Commercial Compliance Hub

16 permits · verified 2026-09-11

What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Morgantown?

In short

A contractor or trade in Morgantown, WV has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Morgantown, Finance Department charges $20 annual, flat for the contractor registration (municipal business license). 3 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a contractor or trade in Morgantown

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Contractor Registration (Municipal Business License)City of Morgantown, Finance Department$20 annual, flatannual — fiscal year, expires June 302026-09-11
HVAC Technician Certificationonly if it applies to youWest Virginia Division of Labor$75 for a standard technician certification; a residential-only technician is $50 and a technician in training is $25set by the Division of Labor2026-09-04
Contractor Licenseonly if it applies to youWest Virginia Contractor Licensing Board$90 a year; a sole-proprietor electrical contractor already licensed by the fire marshal pays $20annual2026-09-04
Plumber Certificationonly if it applies to youWest Virginia Division of Labor$75 for a master or journeyman certification, initial and renewal alike; a plumber in training is $25set by the Division of Labor2026-09-04
Electrical Contractor Licenseonly if it applies to youWest Virginia State Fire Marshal's OfficeRoughly $50 a year; confirm the current amount with the State Fire Marshal's Officeannual — expires 30 June2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Morgantown

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire and Life Safety Plan Review (Building Permit)Morgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's DivisionVaries — formula on the Morgantown pageone-time, per project2026-09-11
Municipal Business LicenseCity of Morgantown, Finance Department$20 annual, flatannual — fiscal year, expires June 30; renewal due by July 12026-09-11
Business and Occupation (B&O) TaxCity of Morgantown, Finance DepartmentNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Municipal Service FeeCity of Morgantown, Finance DepartmentNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office$65 one-timeone-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business2026-09-11
Fire Marshal Certificate of Occupancy InspectionMorgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Division$50 per inspectionone-time — performed as part of Certificate of Occupancy issuance2026-09-11
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Morgantown, Planning Division (Development Services)Varies — formula on the Morgantown pageone-time, per written verification request2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

WV registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youWest Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youWest Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youWest Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division$25 a year; a late-filed report adds $50 for a profit entity or $25 for a nonprofitannual — filed between 1 January and 30 June of the year after registration2026-09-04
Business Registration CertificateWest Virginia State Tax Division$30 one-time — the certificate never expirespermanent — valid until the business relocates, closes, or the certificate is suspended or revoked2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Morgantown?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a contractor or trade in Morgantown, WV, 8 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 8 that always apply, 5 carry a flat fee, coming to $185.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Electrical Contractor License: Roughly $50 a year; confirm the current amount with the State Fire Marshal's Office

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Morgantown permits page and the WV state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Morgantown?

Permits for a contractor or trade in Morgantown, WV come from 9 separate offices: Morgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Division, City of Morgantown, Finance Department, City of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office, City of Morgantown, Planning Division (Development Services), West Virginia Division of Labor, West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division, West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board, West Virginia State Tax Division, West Virginia State Fire Marshal's Office. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a contractor or trade need in Morgantown that other businesses do not?

5 of the 5 permits particular to a contractor or trade here apply to no other business type we cover in Morgantown: Contractor Registration (Municipal Business License), HVAC Technician Certification, Contractor License and 2 more.

Contractor Registration (Municipal Business License)

The City's own current Municipal Business License Application asks a contracting applicant to check 'Contracting,' select a B&O filing method ('Quarterly' or 'By the Job'), and enter a 'WV Contractor's License Number' — meaning Morgantown, unlike Huntington (which folded a formerly separate Contractor License into its general license only as of June 2021), appears never to have priced a distinct local contractor product at all. The same $20.00 Municipal Business License recorded above, with the contractor's state license number attached, is what Morgantown adds locally on top of West Virginia's own state Contractor Licensing Board fee recorded at the state layer.

HVAC Technician Certification

Three tiers on a shared price ladder with plumbing: a full HVAC technician certification is $75, a residential-only technician $50, and a technician in training $25 — the same initial and renewal fee applies at each level.

Contractor License

A license is required once residential work reaches $5,000 or commercial work reaches $25,000, below which a minor work exemption applies. The annual fee is $90, with one specific carve-out: a sole proprietor operating only as an electrical contractor who already holds a state electrician's license pays just $20, avoiding double-paying for a credential covering the same trade. Renewing late adds a $25 penalty. Beyond the annual fee, the licensing examination itself, administered by a third-party testing vendor, costs roughly $60 per attempt.

Plumber Certification

Master and journeyman plumbers pay the identical $75 for their initial certification and again for each renewal, while a plumber in training pays $25. Late renewal adds $25 and a duplicate certificate costs $10 — both flat fees regardless of certification level.

Electrical Contractor License

Electrical work is licensed separately from West Virginia's general contractor system — by the State Fire Marshal's Office rather than the Contractor Licensing Board, for both journeyman and master electricians, expiring every 30 June. The fire marshal's own fee schedule could not be reached to confirm the figure directly, so the roughly $50 a year commonly cited is recorded here with that caveat rather than as a confirmed fact. Holding this electrician's license as a sole proprietor is what earns the reduced $20 rate on the separate contractor license above, rather than paying full price for overlapping electrical credentials.

The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Morgantown, WV; what each one involves is set out on the Morgantown permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across WV and are covered on the WV state page.

How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in Morgantown?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs Contractor Registration (Municipal Business License), HVAC Technician Certification, Contractor License and 2 more. A auto repair shop needs Auto Repair Shop Municipal License (not found), Conditional Use Permit (Board of Zoning Appeals) and Automotive Repair Shop License — West Virginia position (business registration applies), which a contractor or trade does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Morgantown, WV, compared with a contractor or trade
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a contractor or tradeOnly a contractor or trade needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops3053
Childcare centres4054
Coffee shops3053
Fitness studios2052
Food trucks4054
Restaurants3053
Retail stores1051
Salons and barbers3053
Veterinary clinics3053

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Morgantown permits page and the WV state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Municipal Business License Application (Revised 9/1/2022) — the City's own current fillable form, pricing the license at $20.00, listing every B&O business classification, and stating the Municipal Service Fee applies to all employees and self-employed ownersCity of Morgantown, Finance Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  2. West Virginia Division of Labor — HVAC technician certification feesWest Virginia Division of Labor · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  3. West Virginia Code of State Rules section 28-2-5 — the $90 annual contractor license feeWest Virginia Contractor Licensing Board · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  4. West Virginia Code section 30-42-3 — the $5,000 residential and $25,000 commercial contractor licensing thresholdsState of West Virginia · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  5. West Virginia Division of Labor — plumber certification feesWest Virginia Division of Labor · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.