Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Cranston?

In short

A veterinary clinic in Cranston, RI has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning charges $150 one-time (the 'All Others' rate covering every commercial use; a lower $75.00 rate applies only to a one- or two-family residential structure) for the certificate of occupancy. 4 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Cranston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License (not found; activity-specific structure instead)only if it applies to youCity of Cranston City Clerk/Records and LicensesNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning$75–$100 one-time, per sign permit including inspection, per zone lot (a separate $100.00 fee applies for a Master or Common Signage Plan application)one-time, per sign — not stated beyond a sign permit's automatic lapse if the business's own license lapses or is not renewed2026-09-12
Veterinary Facility Permit — Rhode Island Health Fee Statuteonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of Health, Board of Veterinary MedicineNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Cranston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building PermitCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and ZoningVaries — formula on the Cranston pageone-time, per project; expiration not separately stated in the published schedule2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning$150 one-time (the 'All Others' rate covering every commercial use; a lower $75.00 rate applies only to a one- or two-family residential structure)one-time, issued after final inspections confirm code compliance2026-09-12
Fire Prevention Life Hazard Use Permitonly if it applies to youCranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention$75 annualannual2026-09-12
Fire Safety Plan Review and Construction PermitCranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire PreventionVaries — formula on the Cranston pageone-time, per project; application required at least 21 calendar days before work begins2026-09-12
Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to youCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning$30 one-time, per applicationone-time, per application — not stated in the published schedule2026-09-12
Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit, Appeal)only if it applies to youCity of Cranston Zoning Board of ReviewVaries — formula on the Cranston pageone-time, per application; a granted variance or special use permit expires after one year if not acted upon (Code §17.108.140)2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

RI registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$150 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Rhode Island Department of State Guidanceonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$50 a year; missing 31 May adds a further $25annual — filed between 1 February and 1 May, excluding the year of formation2026-09-04
Sales Tax PermitRhode Island Division of TaxationNo feeannual — runs 1 July through 30 June, and still must be renewed every year despite no fee2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$230 minimum one-time filing, for up to 75 million authorised sharesperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Cranston?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Cranston, RI, 4 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $150.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: $75–$100 one-time, per sign permit including inspection, per zone lot (a separate $100.00 fee applies for a Master or Common Signage Plan application)

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Cranston permits page and the RI state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Cranston?

Permits for a veterinary clinic in Cranston, RI come from 7 separate offices: City of Cranston City Clerk/Records and Licenses, City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning, Cranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention, City of Cranston Zoning Board of Review, Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division, Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Rhode Island Department of Health, Board of Veterinary Medicine. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a veterinary clinic need in Cranston that other businesses do not?

1 of the 3 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in Cranston: Veterinary Facility Permit — Rhode Island Health Fee Statute.

Veterinary Facility Permit — Rhode Island Health Fee Statute

No fee is listed for this record: the health department fee table in R.I. Gen. Laws § 23-1-54 lists, for veterinarians, an application fee ($40), an examination fee ($540), a renewal fee ($580) and a late renewal fee ($120) for the individual veterinarian, and that statute lists no facility, hospital or premises fee for the profession, although the same table separately prices a $16,900 base fee for a human hospital. A related but distinct license exists for kennels and shelters under Title 4, chapter 19, and § 4-19-2(19) defines a kennel as a place 'other than a pound or animal shelter, or veterinary hospital that is housing animals during their treatment', so under that definition a veterinary hospital housing animals for treatment is not a kennel.

Shared with other businesses in Cranston

  • General Business License (not found; activity-specific structure instead) — City of Cranston City Clerk/Records and Licenses, No fee, not applicable. Also required for retail stores and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Sign Permit — City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning, $75–$100 one-time, per sign permit including inspection, per zone lot (a separate $100.00 fee applies for a Master or Common Signage Plan application), one-time, per sign — not stated beyond a sign permit's automatic lapse if the business's own license lapses or is not renewed. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Cranston, RI; what each one involves is set out on the Cranston permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across RI and are covered on the RI state page.

How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Cranston?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 2 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Veterinary Facility Permit — Rhode Island Health Fee Statute. A retail store needs nothing here that a veterinary clinic does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Cranston, RI, compared with a veterinary clinic
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a veterinary clinicOnly a veterinary clinic needsOnly it needs
Retail stores2210
Salons and barbers5213
Fitness studios2121
Auto repair shops3122
Coffee shops4123
Restaurants4123
Childcare centres2032
Contractors and trades4034
Food trucks3033

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Cranston permits page and the RI state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Rhode Island General Laws section 23-1-54 — the food establishment fee tableRhode Island General Assembly · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.