13 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Waco?
In short
A auto repair shop in Waco, TX has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Waco Inspection Services charges $50 per change of record for the certificate of occupancy. 7 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Waco
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Backflow Prevention Device Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Waco Inspection Services | $40 first device, then $10 each | one-time, per installation | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Plumbing Permit | City of Waco Inspection Services | $8 for each plumbing fixture, trap, grease and sand trap, water heater or gas-fired appliance; $20 per line per 100 feet of sewer, water and gas service; $10 per sump, grinder pump or lift station; $50 per boiler | renewal is 50% of the original permit fee, minimum $60 | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Marshal Operational Permit | Waco Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | No fee | not stated in the published material | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Waco
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Waco Inspection Services | $50 per change of record | does not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of occupancy classification, tenancy, ownership, business name or type of business | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to you | City of Waco Inspection Services | Varies — formula on the Waco page | 30 days initially, extendable twice by 15 days | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Waco Inspection Services | Varies — formula on the Waco page | off-premise sign registration is annual, due 1 October | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Plan Review Fee | City of Waco Inspection Services | Varies — formula on the Waco page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Waco Inspection Services | Varies — formula on the Waco page | renewal is 50% of the original permit fee, minimum $60 | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Alteration and Repair Permit | City of Waco Inspection Services | Varies — formula on the Waco page | renewal is 50% of the original permit fee, minimum $60 | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Electrical Permit | City of Waco Inspection Services | Varies — formula on the Waco page | renewal is 50% of the original permit fee, minimum $60 | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Waco?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a auto repair shop in Waco, TX, 8 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 8 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $50.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Commercial Plumbing Permit: $8 for each plumbing fixture, trap, grease and sand trap, water heater or gas-fired appliance; $20 per line per 100 feet of sewer, water and gas service; $10 per sump, grinder pump or lift station; $50 per boiler
The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Waco permits page and the TX state page.
Is Waco expensive for a auto repair shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Waco sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Waco charges $50. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 here to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 20 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Waco?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Waco, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of Waco Inspection Services, Waco Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Waco Inspection ServicesIssues 9 permits on this page, including Certificate of Occupancy, Temporary Certificate of Occupancy, Backflow Prevention Device Permit(254) 750-5612www.waco-texas.com/Business/Permits-Licenses
- Waco Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Marshal Operational Permit1006 N. 25th Street, Waco, Texas 76707www.waco-texas.com/Departments/Fire-Department/Fire-Prevention
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a auto repair shop need in Waco that other businesses do not?
Backflow Prevention Device Permit
$40 for the first vacuum breaker or backflow protective device installed after a lawn sprinkler system goes in, and $10 for each additional device. Where the property sits in the extraterritorial jurisdiction a $60 trip fee applies to lawn sprinkler inspections.
Shared with other businesses in Waco
- Commercial Plumbing Permit — City of Waco Inspection Services, $8 for each plumbing fixture, trap, grease and sand trap, water heater or gas-fired appliance; $20 per line per 100 feet of sewer, water and gas service; $10 per sump, grinder pump or lift station; $50 per boiler, renewal is 50% of the original permit fee, minimum $60. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers, veterinary clinics, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Fire Marshal Operational Permit — Waco Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, No fee, not stated in the published material. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, childcare centres and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Waco, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Waco permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Waco?
The closest match is a veterinary clinic, which shares 3 of these permits. A veterinary clinic needs Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027, which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 3 | 0 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 6 | 3 | 0 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 7 | 3 | 0 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 11 | 3 | 0 | 8 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 12 | 2 | 1 | 10 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Waco permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Permit Fee SchedulesCity of Waco Inspection Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
