13 permits · verified 2026-09-12
What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Providence?
In short
A veterinary clinic in Providence, RI has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Providence Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau charges $100 per inspection for the fire prevention bureau commercial inspection. 2 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Providence
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS) | $25 one-time, per application (the same Zoning Certificate fee); an additional Building Permit valuation fee applies if the sign requires structural or electrical work | one-time, per sign — not stated in the published ordinance | 2026-09-12 |
| General Business License (not found; activity-specific structure instead)only if it applies to you | City of Providence Board of Licenses | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-12 |
| Veterinary Facility Permit — Rhode Island Health Fee Statuteonly if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of Health, Board of Veterinary Medicine | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Providence
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit, Appeal)only if it applies to you | City of Providence Zoning Board of Review | Varies — formula on the Providence page | one-time, per application | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire Prevention Bureau Commercial Inspection | Providence Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau | $100 per inspection | not stated in the published fee schedule — billed per inspection whenever a qualifying trigger occurs | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS) | No fee | one-time — issued after final inspections and close-out documentation confirm code compliance | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Certificate / Zoning Certificate for Complianceonly if it applies to you | City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS) | $25 one-time, per application | one-time, per application — not stated in the published ordinance | 2026-09-12 |
| Building Permit | City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS) | Varies — formula on the Providence page | one-time, per project; the permit expires after six months if no work is performed or inspection conducted | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
RI registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division | $150 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Rhode Island Department of State Guidanceonly if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division | $50 a year; missing 31 May adds a further $25 | annual — filed between 1 February and 1 May, excluding the year of formation | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Rhode Island Division of Taxation | No fee | annual — runs 1 July through 30 June, and still must be renewed every year despite no fee | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division | $230 minimum one-time filing, for up to 75 million authorised shares | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Providence?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Providence, RI, 4 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all.
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Providence permits page and the RI state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Providence?
Permits for a veterinary clinic in Providence, RI come from 7 separate offices: City of Providence Zoning Board of Review, Providence Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS), City of Providence Board of Licenses, Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division, Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Rhode Island Department of Health, Board of Veterinary Medicine. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Providence Zoning Board of ReviewIssues 1 permit on this page: Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit, Appeal)780 Allens Avenue, Providence, RI 02905 · (401) 680-5375www.providenceri.gov/inspection/boards-of-review
- Providence Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Prevention Bureau Commercial InspectionProvidence Public Safety Complex, 325 Washington Street, Providence, RI 02903 · (401) 243-6050pfd.providenceri.gov/fire-prevention-bureau
- City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS)Issues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Occupancy, Zoning Certificate / Zoning Certificate for Compliance, Sign Permit, Building Permit780 Allens Avenue, Providence, RI 02905 · (401) 680-5201www.providenceri.gov/inspection-standards
- City of Providence Board of LicensesIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business License (not found; activity-specific structure instead)25 Dorrance Street, Room 104, Providence, RI 02903 · (401) 680-5000www.providenceri.gov/board-of-licenses
- Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Organization (LLC), General Business License — Rhode Island Department of State Guidance, Annual Report, Articles of Incorporation148 West River Street, Providence, RI 02904 · (401) 222-3040www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services
- Rhode Island Division of TaxationIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax PermitOne Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908 · (401) 574-8829tax.ri.gov
- Rhode Island Department of Health, Board of Veterinary MedicineIssues 1 permit on this page: Veterinary Facility Permit — Rhode Island Health Fee Statute3 Capitol Hill, Room 105, Providence, RI 02908 · (401) 222-5960health.ri.gov/licensing/veterinary-medicine
What does a veterinary clinic need in Providence that other businesses do not?
1 of the 3 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in Providence: Veterinary Facility Permit — Rhode Island Health Fee Statute.
Veterinary Facility Permit — Rhode Island Health Fee Statute
No fee is listed for this record: the health department fee table in R.I. Gen. Laws § 23-1-54 lists, for veterinarians, an application fee ($40), an examination fee ($540), a renewal fee ($580) and a late renewal fee ($120) for the individual veterinarian, and that statute lists no facility, hospital or premises fee for the profession, although the same table separately prices a $16,900 base fee for a human hospital. A related but distinct license exists for kennels and shelters under Title 4, chapter 19, and § 4-19-2(19) defines a kennel as a place 'other than a pound or animal shelter, or veterinary hospital that is housing animals during their treatment', so under that definition a veterinary hospital housing animals for treatment is not a kennel.
Shared with other businesses in Providence
- Sign Permit — City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS), $25 one-time, per application (the same Zoning Certificate fee); an additional Building Permit valuation fee applies if the sign requires structural or electrical work, one-time, per sign — not stated in the published ordinance. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- General Business License (not found; activity-specific structure instead) — City of Providence Board of Licenses, No fee, not applicable. Also required for retail stores, fitness studios and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Providence, RI; what each one involves is set out on the Providence permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across RI and are covered on the RI state page.
How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Providence?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 2 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Veterinary Facility Permit — Rhode Island Health Fee Statute. A fitness studio needs nothing here that a veterinary clinic does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a veterinary clinic | Only a veterinary clinic needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 1 | 2 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 5 | 1 | 2 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page and salons and barbers page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Providence permits page and the RI state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Rhode Island General Laws section 23-1-54 — the food establishment fee tableRhode Island General Assembly · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
