Abilene
Abilene Fire Department
In short
Abilene Fire Department issues 4 permits we publish for Abilene, last verified 2026-08-24. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Protection System Permitonly if it applies to you | Abilene Fire Department | $50–$200 by building area | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Construction Permitonly if it applies to you | Abilene Fire Department | $50 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire State Licensing Inspection | Abilene Fire Department | $30–$200 by building area | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Operational Permitonly if it applies to you | Abilene Fire Department | $50 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Fire Protection System Permit
Banded on floor area: $50 up to 5,000 sq ft, $100 from 5,001 to 12,000, $150 from 12,001 to 24,000 and $200 above 24,000. One fee covers all of it — automatic fire-extinguishing systems, compressed gas systems, fire alarm and detection systems, fire pumps and related equipment, and standpipe systems, whether installed, moved or modified. Compare with Grand Prairie, which prices the same work by device count instead.
Fire Construction Permit
$50 to install, modify or remove flammable and combustible liquid tanks and piping, install or modify an LP-gas tank, install or modify a private fire hydrant, install or modify a spray room, dip tank or spray booth, erect a temporary membrane structure or tent, or fit a vent hood suppression system. A tent permit for public access of at least 200 square feet is also $50.
Fire State Licensing Inspection
$30 up to 5,000 sq ft, $50 from 5,001 to 12,000, $100 from 12,001 to 24,000 and $200 above 24,000. This is the fire inspection required for state licensing of nursing homes, foster homes, ICF/MR homes, hospitals and daycare — so a childcare operator needs this alongside the health district's $100 daycare inspection, and the two are charged by different departments on different bases.
Fire Operational Permit
A flat $50, whichever operation it covers — and the list is long enough that most commercial operators will find themselves on it: amusement buildings, battery systems, carnivals and fairs, combustible dust-producing operations, combustible fibres, compressed gases, cryogenic fluids, cutting and welding, dry cleaning plants, exhibits and trade shows, explosives and fireworks, flammable and combustible liquids, hazardous materials, high-piled storage, industrial ovens, liquid or gas fuelled vehicles inside assembly buildings, LP-gas, lumber yards and woodworking plants, open burning, places of assembly where alcohol is consumed, pyrotechnics, repair garages and service stations, spraying and dipping operations, tents and temporary membrane structures, and waste handling or wrecking yards. A restaurant with a bar, a body shop and a self-storage yard all land here at the same $50.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Abilene
- Phone
- 325-676-6434
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- City of Abilene Fee ScheduleCity of Abilene · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Other offices serving Abilene
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Texas jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
