16 published records
Business licenses and permits in Cranston, Rhode Island
The City's own online license portal lists roughly thirty activity-specific licenses processed by the City Clerk/Records & Licenses office and names no general municipal business license; unlike Providence, Cranston has no standing Board of Licenses, and these licenses (set out in Code of Ordinances Title 5) are decided by the City Council's own 'committee on safety services and licenses' rather than an independent board. A local 'Victualling house' food-service license (banded $100.00-$250.00/year by seating capacity, Code §5.04.100) sits on top of Rhode Island's own statewide Food Establishment License; Rhode Island's Department of Health remains the food-safety authority. A dedicated $75.00/unit annual Mobile Food Establishment permit (Code Chapter 5.44, capped at $250.00/year per owner) and a $100.00/year Vehicle Repair Business license (Code Chapter 5.72, corroborated in two places in the same code) are both in the code, along with a $25.00 Massage Therapy Establishment license and a $100.00 (establishment)/$60.00 (personnel) Body Works license — local credentials for personal-care businesses offering those specific services; the City's license portal page lists no separate hairdressing/salon license, which is covered by Rhode Island's own state Barbering or Hairdressing Shop License. The City's own Building Inspection fee schedule (effective per RI State Law as of July 1, 2026) sets a city-specific building-permit valuation formula ($20.00/$1,000 to $10,000; $200.00 + $18.00/$1,000 to $50,000; $920.00 + $16.00/$1,000 above that; $75.00 minimum) plus a separate State Mandated Levy, a $150.00 Certificate of Occupancy fee for any non-residential use, a $30.00 Zoning Certificate fee, and a $75.00 Day Care Inspection fee — the local childcare-specific layer on top of Rhode Island's own state Child Care License. The sign permit ordinance section states two different figures, $75.00 and $100.00, in two parts of the same section. The Zoning Board of Review prices a variance or special use permit from $150.00 (single-family) up to $1,050.00 (large commercial), distinct from Providence's own advertising-plus-processing formula. The Fire Prevention Bureau charges a $75.00/year life-hazard-use permit for qualifying trades plus a separate valuation-based construction plan-review fee, but expressly charges no fee for a fire inspection required solely for a license renewal. The City's license portal page lists no license for general contractors (who rely on Rhode Island's state RICRB registration), veterinary practices or ordinary retail stores, which follow the general commercial building/zoning/fire process.
What are you opening in Cranston?
- RestaurantsFull-service restaurants carry the densest permit load of any small business: food, fire, occupancy, waste, and usually alcohol.See the full permit list
- Coffee shopsCafés are permitted as food service establishments even where no cooking happens, and the plan review step catches most operators by surprise.See the full permit list
- Retail storesRetail is the lightest common permit load, but the sales tax permit and the certificate of occupancy are non-negotiable in every jurisdiction.See the full permit list
- Salons and barbersPersonal care is licensed at state board level as well as locally, so the shop license and the practitioner licenses are separate obligations.See the full permit list
- Food trucksMobile food is the one category with no certificate of occupancy — but it gains a commissary agreement, and the unit itself is inspected rather than the premises.See the full permit list
- Fitness studiosPrepaid memberships trigger state registration and often a surety bond, which catches operators who budgeted only for the fit-out.See the full permit list
- Childcare centresThe heaviest permit load of any small business: state agency licensing, per-person background checks, and a stricter fire standard than ordinary commercial use.See the full permit list
- Contractors and tradesLicensed at state board level rather than locally, and the only common category with no premises permits at all — the bond is usually the long pole.See the full permit list
- Auto repair shopsOrdinary commercial permitting plus an environmental layer: waste oil, solvents and stormwater are each registered separately.See the full permit list
- Veterinary clinicsA state facility permit, controlled substances registration at both state and federal level, and a medical waste manifest — none of which a general business license covers.See the full permit list
Permits that apply to every type of business in Cranston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Permit | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | A project-valuation-based fee: $20.00 per $1,000 of valuation for the first $10,000; $200.00 plus $18.00 per $1,000 exceeding $10,000, up to $50,000; and $920.00 plus $16.00 per $1,000 exceeding $50,000, with a $75.00 minimum fee overall. A separate State of Rhode Island Mandated Levy is added on top: total construction cost x 0.002 for a residential project (capped at $100.00 for a one- or two-family dwelling) or x 0.001 for a commercial project. | one-time, per project; expiration not separately stated in the published schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | $150 one-time (the 'All Others' rate covering every commercial use; a lower $75.00 rate applies only to a one- or two-family residential structure) | one-time, issued after final inspections confirm code compliance | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire Prevention Life Hazard Use Permitonly if it applies to you | Cranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention | $75 annual | annual | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire Safety Plan Review and Construction Permit | Cranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention | A construction-valuation-based fire safety plan review and inspection fee, charged on top of (not instead of) the Building Department's own separate Building Permit fee: $50.00 for $0-$5,000 of construction cost, rising in $50.00 steps to $500.00 at $500,001-$1,000,000, then $500.00 plus $10.00 per $2,500.00 of additional valuation above $1,000,001. | one-time, per project; application required at least 21 calendar days before work begins | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to you | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | $30 one-time, per application | one-time, per application — not stated in the published schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit, Appeal)only if it applies to you | City of Cranston Zoning Board of Review | A variance or special-use-permit application fee scaled by use: $150.00 for a one-family dwelling, $300.00 for a two-family dwelling, $450.00 plus $50.00 per unit for a multifamily/condominium building, $550.00 for a commercial or industrial building up to 5,000 square feet, $800.00 for 5,000-10,000 square feet, and $1,050.00 for over 10,000 square feet (each including any associated additions or alterations). A separate appeal to the Zoning Board of Review costs $500.00, and a petition to the City Council to amend the zoning ordinance or zoning map costs $400.00. | one-time, per application; a granted variance or special use permit expires after one year if not acted upon (Code §17.108.140) | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
What do these permits involve in Cranston?
