9 permits · verified 2026-08-25
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Amarillo?
In short
A auto repair shop in Amarillo, TX has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Amarillo Building Safety Department charges $114 per permit for the sign permit. 2 of the 9 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Amarillo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flammable Liquids Tank and Pump Installation Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Amarillo Building Safety Department | $76 per permit | not stated in the codified schedule | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Amarillo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review | City of Amarillo Building Safety Department | Varies — formula on the Amarillo page | plan review expires 180 days after the last correction notice | 2026-08-25 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Amarillo Building Safety Department | $114 per permit | not stated in the codified schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Amarillo Building Safety Department | Varies — formula on the Amarillo page | not stated in the codified schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of Amarillo Building Safety Department | $70 per re-inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-25 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Amarillo Building Safety Department | $151 per review and inspection | not stated in the codified schedule | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Amarillo?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 9 records listed for a auto repair shop in Amarillo, TX, 4 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $151.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 9 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all.
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Amarillo permits page and the TX state page.
Is Amarillo expensive for a auto repair shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Amarillo sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Amarillo charges $151. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 17 charge less and 4 charge more.
Sign Permit: Amarillo charges $114. Across 5 jurisdictions it runs from $75 in Lubbock to $114 here, with a median of $88. Nowhere else covered here charges more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Amarillo?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Amarillo, TX come from 3 separate offices: City of Amarillo Building Safety Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Amarillo Building Safety DepartmentIssues 6 permits on this page, including Commercial Plan Review, Sign Permit, Flammable Liquids Tank and Pump Installation Permit808 S Buchanan Street, Amarillo, TX 79101www.amarillo.gov/departments/community-services/building-safety
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a auto repair shop need in Amarillo that other businesses do not?
Flammable Liquids Tank and Pump Installation Permit
$76, and the schedule is explicit that this includes the electrical and plumbing permits for the installation — so it is one fee, not three. Applies to fuel tanks and pumps, which catches filling stations, fleet yards and any premises installing standby fuel storage. Section 4-1-3(h) escalates every fee in this chapter annually by 3 per cent or CPI, whichever is greater, rounded up to a whole dollar, so treat this figure as a floor rather than a fixed price.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Amarillo, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Amarillo permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Amarillo?
The closest match is a contractor or trade, which shares 1 of these permits. A contractor or trade needs On-Site Sewage Facility (OSSF) Permit, Wrecking and Moving Permit and Electrical Contractor License, which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Retail stores | 6 | 1 | 0 | 5 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 2 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 5 | 0 | 1 | 5 |
| Salons and barbers | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Amarillo permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Amarillo Municipal Code Chapter 4-1, Fees, Permits and Contractor Registrations, as amended by Ordinance No. 8218, 16 September 2025City of Amarillo · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
