Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Cranston?

In short

A coffee shop in Cranston, RI has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning charges $150 one-time (the 'All Others' rate covering every commercial use; a lower $75.00 rate applies only to a one- or two-family residential structure) for the certificate of occupancy. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Cranston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Victualling House LicenseCity of Cranston City Clerk/Records and Licenses$100–$250 annual, banded by seating capacity ($100.00 for 1-25 seats, $150.00 for 26-50 seats, $250.00 for over 50 seats)annual — expires March 31 following issuance (Code §5.04.040), with no rebate for a partial term2026-09-12
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning$75–$100 one-time, per sign permit including inspection, per zone lot (a separate $100.00 fee applies for a Master or Common Signage Plan application)one-time, per sign — not stated beyond a sign permit's automatic lapse if the business's own license lapses or is not renewed2026-09-12
Certified Food Protection ManagerRhode Island Department of Health, Center for Food Protection$50 to apply; renewal is $503 years2026-09-04
Food Establishment LicenseRhode Island Department of Health, Center for Food Protection$160–$240 a year for a restaurant, banded by seatingannual — 12 months from the registration renewal date2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Cranston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building PermitCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and ZoningVaries — formula on the Cranston pageone-time, per project; expiration not separately stated in the published schedule2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning$150 one-time (the 'All Others' rate covering every commercial use; a lower $75.00 rate applies only to a one- or two-family residential structure)one-time, issued after final inspections confirm code compliance2026-09-12
Fire Prevention Life Hazard Use Permitonly if it applies to youCranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention$75 annualannual2026-09-12
Fire Safety Plan Review and Construction PermitCranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire PreventionVaries — formula on the Cranston pageone-time, per project; application required at least 21 calendar days before work begins2026-09-12
Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to youCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning$30 one-time, per applicationone-time, per application — not stated in the published schedule2026-09-12
Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit, Appeal)only if it applies to youCity of Cranston Zoning Board of ReviewVaries — formula on the Cranston pageone-time, per application; a granted variance or special use permit expires after one year if not acted upon (Code §17.108.140)2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

RI registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$150 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Rhode Island Department of State Guidanceonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$50 a year; missing 31 May adds a further $25annual — filed between 1 February and 1 May, excluding the year of formation2026-09-04
Sales Tax PermitRhode Island Division of TaxationNo feeannual — runs 1 July through 30 June, and still must be renewed every year despite no fee2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$230 minimum one-time filing, for up to 75 million authorised sharesperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Cranston?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a coffee shop in Cranston, RI, 7 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 7 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $200.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Victualling House License: $100–$250 annual, banded by seating capacity ($100.00 for 1-25 seats, $150.00 for 26-50 seats, $250.00 for over 50 seats)

Sign Permit: $75–$100 one-time, per sign permit including inspection, per zone lot (a separate $100.00 fee applies for a Master or Common Signage Plan application)

Food Establishment License: $160–$240 a year for a restaurant, banded by seating

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Cranston permits page and the RI state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Cranston?

Permits for a coffee shop in Cranston, RI come from 7 separate offices: City of Cranston City Clerk/Records and Licenses, City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning, Cranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention, City of Cranston Zoning Board of Review, Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division, Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Rhode Island Department of Health, Center for Food Protection. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Cranston that other businesses do not?

Victualling House License

A local license layered on top of the Rhode Island Department of Health's own statewide Food Establishment License (recorded at the state layer, banded $160.00-$240.00/year for a restaurant by seating count) — RIDOH is the food-safety authority, while this Victualling House license is a separate City Clerk/Safety-Services-Committee business license administered under Code of Ordinances Title 5. Also owes a further $10.00 initial application fee plus a $5.00 renewal processing fee, per the same section's own enumerated list of licenses subject to that surcharge.

Food Establishment License

A restaurant with fifty seats or fewer pays $160 a year; more than fifty seats, $240. The fee schedule reaches well beyond restaurants with its own bands for other categories — a mobile food unit is $100, a retail market runs from $120 up to $510 depending on how many cash registers it operates, and a food processor is $120 retail or $300 wholesale. A first-time application is pro-rated to the date of issuance rather than charged the full annual rate regardless of timing. Food businesses run by a nonprofit, hospital, public institution, farmers market, roadside farm stand or municipality are exempt from the fee outright, as is an establishment already holding a qualifying Class C liquor license.

Shared with other businesses in Cranston

  • Sign Permit — City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning, $75–$100 one-time, per sign permit including inspection, per zone lot (a separate $100.00 fee applies for a Master or Common Signage Plan application), one-time, per sign — not stated beyond a sign permit's automatic lapse if the business's own license lapses or is not renewed. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Certified Food Protection Manager — Rhode Island Department of Health, Center for Food Protection, $50 to apply; renewal is $50, 3 years. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Cranston, RI; what each one involves is set out on the Cranston permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across RI and are covered on the RI state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Cranston?

A coffee shop and a restaurant in Cranston, RI need exactly the same 4 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Cranston, RI, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants4400
Food trucks3221
Fitness studios2131
Retail stores2131
Auto repair shops3132
Veterinary clinics3132
Salons and barbers5134
Childcare centres2042
Contractors and trades4044

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Cranston permits page and the RI state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Cranston Code of Ordinances §§5.04.100-.120 — consolidated license fee schedule (Victualling houses, Auto repair, Secondhand, etc.) and the $10.00 application/$5.00 renewal processing feeCity of Cranston · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Rhode Island General Laws section 23-1-54 — the food establishment fee tableRhode Island General Assembly · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  3. Rhode Island General Laws section 21-27-10 — the twelve-month food registration periodRhode Island General Assembly · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.