Commercial Compliance Hub

16 permits · verified 2026-09-11

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Morgantown?

In short

A coffee shop in Morgantown, WV has 10 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office charges $20 one-time zoning review fee, per sign permit application — a separate building permit, with its own fee, is also required for signs costing more than $250 for the sign permit. 4 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Morgantown

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Establishment Permit (Monongalia County Health Department)Monongalia County Health Department$150–$600 permit fee banded by seating capacity — $150.00 (0-20 seats), $300.00 (21-50 seats), $450.00 (51-79 seats), $600.00 (80+ seats), each also carrying a separate, matching plan review fee ($250.00-$400.00 across the same four bands) and, for the three larger bands, a confirmed $150.00 ABCC (liquor license) add-onnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Food Manufacturing Facility PermitWest Virginia Bureau for Public Health$35–$1,000 a year, banded by the facility's gross salesannual — expires 30 June2026-09-04
Food Handler PermitWest Virginia Bureau for Public Health$10 capped by statute; the exact fee is set by the local county health department1 to 3 years, set locally within that statutory range2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Morgantown

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire and Life Safety Plan Review (Building Permit)Morgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's DivisionVaries — formula on the Morgantown pageone-time, per project2026-09-11
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office$20 one-time zoning review fee, per sign permit application — a separate building permit, with its own fee, is also required for signs costing more than $250one-time, per sign permit application2026-09-11
Municipal Business LicenseCity of Morgantown, Finance Department$20 annual, flatannual — fiscal year, expires June 30; renewal due by July 12026-09-11
Business and Occupation (B&O) TaxCity of Morgantown, Finance DepartmentNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Municipal Service FeeCity of Morgantown, Finance DepartmentNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office$65 one-timeone-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business2026-09-11
Fire Marshal Certificate of Occupancy InspectionMorgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Division$50 per inspectionone-time — performed as part of Certificate of Occupancy issuance2026-09-11
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Morgantown, Planning Division (Development Services)Varies — formula on the Morgantown pageone-time, per written verification request2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

WV registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youWest Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youWest Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youWest Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division$25 a year; a late-filed report adds $50 for a profit entity or $25 for a nonprofitannual — filed between 1 January and 30 June of the year after registration2026-09-04
Sales and Use Tax Registration — West Virginia position (through the Business Registration Certificate)only if it applies to youWest Virginia State Tax DivisionNo feenot applicable — no separate permit exists2026-09-04
Business Registration CertificateWest Virginia State Tax Division$30 one-time — the certificate never expirespermanent — valid until the business relocates, closes, or the certificate is suspended or revoked2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Morgantown?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a coffee shop in Morgantown, WV, 10 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 10 that always apply, 5 carry a flat fee, coming to $175.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Establishment Permit (Monongalia County Health Department): $150–$600 permit fee banded by seating capacity — $150.00 (0-20 seats), $300.00 (21-50 seats), $450.00 (51-79 seats), $600.00 (80+ seats), each also carrying a separate, matching plan review fee ($250.00-$400.00 across the same four bands) and, for the three larger bands, a confirmed $150.00 ABCC (liquor license) add-on

Food Manufacturing Facility Permit: $35–$1,000 a year, banded by the facility's gross sales

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Morgantown permits page and the WV state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Morgantown?

Permits for a coffee shop in Morgantown, WV come from 8 separate offices: Morgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Division, City of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office, City of Morgantown, Finance Department, City of Morgantown, Planning Division (Development Services), Monongalia County Health Department, West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division, West Virginia State Tax Division, West Virginia Bureau for Public Health. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Morgantown that other businesses do not?

Shared with other businesses in Morgantown

  • Food Establishment Permit (Monongalia County Health Department) — Monongalia County Health Department, $150–$600 permit fee banded by seating capacity — $150.00 (0-20 seats), $300.00 (21-50 seats), $450.00 (51-79 seats), $600.00 (80+ seats), each also carrying a separate, matching plan review fee ($250.00-$400.00 across the same four bands) and, for the three larger bands, a confirmed $150.00 ABCC (liquor license) add-on, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Food Manufacturing Facility Permit — West Virginia Bureau for Public Health, $35–$1,000 a year, banded by the facility's gross sales, annual — expires 30 June. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Food Handler Permit — West Virginia Bureau for Public Health, $10 capped by statute; the exact fee is set by the local county health department, 1 to 3 years, set locally within that statutory range. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 8 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Morgantown, WV; what each one involves is set out on the Morgantown permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across WV and are covered on the WV state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Morgantown?

A coffee shop and a restaurant in Morgantown, WV need exactly the same 3 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Morgantown, WV, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants3300
Food trucks4212
Auto repair shops3033
Childcare centres4034
Contractors and trades5035
Fitness studios2032
Retail stores1031
Salons and barbers3033
Veterinary clinics3033

Sources

Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Morgantown permits page and the WV state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

    Related

    Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.