15 permits · verified 2026-09-12
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Cranston?
In short
A restaurant in Cranston, RI has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning charges $150 one-time (the 'All Others' rate covering every commercial use; a lower $75.00 rate applies only to a one- or two-family residential structure) for the certificate of occupancy. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Cranston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Victualling House License | City of Cranston City Clerk/Records and Licenses | $100–$250 annual, banded by seating capacity ($100.00 for 1-25 seats, $150.00 for 26-50 seats, $250.00 for over 50 seats) | annual — expires March 31 following issuance (Code §5.04.040), with no rebate for a partial term | 2026-09-12 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | $75–$100 one-time, per sign permit including inspection, per zone lot (a separate $100.00 fee applies for a Master or Common Signage Plan application) | one-time, per sign — not stated beyond a sign permit's automatic lapse if the business's own license lapses or is not renewed | 2026-09-12 |
| Certified Food Protection Manager | Rhode Island Department of Health, Center for Food Protection | $50 to apply; renewal is $50 | 3 years | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Establishment License | Rhode Island Department of Health, Center for Food Protection | $160–$240 a year for a restaurant, banded by seating | annual — 12 months from the registration renewal date | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Cranston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Permit | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | Varies — formula on the Cranston page | one-time, per project; expiration not separately stated in the published schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | $150 one-time (the 'All Others' rate covering every commercial use; a lower $75.00 rate applies only to a one- or two-family residential structure) | one-time, issued after final inspections confirm code compliance | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire Prevention Life Hazard Use Permitonly if it applies to you | Cranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention | $75 annual | annual | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire Safety Plan Review and Construction Permit | Cranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention | Varies — formula on the Cranston page | one-time, per project; application required at least 21 calendar days before work begins | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to you | City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning | $30 one-time, per application | one-time, per application — not stated in the published schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit, Appeal)only if it applies to you | City of Cranston Zoning Board of Review | Varies — formula on the Cranston page | one-time, per application; a granted variance or special use permit expires after one year if not acted upon (Code §17.108.140) | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
RI registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division | $150 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Rhode Island Department of State Guidanceonly if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division | $50 a year; missing 31 May adds a further $25 | annual — filed between 1 February and 1 May, excluding the year of formation | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Rhode Island Division of Taxation | No fee | annual — runs 1 July through 30 June, and still must be renewed every year despite no fee | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division | $230 minimum one-time filing, for up to 75 million authorised shares | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Cranston?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a restaurant in Cranston, RI, 7 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $200.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Victualling House License: $100–$250 annual, banded by seating capacity ($100.00 for 1-25 seats, $150.00 for 26-50 seats, $250.00 for over 50 seats)
Sign Permit: $75–$100 one-time, per sign permit including inspection, per zone lot (a separate $100.00 fee applies for a Master or Common Signage Plan application)
Food Establishment License: $160–$240 a year for a restaurant, banded by seating
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Cranston permits page and the RI state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Cranston?
Permits for a restaurant in Cranston, RI come from 7 separate offices: City of Cranston City Clerk/Records and Licenses, City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning, Cranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention, City of Cranston Zoning Board of Review, Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division, Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Rhode Island Department of Health, Center for Food Protection. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Cranston City Clerk/Records and LicensesIssues 1 permit on this page: Victualling House License869 Park Avenue, 2nd Floor, Room 207, Cranston, RI 02910 · (401) 780-3195www.cranstonri.gov/departments/city-clerk-records-and-licenses
- City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and ZoningIssues 4 permits on this page: Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Sign Permit, Zoning Certificate869 Park Avenue, Cranston, RI 02910 (in-person inspection office relocated to 155 Gansett Avenue, rear, effective March 23, 2026) · (401) 780-6012www.cranstonri.gov/departments/building-and-public-works/building-inspection
- Cranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire PreventionIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Prevention Life Hazard Use Permit, Fire Safety Plan Review and Construction Permit869 Park Avenue, Cranston, RI 02910 · (401) 780-4016www.cranstonri.gov/departments/emergency-services/fire-department
- City of Cranston Zoning Board of ReviewIssues 1 permit on this page: Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit, Appeal)869 Park Avenue, Cranston, RI 02910 · (401) 780-6012www.cranstonri.gov/departments/planning
- Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Organization (LLC), General Business License — Rhode Island Department of State Guidance, Annual Report, Articles of Incorporation148 West River Street, Providence, RI 02904 · (401) 222-3040www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services
- Rhode Island Division of TaxationIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax PermitOne Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908 · (401) 574-8829tax.ri.gov
- Rhode Island Department of Health, Center for Food ProtectionIssues 2 permits on this page: Certified Food Protection Manager, Food Establishment License3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908 · (401) 222-2750health.ri.gov/food-safety/food-protection-center
What does a restaurant need in Cranston that other businesses do not?
Certified Food Protection Manager
Every establishment preparing time-and-temperature-controlled food must employ at least one full-time, on-site manager certified in food safety — this is a genuine per-establishment staffing requirement rather than an optional path among several. Fifty dollars to apply after passing an approved examination, renewed every three years for the same $50. There is no separate general food handler card requirement layered on top; the manager credential is the whole of the state's individual food safety requirement.
Shared with other businesses in Cranston
- Victualling House License — City of Cranston City Clerk/Records and Licenses, $100–$250 annual, banded by seating capacity ($100.00 for 1-25 seats, $150.00 for 26-50 seats, $250.00 for over 50 seats), annual — expires March 31 following issuance (Code §5.04.040), with no rebate for a partial term. Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Sign Permit — City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning, $75–$100 one-time, per sign permit including inspection, per zone lot (a separate $100.00 fee applies for a Master or Common Signage Plan application), one-time, per sign — not stated beyond a sign permit's automatic lapse if the business's own license lapses or is not renewed. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Food Establishment License — Rhode Island Department of Health, Center for Food Protection, $160–$240 a year for a restaurant, banded by seating, annual — 12 months from the registration renewal date. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Cranston, RI; what each one involves is set out on the Cranston permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across RI and are covered on the RI state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Cranston?
A restaurant and a coffee shop in Cranston, RI need exactly the same 4 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 4 | 4 | 0 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 3 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 1 | 3 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 5 | 1 | 3 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Cranston permits page and the RI state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- 216-RICR-50-10-2 — certification of managers in food safety, fee and three-year termRhode Island Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
