13 permits · verified 2026-09-12
What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Warwick?
In short
A veterinary clinic in Warwick, RI has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Warwick Zoning Board of Review charges $100 one-time, per application (the 'Multi-Family Dwelling or Commercial Property' rate; a lower $50.00 rate applies only to a single-family residential dwelling) for the zoning certificate. 2 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Warwick
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permit (fee not published)only if it applies to you | City of Warwick Building Department | No fee | not stated in the City's published forms or fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| General Business Licensing — City of Warwick Board of Public Safety structure (retail, veterinary, fitness)only if it applies to you | City of Warwick Police Department, Licensing Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-12 |
| Veterinary Facility Permit — Rhode Island Health Fee Statuteonly if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of Health, Board of Veterinary Medicine | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Warwick
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Warwick Building Department | No fee | one-time — issued after final inspections confirm code compliance | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to you | City of Warwick Zoning Board of Review | $100 one-time, per application (the 'Multi-Family Dwelling or Commercial Property' rate; a lower $50.00 rate applies only to a single-family residential dwelling) | one-time, per application; the City's own form states a minimum of fifteen business days to process | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit)only if it applies to you | City of Warwick Zoning Board of Review | Varies — formula on the Warwick page | one-time, per application | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire Prevention/Commercial Fire Inspection (fee not published)only if it applies to you | Warwick Fire Department | No fee | not stated on the Fire Department's Fire Prevention page | 2026-09-12 |
| Building Permit | City of Warwick Building Department | Varies — formula on the Warwick page | one-time, per project; expiration not separately stated in the published schedule | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
RI registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division | $150 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Rhode Island Department of State Guidanceonly if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division | $50 a year; missing 31 May adds a further $25 | annual — filed between 1 February and 1 May, excluding the year of formation | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Rhode Island Division of Taxation | No fee | annual — runs 1 July through 30 June, and still must be renewed every year despite no fee | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division | $230 minimum one-time filing, for up to 75 million authorised shares | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Warwick?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Warwick, RI, 3 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
2 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 7 have no fee published at all.
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Warwick permits page and the RI state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Warwick?
Permits for a veterinary clinic in Warwick, RI come from 7 separate offices: City of Warwick Building Department, City of Warwick Zoning Board of Review, Warwick Fire Department, City of Warwick Police Department, Licensing Division, Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division, Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Rhode Island Department of Health, Board of Veterinary Medicine. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Warwick Building DepartmentIssues 3 permits on this page: Certificate of Occupancy, Sign Permit (fee not published), Building PermitSawtooth Annex Building, 2nd Floor, 65 Centerville Road, Warwick, RI 02886 · (401) 738-2007www.warwickri.gov/187/Building-Department
- City of Warwick Zoning Board of ReviewIssues 2 permits on this page: Zoning Certificate, Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit)65 Centerville Road, Warwick, RI 02886 · (401) 921-9534www.warwickri.gov/587/Zoning-Board-of-Review
- Warwick Fire DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Prevention/Commercial Fire Inspection (fee not published)Fire Headquarters, 111 Veterans Memorial Drive, Warwick, RI 02886 · (401) 468-4000www.warwickri.gov/314/Fire-Prevention
- City of Warwick Police Department, Licensing DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business Licensing — City of Warwick Board of Public Safety structure (retail, veterinary, fitness)99 Veterans Memorial Drive, Warwick, RI 02886 · (401) 468-4340warwickpd.com/index.php/police-divisions/licensing-division/licenses-permits
- Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Organization (LLC), General Business License — Rhode Island Department of State Guidance, Annual Report, Articles of Incorporation148 West River Street, Providence, RI 02904 · (401) 222-3040www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services
- Rhode Island Division of TaxationIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax PermitOne Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908 · (401) 574-8829tax.ri.gov
- Rhode Island Department of Health, Board of Veterinary MedicineIssues 1 permit on this page: Veterinary Facility Permit — Rhode Island Health Fee Statute3 Capitol Hill, Room 105, Providence, RI 02908 · (401) 222-5960health.ri.gov/licensing/veterinary-medicine
What does a veterinary clinic need in Warwick that other businesses do not?
1 of the 3 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in Warwick: Veterinary Facility Permit — Rhode Island Health Fee Statute.
Veterinary Facility Permit — Rhode Island Health Fee Statute
No fee is listed for this record: the health department fee table in R.I. Gen. Laws § 23-1-54 lists, for veterinarians, an application fee ($40), an examination fee ($540), a renewal fee ($580) and a late renewal fee ($120) for the individual veterinarian, and that statute lists no facility, hospital or premises fee for the profession, although the same table separately prices a $16,900 base fee for a human hospital. A related but distinct license exists for kennels and shelters under Title 4, chapter 19, and § 4-19-2(19) defines a kennel as a place 'other than a pound or animal shelter, or veterinary hospital that is housing animals during their treatment', so under that definition a veterinary hospital housing animals for treatment is not a kennel.
Shared with other businesses in Warwick
- Sign Permit (fee not published) — City of Warwick Building Department, No fee, not stated in the City's published forms or fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- General Business Licensing — City of Warwick Board of Public Safety structure (retail, veterinary, fitness) — City of Warwick Police Department, Licensing Division, No fee, not applicable. Also required for retail stores and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Warwick, RI; what each one involves is set out on the Warwick permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across RI and are covered on the RI state page.
How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Warwick?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 2 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Veterinary Facility Permit — Rhode Island Health Fee Statute. A fitness studio needs nothing here that a veterinary clinic does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a veterinary clinic | Only a veterinary clinic needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Warwick permits page and the RI state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Rhode Island General Laws section 23-1-54 — the food establishment fee tableRhode Island General Assembly · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
