12 permits · verified 2026-09-12
What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Cranston?
In short
A childcare centre in Cranston, RI has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning charges $150 one-time (the 'All Others' rate covering every commercial use; a lower $75.00 rate applies only to a one- or two-family residential structure) for the certificate of occupancy. 3 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a childcare centre in Cranston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Day Care Inspection | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | $75 per inspection | not stated in the published fee schedule — billed per inspection | 2026-09-12 |
| Child Care License | Rhode Island Department of Human Services, Office of Child Care Licensing | $500 for a child daycare centre; a group family daycare home is $250 and a family daycare home is $100 | 1 year for a centre or group family home; 2 years for a family daycare home | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Cranston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Permit | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | Varies — formula on the Cranston page | one-time, per project; expiration not separately stated in the published schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | $150 one-time (the 'All Others' rate covering every commercial use; a lower $75.00 rate applies only to a one- or two-family residential structure) | one-time, issued after final inspections confirm code compliance | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire Prevention Life Hazard Use Permitonly if it applies to you | Cranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention | $75 annual | annual | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire Safety Plan Review and Construction Permit | Cranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention | Varies — formula on the Cranston page | one-time, per project; application required at least 21 calendar days before work begins | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to you | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | $30 one-time, per application | one-time, per application — not stated in the published schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit, Appeal)only if it applies to you | City of Cranston Zoning Board of Review | Varies — formula on the Cranston page | one-time, per application; a granted variance or special use permit expires after one year if not acted upon (Code §17.108.140) | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
RI registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division | $150 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Rhode Island Department of State Guidanceonly if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division | $50 a year; missing 31 May adds a further $25 | annual — filed between 1 February and 1 May, excluding the year of formation | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division | $230 minimum one-time filing, for up to 75 million authorised shares | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Cranston?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a childcare centre in Cranston, RI, 5 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $725.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all.
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Cranston permits page and the RI state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Cranston?
Permits for a childcare centre in Cranston, RI come from 5 separate offices: City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning, Cranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention, City of Cranston Zoning Board of Review, Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division, Rhode Island Department of Human Services, Office of Child Care Licensing. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and ZoningIssues 4 permits on this page: Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Zoning Certificate, Day Care Inspection869 Park Avenue, Cranston, RI 02910 (in-person inspection office relocated to 155 Gansett Avenue, rear, effective March 23, 2026) · (401) 780-6012www.cranstonri.gov/departments/building-and-public-works/building-inspection
- Cranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire PreventionIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Prevention Life Hazard Use Permit, Fire Safety Plan Review and Construction Permit869 Park Avenue, Cranston, RI 02910 · (401) 780-4016www.cranstonri.gov/departments/emergency-services/fire-department
- City of Cranston Zoning Board of ReviewIssues 1 permit on this page: Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit, Appeal)869 Park Avenue, Cranston, RI 02910 · (401) 780-6012www.cranstonri.gov/departments/planning
- Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Organization (LLC), General Business License — Rhode Island Department of State Guidance, Annual Report, Articles of Incorporation148 West River Street, Providence, RI 02904 · (401) 222-3040www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services
- Rhode Island Department of Human Services, Office of Child Care LicensingIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care LicensePO Box 8709, Cranston, RI 02920 · (401) 462-3009dhs.ri.gov/programs-and-services/child-care
What does a childcare centre need in Cranston that other businesses do not?
2 of the 2 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Cranston: Day Care Inspection and Child Care License.
Day Care Inspection
A city-specific inspection fee for a childcare facility's occupancy, listed on the Building Department's own current fee schedule immediately alongside 'School Inspections' and 'Gym Inspections' (both $75.00) — this is the local childcare-specific layer on top of Rhode Island's own statewide Child Care License (Department of Human Services, Office of Child Care Licensing, recorded at the state layer), which this fee is separate from and additional to.
Child Care License
Three tiers, priced by scale and each on its own term: a child daycare centre pays $500 for a license valid one year, a group family daycare home $250 on the same one-year cycle, and the smallest category, a family daycare home, pays only $100 but is rewarded with a longer two-year term rather than the annual cycle the two larger categories use. Every fee is stated as non-refundable, and none of the three licenses may be transferred to a different licensee or location.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Cranston, RI; what each one involves is set out on the Cranston permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across RI and are covered on the RI state page.
How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Cranston?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Day Care Inspection and Child Care License. A auto repair shop needs Sign Permit, Vehicle Repair Business License and Automobile Body Repair Shop License, which a childcare centre does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a childcare centre | Only a childcare centre needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 5 | 0 | 2 | 5 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Cranston permits page and the RI state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Cranston Permit Fees (in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws §§23-27.3-100.1.5 and 23-27.3-119) — building permit valuation formula, State Mandated Levy, Certificate of Occupancy, Zoning Certificate, and Day Care/School/Gym Inspection feesCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Rhode Island General Laws section 42-12.5-5 — child daycare license fees and terms by facility typeRhode Island General Assembly · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