Building Permit
Cranston's own current fee schedule states it applies 'in accordance with RI State Law as of July 1, 2026,' with bracket rates different from Providence's own state-set schedule under the same statewide enabling statute (Providence uses $23.00/$21.00/$19.00 per $1,000 with a $125.00 minimum; Cranston uses $20.00/$18.00/$16.00 per $1,000 with a $75.00 minimum). A Demolition Permit is separately priced based on demolition value rather than a fixed fee. An Expired Permit Renewal Fee ($75.00 or 25% of the original fee, whichever is higher) and a penalty for working without a permit ($500.00 plus the cost of the regular permit fee) are also stated on the same schedule. A separate Building Board of Appeals fee ($75.00 for a one-/two-family structure; $125.00 or $175.00 for other structures under/over 5,000 square feet) applies only if a building-code decision is appealed.
Certificate of Occupancy
Cranston's own current Permit Fees schedule prints this line as 'Certificate of Occupancy (1 +2 Family): $75.00 (All Others): $150.00' — so a flat $150.00 for every one of the industries covered here, all of which fall in the 'All Others' category rather than the $75.00 one-/two-family residential rate. The certificate is a separate charge from the valuation-based Building Permit fee recorded above.
Fire Prevention Life Hazard Use Permit
A different structure from Providence's own flat $100.00 'all fire inspection' fee: Cranston's Fire Prevention Code authorizes this $75.00 annual permit specifically for 'an industry, trade, occupation or use involving transportation, storage or handling of substances involving life hazards' (issued after application and inspection by the fire department), rather than a universal per-inspection charge. The same chapter states plainly, 'No fees shall be due for a fire safety inspection as required for a license renewal' — so the annual fire-code check already required to renew a Victualling House or Vehicle Repair Business license (listed separately) carries no separate charge under this section.
Fire Safety Plan Review and Construction Permit
Required for any structural alteration, electrical wiring, or plumbing/mechanical installation, or any change that may affect a building's fire safety — but not for a one-, two-, or three-family residential structure. No fee is due for a project on city-, state-, or federally-owned land, and (per the same chapter) no fee is due for a fire safety inspection required solely for a license renewal, a separate, narrower no-fee case recorded above.
Zoning Certificate
Typically sought before signing a lease, opening a new location, or confirming a change of use complies with the applicable zoning district. Cranston's own Zoning permits and certificates page separately lists a lower-cost 'Home Occupation Zoning Certificate' for a qualifying home-based business, which is not priced on the published Permit Fees schedule.
Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit, Appeal)
A different fee structure from Providence's own $115.00-advertising-plus-scaled-processing-fee formula: Cranston scales its fee directly by building type and, for a commercial or industrial building, by square footage, with no separate advertising-fee line item. Triggered when a proposed use, structure, or dimensional standard does not conform outright to the Zoning Ordinance. The Building Inspections Office serves as the official office of the Zoning Board of Review.
Sources
Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- City of Cranston Permit Fees (in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws §§23-27.3-100.1.5 and 23-27.3-119) — building permit valuation formula, State Mandated Levy, Certificate of Occupancy, Zoning Certificate, and Day Care/School/Gym Inspection feesCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Cranston Code of Ordinances §§5.04.100-.120 — consolidated license fee schedule (Victualling houses, Auto repair, Secondhand, etc.) and the $10.00 application/$5.00 renewal processing feeCity of Cranston · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Cranston Code of Ordinances Chapter 8.08, Fire Prevention Code — the $75.00 annual life-hazard-use permit and the valuation-based fire safety plan review fee scheduleCranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Cranston Code of Ordinances §17.108.160, Zoning Board of Review — Fees (variance, special use permit, appeal, and zoning-map-amendment fee schedule)City of Cranston Zoning Board of Review · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
Who issues business permits in Cranston?
Permitting in Cranston is split across 4 agencies we hold records for, with tax registration handled at state level. No single office issues everything, which is why an opening usually means filing in several places rather than one.
Cranston issuing agencies
- City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and ZoningBuilding, electrical, plumbing, and mechanical permits · Certificate of Occupancy · Zoning Certificate and Home Occupation Zoning Certificate · Sign permits · Day Care, School, and Gym occupancy inspections7 permits
- City of Cranston City Clerk/Records and LicensesActivity-specific business licensing (~30 categories) under Code of Ordinances Title 5, including Victualling houses, Vehicle Repair Businesses, Mobile Food Establishments, Massage Therapy and Body Works Establishments, Secondhand Dealers, and Liquor licenses, processed on behalf of the City Council's committee on safety services and licenses · Vital records, marriage licenses, and dog licenses6 permits
- Cranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire PreventionAnnual life-hazard-use permits for qualifying trades · Fire safety plan review and construction inspection fees · Hazardous substance storage tank permits · Emergency planning notifications (SARA Title III)2 permits
- City of Cranston Zoning Board of ReviewVariances and special use permits (Code of Ordinances Chapter 17.92) · Appeals of zoning determinations · Zoning ordinance and zoning map amendments1 permit
Other Rhode Island jurisdictions we cover
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
