Cranston
City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning
In short
City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning issues 7 permits we publish for Cranston, last verified 2026-09-12. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gym Inspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | $75 per inspection | not stated in the published fee schedule — billed per inspection | 2026-09-12 |
| Building Permit | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | A project-valuation-based fee: $20.00 per $1,000 of valuation for the first $10,000; $200.00 plus $18.00 per $1,000 exceeding $10,000, up to $50,000; and $920.00 plus $16.00 per $1,000 exceeding $50,000, with a $75.00 minimum fee overall. A separate State of Rhode Island Mandated Levy is added on top: total construction cost x 0.002 for a residential project (capped at $100.00 for a one- or two-family dwelling) or x 0.001 for a commercial project. | one-time, per project; expiration not separately stated in the published schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | $150 one-time (the 'All Others' rate covering every commercial use; a lower $75.00 rate applies only to a one- or two-family residential structure) | one-time, issued after final inspections confirm code compliance | 2026-09-12 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | $75–$100 one-time, per sign permit including inspection, per zone lot (a separate $100.00 fee applies for a Master or Common Signage Plan application) | one-time, per sign — not stated beyond a sign permit's automatic lapse if the business's own license lapses or is not renewed | 2026-09-12 |
| Contractor Registration — State RICRB Registration Applies (Cranston)only if it applies to you | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to you | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | $30 one-time, per application | one-time, per application — not stated in the published schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Day Care Inspection | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | $75 per inspection | not stated in the published fee schedule — billed per inspection | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Gym Inspection
The City's current Permit Fees schedule lists 'Gym Inspections $75.00' under 'OTHER FEES,' directly after 'School Inspections : $75.00' and 'Day care Inspections : $75.00,' and defines none of the three. None of the other official records checked says which premises the gym line reaches: the City's earlier Building Inspections schedule (effective 8/1/03, still posted on cranstonri.gov) lists school and daycare inspections but no gym inspection at all, and the Building Department's own online permitting category offers building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, demolition, tent, moving, sign and solar permit applications but no gym, school or day-care inspection application. The published fee schedule does not say whether the line covers a commercial gym or fitness studio or a gymnasium in the assembly sense, such as a school gym; it is listed here as the published local fee closest to a fitness studio, and an operator should ask the Department of Building Inspection and Zoning whether it applies to their premises.
Building Permit
Cranston's own current fee schedule states it applies 'in accordance with RI State Law as of July 1, 2026,' with bracket rates different from Providence's own state-set schedule under the same statewide enabling statute (Providence uses $23.00/$21.00/$19.00 per $1,000 with a $125.00 minimum; Cranston uses $20.00/$18.00/$16.00 per $1,000 with a $75.00 minimum). A Demolition Permit is separately priced based on demolition value rather than a fixed fee. An Expired Permit Renewal Fee ($75.00 or 25% of the original fee, whichever is higher) and a penalty for working without a permit ($500.00 plus the cost of the regular permit fee) are also stated on the same schedule. A separate Building Board of Appeals fee ($75.00 for a one-/two-family structure; $125.00 or $175.00 for other structures under/over 5,000 square feet) applies only if a building-code decision is appealed.
Certificate of Occupancy
Cranston's own current Permit Fees schedule prints this line as 'Certificate of Occupancy (1 +2 Family): $75.00 (All Others): $150.00' — so a flat $150.00 for every one of the industries covered here, all of which fall in the 'All Others' category rather than the $75.00 one-/two-family residential rate. The certificate is a separate charge from the valuation-based Building Permit fee recorded above.
Sign Permit
The City's own current ordinance text is internally inconsistent: §17.72.010's own procedural-requirements paragraph states the initial sign permit fee is $75.00, but the same section's own numbered 'Table 17.72.010(10) Fee Schedule' prices the identical line item at $100.00 — both figures sit within the same codified section with no indication either has been superseded, so this record shows the $75.00-$100.00 range as printed. A temporary sign permit on private property is separately priced from $25.00 (a small banner, 1-15 days) up to $100.00 (a larger temporary sign, 16-30 days), and a sign permit lapses automatically if the underlying business license for the premises lapses or is not renewed.
Contractor Registration — State RICRB Registration Applies (Cranston)
Neither the City Clerk's online license portal, which lists roughly thirty license categories, nor Title 5's table of contents shows a general contractor license or registration category, so this record carries no fee; the same is true of Providence. A contractor working in Cranston instead relies on Rhode Island's own state RICRB registration, recorded at the state layer ($150.00/year).
Zoning Certificate
Typically sought before signing a lease, opening a new location, or confirming a change of use complies with the applicable zoning district. Cranston's own Zoning permits and certificates page separately lists a lower-cost 'Home Occupation Zoning Certificate' for a qualifying home-based business, which is not priced on the published Permit Fees schedule.
Day Care Inspection
A city-specific inspection fee for a childcare facility's occupancy, listed on the Building Department's own current fee schedule immediately alongside 'School Inspections' and 'Gym Inspections' (both $75.00) — this is the local childcare-specific layer on top of Rhode Island's own statewide Child Care License (Department of Human Services, Office of Child Care Licensing, recorded at the state layer), which this fee is separate from and additional to.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Cranston
- Phone
- (401) 780-6012
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- 1) Building Department — the City's own OpenGov permitting category, offering nine application types (building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, demolition, tent, moving, sign and solar permits) and no gym, school or day-care inspection applicationCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- 5) Clerk Services Area — City of Cranston Business License Information: the current online portal listing all ~30 activity-specific license categories, the Safety Services and Licenses Committee structure, and the January 2026 fee policyCity of Cranston City Clerk's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- City of Cranston Building Inspections fee schedule, 'EFFECTIVE 8/1/03' (scanned page still hosted on cranstonri.gov) — lists 'School Inspection: $75.00' and 'Daycare Inspection: $50.00' and no gym inspection lineCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- City of Cranston Permit Fees (in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws §§23-27.3-100.1.5 and 23-27.3-119) — building permit valuation formula, State Mandated Levy, Certificate of Occupancy, Zoning Certificate, and Day Care/School/Gym Inspection feesCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Cranston Code of Ordinances §§5.04.100-.120 — consolidated license fee schedule (Victualling houses, Auto repair, Secondhand, etc.) and the $10.00 application/$5.00 renewal processing feeCity of Cranston · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Cranston Code of Ordinances §17.72.010, Signs — sign permit fee schedule, including Table 17.72.010(10)City of Cranston · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
Other offices serving Cranston
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Rhode Island jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
