17 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Arlington?
In short
A auto repair shop in Arlington, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Arlington Planning and Development Services charges $150 per certificate for the temporary certificate of occupancy. 6 of the 17 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Arlington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Permit | Arlington Fire Department, Fire Prevention | $250–$2,500 by project valuation | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Specific Use Permit or Planned Developmentonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $2,400 under 1 acre; $3,000 + $200 per acre from 1 to under 5; $4,000 + $150 per acre from 5 to under 10; $6,000 + $75 per acre at 10 acres or more | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Changeonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $1,200–$3,000 by site acreage | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Grease Interceptor Plumbing Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $60 per interceptor | one-time, per installation | 2026-08-24 |
| Backflow Prevention Device Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $30 per device, first device | one-time, per installation | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $75 per site | one-time, per site | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $1,000 per review | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Arlington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review Fee | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | Varies — formula on the Arlington page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $150 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | Varies — formula on the Arlington page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $200 per building | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy — New Structure | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $100 per certificate | does not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use, tenant or owner | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy — Existing Structure | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $100 per certificate | does not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use, tenant or owner | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | Varies — formula on the Arlington page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Arlington?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 17 records listed for a auto repair shop in Arlington, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $200.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 17 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire Permit: $250–$2,500 by project valuation
Specific Use Permit or Planned Development: $2,400 under 1 acre; $3,000 + $200 per acre from 1 to under 5; $4,000 + $150 per acre from 5 to under 10; $6,000 + $75 per acre at 10 acres or more
Zoning Change: $1,200–$3,000 by site acreage
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Arlington permits page and the TX state page.
Is Arlington expensive for a auto repair shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Arlington sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Demolition Permit: Arlington charges $200. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 here, with a median of $106.50. Nowhere else covered here charges more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Demolition Permit varies by $150 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Arlington?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Arlington, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, Arlington Fire Department, Fire Prevention, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Arlington Planning and Development ServicesIssues 13 permits on this page, including Commercial Plan Review Fee, Specific Use Permit or Planned Development, Zoning Changewww.arlingtontx.gov/Business/Development-Resources
- Arlington Fire Department, Fire PreventionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Permit817-459-5539www.arlingtontx.gov/City-Services/Public-Safety/Fire-Department
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a auto repair shop need in Arlington that other businesses do not?
Commercial Site Plan Review
$1,000 for a new building on an existing platted lot. Where platting is also needed the site plan review inside the plat process is $350 instead, with public improvement engineering review at $1,000 — so the order of operations changes what you pay. Landscape review is banded by acreage at $230 up to five acres, $400 above five to twenty, and $600 over twenty, with tree preservation plan review a further $400.
Shared with other businesses in Arlington
- Fire Permit — Arlington Fire Department, Fire Prevention, $250–$2,500 by project valuation, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, childcare centres and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Specific Use Permit or Planned Development — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $2,400 under 1 acre; $3,000 + $200 per acre from 1 to under 5; $4,000 + $150 per acre from 5 to under 10; $6,000 + $75 per acre at 10 acres or more, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, childcare centres and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Zoning Change — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $1,200–$3,000 by site acreage, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Grease Interceptor Plumbing Permit — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $60 per interceptor, one-time, per installation. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Backflow Prevention Device Permit — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $30 per device, first device, one-time, per installation. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Zoning Verification Letter — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $75 per site, one-time, per site. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, childcare centres, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Arlington, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Arlington permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Arlington?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 6 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Grease Interceptor Plumbing Permit. A fitness studio needs Public and Semi-Public Pool Operational Permit and Health Spa Certificate of Registration, which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 8 | 6 | 1 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 6 | 4 | 3 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 19 | 7 | 0 | 12 |
| Childcare centres | 5 | 3 | 4 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 5 | 3 | 4 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 20 | 6 | 1 | 14 |
| Coffee shops | 10 | 3 | 4 | 7 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 2 | 5 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 6 | 0 | 7 | 6 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, fitness studios page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Arlington permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Planning and Development Services Fee Schedule — Exhibit A to Resolution No. 25-258, effective 1 October 2025City of Arlington (via Texas DSHS Local Ordinance and Fee Schedule Registry) · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
