Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-11

What permits do you need to open a food truck in Morgantown?

In short

A food truck in Morgantown, WV has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Morgantown, Finance Department charges $20 annual, flat for the municipal business license. 3 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a food truck in Morgantown

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Downtown Vending Permit (Parking Space)Morgantown Parking Authority$13–$14 per night — $14.00 standard, discounted to $13.00 per night if the vendor occupies the same space for three or more consecutive eveningsongoing — scheduled per night or in blocks of nights through the Parking Authority2026-09-11
Mobile Food Unit Permit (Monongalia County Health Department)Monongalia County Health Department$150.00 one-time plan review fee for a new mobile food unit, plus a $150.00 permit fee, per the Department's own current fee schedule.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Food Manufacturing Facility PermitWest Virginia Bureau for Public Health$35–$1,000 a year, banded by the facility's gross salesannual — expires 30 June2026-09-04
Food Handler PermitWest Virginia Bureau for Public Health$10 capped by statute; the exact fee is set by the local county health department1 to 3 years, set locally within that statutory range2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Morgantown

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Municipal Business LicenseCity of Morgantown, Finance Department$20 annual, flatannual — fiscal year, expires June 30; renewal due by July 12026-09-11
Business and Occupation (B&O) TaxCity of Morgantown, Finance DepartmentNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Municipal Service FeeCity of Morgantown, Finance DepartmentNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

WV registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youWest Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youWest Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youWest Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division$25 a year; a late-filed report adds $50 for a profit entity or $25 for a nonprofitannual — filed between 1 January and 30 June of the year after registration2026-09-04
Sales and Use Tax Registration — West Virginia position (through the Business Registration Certificate)only if it applies to youWest Virginia State Tax DivisionNo feenot applicable — no separate permit exists2026-09-04
Business Registration CertificateWest Virginia State Tax Division$30 one-time — the certificate never expirespermanent — valid until the business relocates, closes, or the certificate is suspended or revoked2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a food truck in Morgantown?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a food truck in Morgantown, WV, 8 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 8 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $60.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Downtown Vending Permit (Parking Space): $13–$14 per night — $14.00 standard, discounted to $13.00 per night if the vendor occupies the same space for three or more consecutive evenings

Mobile Food Unit Permit (Monongalia County Health Department): $150.00 one-time plan review fee for a new mobile food unit, plus a $150.00 permit fee, per the Department's own current fee schedule.

Food Manufacturing Facility Permit: $35–$1,000 a year, banded by the facility's gross sales

Which offices issue these permits in Morgantown?

Permits for a food truck in Morgantown, WV come from 6 separate offices: Morgantown Parking Authority, Monongalia County Health Department, City of Morgantown, Finance Department, West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division, West Virginia State Tax Division, West Virginia Bureau for Public Health. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a food truck need in Morgantown that other businesses do not?

2 of the 4 permits particular to a food truck here apply to no other business type we cover in Morgantown: Downtown Vending Permit (Parking Space) and Mobile Food Unit Permit (Monongalia County Health Department).

Downtown Vending Permit (Parking Space)

A genuinely different local structure from Charleston's $20.00/year Vending Permit or Huntington's flat $50.00 Mobile Food Vendor Permit: Morgantown prices vending from a downtown public parking space by the night through the Morgantown Parking Authority, confirmed directly on the City's own current Permitting page at $14.00/night, discounted to $13.00/night for three or more consecutive nights in the same space. The City's own Vending Downtown page confirms every vending truck or cart — even one based outside city limits — must also hold a City of Morgantown Business License (recorded separately above), and that no permit is required at all when vending on private property with the landowner's permission. This permit is layered on top of, not instead of, the Monongalia County Health Department's own separate Mobile Food Unit permit recorded below.

Mobile Food Unit Permit (Monongalia County Health Department)

The Monongalia County Health Department is the real food-permitting authority for a Morgantown food truck, as stated on its own site, monchd.org. Its own current fee schedule prices a Mobile Food Unit at $150.00 for plan review plus a further $150.00 permit fee; the same schedule's Retail line shows plan review $250.00 with the permit column blank. This Health Department permit is required in addition to, not instead of, the City's own $14.00-$/night Downtown Vending Permit recorded separately above.

Food Manufacturing Facility Permit

This is the state's own directly priced food fee, and it applies specifically to a food manufacturing facility rather than an ordinary restaurant — twelve gross-sales bands running from $35 for a facility under $7,500 a year up to $1,000 for one over $50 million. An ordinary restaurant, coffee shop or food truck is not priced by this schedule at all: the rule that used to set a uniform statewide fee for those establishments has been repealed, and county health departments now set their own restaurant permit fees independently. Confirm the fee with the specific county health department for anything other than food manufacturing.

Shared with other businesses in Morgantown

  • Food Handler Permit — West Virginia Bureau for Public Health, $10 capped by statute; the exact fee is set by the local county health department, 1 to 3 years, set locally within that statutory range. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Morgantown, WV; what each one involves is set out on the Morgantown permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across WV and are covered on the WV state page.

How does a food truck compare with other businesses in Morgantown?

The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 2 of these permits. A food truck also needs Downtown Vending Permit (Parking Space) and Mobile Food Unit Permit (Monongalia County Health Department). A coffee shop needs Food Establishment Permit (Monongalia County Health Department), which a food truck does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Morgantown, WV, compared with a food truck
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a food truckOnly a food truck needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops3221
Restaurants3221
Auto repair shops3043
Childcare centres4044
Contractors and trades5045
Fitness studios2042
Retail stores1041
Salons and barbers3043
Veterinary clinics3043

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Morgantown permits page and the WV state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Permitting (Vending Downtown) — the City's own current page pricing the downtown vending parking permit at $14.00 per night, discounted to $13.00 per night for three or more consecutive nights in the same space, issued through the Morgantown Parking AuthorityCity of Morgantown / Morgantown Parking Authority · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  2. Vending Downtown — the City's own current overview, requiring a City of Morgantown Business License for every vending truck or cart and citing Ordinance 361.09 (Parking to Sell Goods) and Ordinance 905.02 (Sale of Goods on Sidewalks)City of Morgantown · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  3. Permit Fees and Fees for Service — Fiscal Year 2026-2027 — the Department's own current comprehensive fee schedule, pricing Food Establishment permits by seating band (Plan Review $250.00-$400.00, Permit $150.00-$600.00, plus a $150.00 ABCC add-on), a Mobile Food Unit ($150.00 plan review plus $150.00 permit), and a Child Care Center inspection banded by enrollment ($72.00/$150.00/$222.00)Monongalia County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  4. Environmental Health — the Monongalia County Health Department's own current program page, listing Food Establishment, Mobile Food Unit, and Temporary Food Establishment applications and linking the current Permit Fees and Fees for Service scheduleMonongalia County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  5. 64 CSR 51 appendix B — food manufacturing facility permit fees, banded by gross salesWest Virginia Bureau for Public Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  6. 64 CSR 30, Fees for Permits — repealed, leaving ordinary restaurant permit fees to local health departmentsState of West Virginia · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.