Commercial Compliance Hub

11 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Providence?

In short

A childcare centre in Providence, RI has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Providence Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau charges $100 per inspection for the fire prevention bureau commercial inspection. 2 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a childcare centre in Providence

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Child Care Facility — State License Applies (Providence)only if it applies to youCity of Providence Board of LicensesNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
Child Care LicenseRhode Island Department of Human Services, Office of Child Care Licensing$500 for a child daycare centre; a group family daycare home is $250 and a family daycare home is $1001 year for a centre or group family home; 2 years for a family daycare home2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Providence

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit, Appeal)only if it applies to youCity of Providence Zoning Board of ReviewVaries — formula on the Providence pageone-time, per application2026-09-12
Fire Prevention Bureau Commercial InspectionProvidence Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau$100 per inspectionnot stated in the published fee schedule — billed per inspection whenever a qualifying trigger occurs2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS)No feeone-time — issued after final inspections and close-out documentation confirm code compliance2026-09-12
Zoning Certificate / Zoning Certificate for Complianceonly if it applies to youCity of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS)$25 one-time, per applicationone-time, per application — not stated in the published ordinance2026-09-12
Building PermitCity of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS)Varies — formula on the Providence pageone-time, per project; the permit expires after six months if no work is performed or inspection conducted2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

RI registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$150 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Rhode Island Department of State Guidanceonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$50 a year; missing 31 May adds a further $25annual — filed between 1 February and 1 May, excluding the year of formation2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$230 minimum one-time filing, for up to 75 million authorised sharesperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Providence?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a childcare centre in Providence, RI, 4 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 4 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $600.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all.

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Providence permits page and the RI state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Providence?

Permits for a childcare centre in Providence, RI come from 6 separate offices: City of Providence Zoning Board of Review, Providence Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS), City of Providence Board of Licenses, Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division, Rhode Island Department of Human Services, Office of Child Care Licensing. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a childcare centre need in Providence that other businesses do not?

2 of the 2 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Providence: Child Care Facility — State License Applies (Providence) and Child Care License.

Child Care Facility — State License Applies (Providence)

The Board of Licenses' own named license categories show no Providence-specific childcare license, and the Division of Municipal Finance's compiled fee table's only 'day care' column is a 'Pet Day Care Facility' animal-boarding category, unrelated to human childcare, so this record carries no fee beyond the general commercial process. A childcare business here follows the same Building Permit, Zoning Certificate, and Fire Prevention Bureau inspection process listed separately for any other commercial use, on top of Rhode Island's own state Child Care License (Department of Human Services, Office of Child Care Licensing, recorded at the state layer).

Child Care License

Three tiers, priced by scale and each on its own term: a child daycare centre pays $500 for a license valid one year, a group family daycare home $250 on the same one-year cycle, and the smallest category, a family daycare home, pays only $100 but is rewarded with a longer two-year term rather than the annual cycle the two larger categories use. Every fee is stated as non-refundable, and none of the three licenses may be transferred to a different licensee or location.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Providence, RI; what each one involves is set out on the Providence permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across RI and are covered on the RI state page.

How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Providence?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Child Care Facility — State License Applies (Providence) and Child Care License. A auto repair shop needs Sign Permit, Auto Repair Shop License and Automobile Body Repair Shop License, which a childcare centre does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Providence, RI, compared with a childcare centre
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a childcare centreOnly a childcare centre needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops3023
Coffee shops5025
Contractors and trades4024
Fitness studios2022
Food trucks3023
Restaurants5025
Retail stores2022
Salons and barbers3023
Veterinary clinics3023

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Providence permits page and the RI state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. About the Board — the Board of Licenses' own current page naming its ~30 license categories, including Food dispensing and Motor vehicle repairCity of Providence Board of Licenses · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Rhode Island General Laws section 42-12.5-5 — child daycare license fees and terms by facility typeRhode Island General Assembly · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.