $1,000 to $25,000; $258.50 plus $6 per $1,000 to $50,000; $408.50 plus $5 per $1,000 to $100,000not stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

What do these permits involve in Abilene?

Commercial Plan Review Fee

25% of the permit fee, non-refundable and due when the plans are submitted rather than when the permit issues. Multi-family is charged at the same 25%; a residential plan review is a flat $35.

Certificate of Occupancy

$100. Where the owner only needs utilities released to clean and show a space, that is $75 instead. Abilene's address change fee is $100 — worth noting alongside, because a new suite number often has to exist before the certificate can be issued.

Temporary Certificate of Occupancy

$300 for the temporary certificate, and $1,000 for EACH extension. That is the steepest extension penalty of any city in this dataset — Waco charges $300 and $400 for its two extensions, Arlington $150. Abilene has priced it so that opening on a temporary certificate and letting it run is genuinely expensive, which is worth knowing before you plan a soft opening around one.

Fire Protection System Permit

Banded on floor area: $50 up to 5,000 sq ft, $100 from 5,001 to 12,000, $150 from 12,001 to 24,000 and $200 above 24,000. One fee covers all of it — automatic fire-extinguishing systems, compressed gas systems, fire alarm and detection systems, fire pumps and related equipment, and standpipe systems, whether installed, moved or modified. Compare with Grand Prairie, which prices the same work by device count instead.

Floodplain Development Permit

$150 flat, issued by Engineering rather than Building Inspections. A floodplain insurance determination — the letter a lender usually asks for — is $12. Abilene does not band this by acreage the way Grand Prairie does.

Commercial Electrical Permit

$75 minimum. A new or upgraded service is $100 up to 200 amps, $150 from 201 to 400 amps and $200 above 401 amps. A temporary service or power pole is $75, motors are $75 regardless of horsepower, and up to 50 new outlets, plugs, switches or ceiling fans is $75. Solar panel or wind turbine installation is the outlier at $350.

Sign Permit

Value-based with a high floor: 2% of the sign value or $200 for a non-billboard sign, whichever is greater, and $500 minimum for a billboard. A portable sign is a flat $50. That $200 minimum makes an ordinary shopfront sign more expensive to permit in Abilene than in Waco ($48 to $110 by area) or Frisco ($150 flat) — worth checking before ordering.

Commercial Building Permit

Valuation-banded, with a $75 minimum on any building permit in the city. The fee is genuinely all-in for new commercial construction: the schedule states it includes building, electrical, plumbing, roofing and mechanical. Contractor registration is required before any work commences — license, bond and insurance must be in place before the permit issues — but Abilene charges nothing for the registration itself, which is unusual. Working without a permit doubles the fee, a stop work order release is $200, and re-inspection is $75.

Sources

Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. City of Abilene Fee ScheduleCity of Abilene · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24

Who issues business permits in Abilene?

Permitting in Abilene is split across 4 agencies we hold records for, with tax registration handled at state level. No single office issues everything, which is why an opening usually means filing in several places rather than one.

Abilene issuing agencies

Other Texas jurisdictions we cover

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.