NAICS 236118
What permits does a contractor or trade need?
In short
We hold 2328 verified records for a contractor or trade across 463 jurisdictions, counting statewide registrations, a median of 4 per place. The most widely required is the general business license, held in 236 of them, with a median fee of $100. The exact set depends on your city and county, so the table below shows the spread rather than a single national figure.
The permits a contractor or trade usually carries
Each row groups the permits of one type, whatever the local name. 1637 differently named permits fall into 189 types; the 25 most widely required are shown here.
| Permit type | Jurisdictions | Typical fee (middle half) | Median fee | Usual term |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General business licensealways applies in 97 of 236 | 236 | $50 – $155 | $100 | not applicable |
| Contractor licensealways applies in 85 of 212 | 212 | $80 – $260 | $173 | not applicable |
| Commercial alteration permitalways applies in 95 of 150 | 150 | $60 – $160 | $100 | one-time, per project |
| Building permitalways applies in 43 of 136 | 136 | $75 – $600 | $500 | per permit |
| Certificate of occupancyalways applies in 103 of 129 | 129 | $75 – $207 | $110 | issued once per qualifying occupancy |
| Onsite sewage system permitalways applies in 2 of 72 | 72 | $200 – $551 | $350 | per permit |
| Zoning verification letteralways applies in 3 of 57 | 57 | $50 – $200 | $100 | one-time, per request |
| New commercial construction permitalways applies in 29 of 49 | 49 | $100 – $1,000 | $276.75 | not stated in the published fee schedule |
| Right of way permitdepends on premises or set-up | 37 | $150 – $1,500 | $500 | per permit |
| Fire inspection permitalways applies in 19 of 35 | 35 | $25 – $181 | $90 | not stated |
| Site plan review permitalways applies in 2 of 34 | 34 | $100 – $550 | $275 | one-time, per application |
| Floodplain development permitdepends on premises or set-up | 30 | $50 – $150 | $150 | per project |
| Zoning permitalways applies in 10 of 30 | 30 | $50 – $270 | $200 | per application |
| Conditional use permitdepends on premises or set-up | 29 | $350 – $3,970 | $600 | one-time, per application |
| Sign permitalways applies in 4 of 27 | 27 | $100 – $450 | $200 | per sign |
| Contractor registrationalways applies in 10 of 25 | 25 | $50 – $100 | $75 | 1 year from issuance |
| Fire protection system permitalways applies in 6 of 24 | 24 | $100 – $200 | $160 | per permit |
| Occupational license taxalways applies in 20 of 24 | 24 | $16 – $376 | $30 | annual; due October 1, delinquent November 1 (§40-12-26); purchased once and valid statewide, so payment in one county satisfies this requirement elsewhere in Alabama for the same license year |
| Demolition permitdepends on premises or set-up | 21 | $100 – $350 | $150 | not stated in the published fee schedule |
| Home occupation permitdepends on premises or set-up | 21 | $65 – $425 | $150 | not applicable |
| Zoning variance permitdepends on premises or set-up | 20 | $250 – $750 | $350 | one-time, per application |
| Commercial building permitalways applies in 3 of 17 | 17 | $200 | $200 | per project |
| Fire inspection certificatealways applies in 11 of 17 | 17 | $53 – $205 | $90 | annual |
| Land development permitdepends on premises or set-up | 17 | Set by formula | — | per permit for the erosion control and watershed permits; the stormwater control inspection recurs annually for as long as the control structure is in place |
| Plan review feealways applies in 6 of 15 | 15 | $25 – $171 | $25 | one-time, per project |
164 further permit types are each held in fewer jurisdictions. They are listed, with their fees and sources, on the page for each jurisdiction below.
Do the requirements change between cities?
Substantially. 1 permit type is held in at least half of the 463 jurisdictions we cover for a contractor or trade; the other 188 appear in fewer. The categories of permit are broadly consistent nationally, but the issuing agency, the fee, the renewal term and the filing order all change at city and county level. This is why a national checklist is a starting point rather than an answer.
General business license: 252 published fees, from $0 to $550,000. Half fall between $50 and $155, and the median is $100.
Contractor license: 121 published fees, from $10 to $3,500. Half fall between $80 and $260, and the median is $173.
Commercial alteration permit: 26 published fees, from $30 to $4,000. Half fall between $60 and $160, and the median is $100.
Contractors and trades by state
We publish a full permit list for a contractor or trade in 412 jurisdictions across 50 states and DC. Each state page lists them all.
- Alabama 20
- Alaska 3
- Arizona 8
- Arkansas 3
- California 24
- Colorado 8
- Connecticut 3
- Delaware 6
- District of Columbia 1
- Florida 21
- Georgia 8
- Hawaii 4
- Idaho 8
- Illinois 9
- Indiana 8
- Iowa 8
- Kansas 7
- Kentucky 3
- Louisiana 3
- Maine 3
- Maryland 7
- Massachusetts 3
- Michigan 11
- Minnesota 9
- Mississippi 3
- Missouri 8
- Montana 3
- Nebraska 8
- Nevada 5
- New Hampshire 3
- New Jersey 16
- New Mexico 8
- New York 8
- North Carolina 8
- North Dakota 3
- Ohio 9
- Oklahoma 8
- Oregon 5
- Pennsylvania 9
- Rhode Island 3
- South Carolina 5
- South Dakota 3
- Tennessee 8
- Texas 60
- Utah 8
- Vermont 3
- Virginia 8
- Washington 8
- West Virginia 3
- Wisconsin 8
- Wyoming 3
Contractors and trades by city
- Guilford County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- Forsyth County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- Durham County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- King County, WAPublished permit listFull permit list
- Montgomery County, OHPublished permit listFull permit list
- Summit County, OHPublished permit listFull permit list
- Fort Worth, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
- Grand Prairie, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
- Mecklenburg County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- Arlington, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
- Hamilton County, OHPublished permit listFull permit list
- San Antonio, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
Showing the 12 jurisdictions where we publish the most. See all 412.
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
