Commercial Compliance Hub

16 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Cranston?

In short

A salon or barber in Cranston, RI has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Cranston City Clerk/Records and Licenses charges $100 annual renewal; a separate Body Works Personnel License is $60.00/annual renewal per individual worker for the body works establishment license. 4 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Cranston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License (not found; activity-specific structure instead)only if it applies to youCity of Cranston City Clerk/Records and LicensesNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
Body Works Establishment Licenseonly if it applies to youCity of Cranston City Clerk/Records and Licenses$100 annual renewal; a separate Body Works Personnel License is $60.00/annual renewal per individual workerannual renewal2026-09-12
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning$75–$100 one-time, per sign permit including inspection, per zone lot (a separate $100.00 fee applies for a Master or Common Signage Plan application)one-time, per sign — not stated beyond a sign permit's automatic lapse if the business's own license lapses or is not renewed2026-09-12
Massage Therapy Establishment Licenseonly if it applies to youCity of Cranston City Clerk/Records and Licenses$25 initial application fee; a renewal fee is not separately stated in the chapter textnot stated in the published fee schedule beyond the general Title 5 default (expires March 31 following issuance, per §5.04.040)2026-09-12
Barbering or Hairdressing Shop LicenseRhode Island Department of Health, Board of Hairdressing and Barbering$170 to open; renewal is $170 a yearannual — every shop license expires 1 July2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Cranston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building PermitCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and ZoningVaries — formula on the Cranston pageone-time, per project; expiration not separately stated in the published schedule2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning$150 one-time (the 'All Others' rate covering every commercial use; a lower $75.00 rate applies only to a one- or two-family residential structure)one-time, issued after final inspections confirm code compliance2026-09-12
Fire Prevention Life Hazard Use Permitonly if it applies to youCranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention$75 annualannual2026-09-12
Fire Safety Plan Review and Construction PermitCranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire PreventionVaries — formula on the Cranston pageone-time, per project; application required at least 21 calendar days before work begins2026-09-12
Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to youCity of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning$30 one-time, per applicationone-time, per application — not stated in the published schedule2026-09-12
Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit, Appeal)only if it applies to youCity of Cranston Zoning Board of ReviewVaries — formula on the Cranston pageone-time, per application; a granted variance or special use permit expires after one year if not acted upon (Code §17.108.140)2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

RI registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$150 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Rhode Island Department of State Guidanceonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$50 a year; missing 31 May adds a further $25annual — filed between 1 February and 1 May, excluding the year of formation2026-09-04
Sales Tax PermitRhode Island Division of TaxationNo feeannual — runs 1 July through 30 June, and still must be renewed every year despite no fee2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$230 minimum one-time filing, for up to 75 million authorised sharesperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Cranston?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a salon or barber in Cranston, RI, 5 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $320.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: $75–$100 one-time, per sign permit including inspection, per zone lot (a separate $100.00 fee applies for a Master or Common Signage Plan application)

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Cranston permits page and the RI state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Cranston?

Permits for a salon or barber in Cranston, RI come from 7 separate offices: City of Cranston City Clerk/Records and Licenses, City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning, Cranston Fire Department, Bureau of Fire Prevention, City of Cranston Zoning Board of Review, Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division, Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Rhode Island Department of Health, Board of Hairdressing and Barbering. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Cranston that other businesses do not?

3 of the 5 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Cranston: Body Works Establishment License, Massage Therapy Establishment License and Barbering or Hairdressing Shop License.

Body Works Establishment License

Applies to a body-works/bodywork-treatment business distinct from a licensed massage therapy establishment (recorded separately above) and from an ordinary hair/nail salon, for which the City's license portal page lists no equivalent license. Both the establishment license and the separate per-worker personnel license are non-transferable.

Massage Therapy Establishment License

Applies specifically to a business offering massage therapy services (for example, a day spa or massage studio), not to an ordinary hair/nail salon; the City's license portal page lists no equivalent license for a hair/nail salon. Individual practitioners separately need Rhode Island Department of Health massage therapist licensure, and the establishment's owner/manager must designate a licensed massage therapist to directly supervise services if they are not one themselves.

Barbering or Hairdressing Shop License

A hundred and seventy dollars covers both a barbershop and a cosmetology salon under Rhode Island's combined Board of Hairdressing and Barbering — one statute, one fee, one shop license for either trade, expiring the same 1 July every year regardless of issue date. Individual practitioners are licensed far more cheaply and on a different clock entirely: $25 to apply or renew, on a two-year cycle expiring 30 September, with a late renewal penalty running from $25 up to $100 depending on how overdue it is.

Shared with other businesses in Cranston

  • General Business License (not found; activity-specific structure instead) — City of Cranston City Clerk/Records and Licenses, No fee, not applicable. Also required for retail stores and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Sign Permit — City of Cranston, Department of Building Inspection and Zoning, $75–$100 one-time, per sign permit including inspection, per zone lot (a separate $100.00 fee applies for a Master or Common Signage Plan application), one-time, per sign — not stated beyond a sign permit's automatic lapse if the business's own license lapses or is not renewed. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Cranston, RI; what each one involves is set out on the Cranston permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across RI and are covered on the RI state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Cranston?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 2 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Body Works Establishment License, Massage Therapy Establishment License and Barbering or Hairdressing Shop License. A retail store needs nothing here that a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Cranston, RI, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Retail stores2230
Veterinary clinics3231
Fitness studios2141
Auto repair shops3142
Coffee shops4143
Restaurants4143
Childcare centres2052
Contractors and trades4054
Food trucks3053

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Cranston permits page and the RI state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Cranston Code of Ordinances Chapter 5.26, Licensing for Body Works Establishments — the $100.00 establishment and $60.00 personnel license feesCity of Cranston · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Cranston Code of Ordinances Chapter 5.25, Licensing for Massage Therapy Establishments — the $25.00 initial application feeCity of Cranston · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  3. Rhode Island General Laws section 23-1-54 — the food establishment fee tableRhode Island General Assembly · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  4. 216-RICR-40-05-4 — barbering and hairdressing shop license term, expiring 1 July annuallyRhode Island Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.