11 permits · verified 2026-08-27
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Allen?
In short
A auto repair shop in Allen, TX has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Allen Building and Permitting Division charges $50 per year for the contractor registration. 6 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Allen
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Specific Use Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Allen Planning and Development | $450–$700 per application, plus $10 per acre on new development | per application | 2026-08-27 |
| Contractor Registration | City of Allen Building and Permitting Division | $50 per year | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Flammable and Combustible Liquids and Storage Tank Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | $50–$150 per permit, by scope | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Allen
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Allen Building and Permitting Division | Varies — formula on the Allen page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Fire Protection System Construction Permit | City of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Allen page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Commercial Trade and Over-the-Counter Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Allen Building and Permitting Division | Varies — formula on the Allen page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Allen Planning and Development | Varies — formula on the Allen page | 1 year for temporary and billboard permits; not stated for permanent signs | 2026-08-27 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Allen Building and Permitting Division | $125 per certificate | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Allen?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a auto repair shop in Allen, TX, 5 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $175.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Specific Use Permit: $450–$700 per application, plus $10 per acre on new development
Flammable and Combustible Liquids and Storage Tank Permit: $50–$150 per permit, by scope
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Allen permits page and the TX state page.
Is Allen expensive for a auto repair shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Allen sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Allen charges $125. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 12 charge less, 8 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.
Contractor Registration: Allen charges $50. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 here to $100 in Richardson, with a median of $100. Nowhere else covered here charges less.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Allen?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Allen, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Allen Building and Permitting Division, City of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, City of Allen Planning and Development, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Allen Building and Permitting DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Commercial Building Permit, Contractor Registration, Commercial Trade and Over-the-Counter Permit, Certificate of Occupancy305 Century Parkway, Allen, TX 75013www.cityofallen.org/departments/community_development/building_and_permitting/index.php
- City of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Protection System Construction Permit, Flammable and Combustible Liquids and Storage Tank Permit305 Century Parkway, Allen, TX 75013www.cityofallen.org/departments/fire/index.php
- City of Allen Planning and DevelopmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Specific Use Permit, Sign Permit305 Century Parkway, Allen, TX 75013www.cityofallen.org/departments/community_development/planning_and_development/planning_regulationssignsmaps.php
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a auto repair shop need in Allen that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in Allen
- Specific Use Permit — City of Allen Planning and Development, $450–$700 per application, plus $10 per acre on new development, per application. Also required for restaurants, childcare centres, veterinary clinics, fitness studios and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Contractor Registration — City of Allen Building and Permitting Division, $50 per year, 1 year. Also required for contractors and trades, restaurants, retail stores and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Flammable and Combustible Liquids and Storage Tank Permit — City of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $50–$150 per permit, by scope, per permit. Also required for contractors and trades and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Allen, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Allen permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Allen?
The closest match is a contractor or trade, which shares 2 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Specific Use Permit. A contractor or trade needs Fire Contractor Certificate of Registration and Electrical Contractor License, which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 2 | 1 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 11 | 3 | 0 | 8 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 10 | 2 | 1 | 8 |
| Fitness studios | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 7 | 0 | 3 | 7 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Allen permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
