Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Cranston?

In short

A auto repair shop in Cranston, RI has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning charges $150 one-time (the 'All Others' rate covering every commercial use; a lower $75.00 rate applies only to a one- or two-family residential structure) for the certificate of occupancy. 4 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Cranston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning$75–$100 one-time, per sign permit including inspection, per zone lot (a separate $100.00 fee applies for a Master or Common Signage Plan application)one-time, per sign — not stated beyond a sign permit's automatic lapse if the business's own license lapses or is not renewed2026-09-12
Vehicle Repair Business LicenseCity of Cranston City Clerk/Records and Licenses$100 annual, plus a $10.00 initial application fee and a $5.00 renewal processing feeannual — renewed on or before July 1 each year (Code §5.72.080), with a fresh fire-code compliance inspection required for each renewal2026-09-12
Automobile Body Repair Shop Licenseonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of Business Regulation, Division of Commercial Licensing$300 a year, purchasable up to three years at once; a salvage vehicle repair endorsement is a further $300 a yearup to 3 years, paid for as a multiple of the annual rate2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Cranston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building PermitCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and ZoningVaries — formula on the Cranston pageone-time, per project; expiration not separately stated in the published schedule2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning$150 one-time (the 'All Others' rate covering every commercial use; a lower $75.00 rate applies only to a one- or two-family residential structure)one-time, issued after final inspections confirm code compliance2026-09-12
Fire Prevention Life Hazard Use Permitonly if it applies to youCranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention$75 annualannual2026-09-12
Fire Safety Plan Review and Construction PermitCranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire PreventionVaries — formula on the Cranston pageone-time, per project; application required at least 21 calendar days before work begins2026-09-12
Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to youCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning$30 one-time, per applicationone-time, per application — not stated in the published schedule2026-09-12
Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit, Appeal)only if it applies to youCity of Cranston Zoning Board of ReviewVaries — formula on the Cranston pageone-time, per application; a granted variance or special use permit expires after one year if not acted upon (Code §17.108.140)2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

RI registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$150 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Rhode Island Department of State Guidanceonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$50 a year; missing 31 May adds a further $25annual — filed between 1 February and 1 May, excluding the year of formation2026-09-04
Sales Tax PermitRhode Island Division of TaxationNo feeannual — runs 1 July through 30 June, and still must be renewed every year despite no fee2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$230 minimum one-time filing, for up to 75 million authorised sharesperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Cranston?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a auto repair shop in Cranston, RI, 5 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $250.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: $75–$100 one-time, per sign permit including inspection, per zone lot (a separate $100.00 fee applies for a Master or Common Signage Plan application)

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Cranston permits page and the RI state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Cranston?

Permits for a auto repair shop in Cranston, RI come from 7 separate offices: City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning, Cranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention, City of Cranston City Clerk/Records and Licenses, City of Cranston Zoning Board of Review, Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division, Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation, Division of Commercial Licensing. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a auto repair shop need in Cranston that other businesses do not?

2 of the 3 permits particular to a auto repair shop here apply to no other business type we cover in Cranston: Vehicle Repair Business License and Automobile Body Repair Shop License.

Vehicle Repair Business License

Confirmed in two places in the City's own current code: Chapter 5.72's own dedicated fee section and §5.04.100's consolidated fee table both price this license at $100.00/year. Before a license issues, the chapter requires a public hearing with notice mailed to every property owner within a 200-foot radius, a zoning-conformity report from the building official, and a fire-code-compliance report from the fire chief; the business must operate entirely within a building. A business that also buys and resells used vehicles separately owes Cranston's own $150.00/year 'Secondhand (Used Cars)' dealer fee under §5.04.100, distinct from this $100.00 repair-shop fee.

Automobile Body Repair Shop License

Rhode Island licenses collision and body repair as its own distinct trade, separate from any dealer or inspection-station license a shop might also hold — three hundred dollars a year, and a shop may buy up to three years of coverage at once by simply multiplying the annual rate. A second location costs a further $300, and a shop wanting to repair salvage-titled vehicles needs a separate endorsement at another $300 a year. This statute is written specifically around body and collision work; a shop doing only mechanical repair — engines, brakes, general service, with no bodywork at all — falls outside its wording, and no equivalent state license for that narrower kind of repair could be confirmed. Confirm directly with the department if a shop's work sits close to that line.

Shared with other businesses in Cranston

  • Sign Permit — City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning, $75–$100 one-time, per sign permit including inspection, per zone lot (a separate $100.00 fee applies for a Master or Common Signage Plan application), one-time, per sign — not stated beyond a sign permit's automatic lapse if the business's own license lapses or is not renewed. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Cranston, RI; what each one involves is set out on the Cranston permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across RI and are covered on the RI state page.

How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Cranston?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Vehicle Repair Business License and Automobile Body Repair Shop License. A fitness studio needs Gym Inspection, which a auto repair shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Cranston, RI, compared with a auto repair shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a auto repair shopOnly a auto repair shop needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios2121
Retail stores2121
Veterinary clinics3122
Coffee shops4123
Restaurants4123
Salons and barbers5124
Childcare centres2032
Contractors and trades4034
Food trucks3033

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Cranston permits page and the RI state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Cranston Code of Ordinances Chapter 5.72, Vehicle Repair Businesses (§§5.72.010-.150) — license process, $100.00 annual fee, and July 1 renewal cycleCity of Cranston · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Cranston Code of Ordinances §§5.04.100-.120 — consolidated license fee schedule (Victualling houses, Auto repair, Secondhand, etc.) and the $10.00 application/$5.00 renewal processing feeCity of Cranston · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  3. Rhode Island General Laws section 5-38-8 — the $300 annual automobile body shop license feeRhode Island General Assembly · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  4. Rhode Island General Laws section 5-38-7 — the auto body license term, up to three yearsRhode Island General Assembly · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.