Commercial Compliance Hub

16 permits · verified 2026-09-11

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Morgantown?

In short

A restaurant in Morgantown, WV has 10 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office charges $20 one-time zoning review fee, per sign permit application — a separate building permit, with its own fee, is also required for signs costing more than $250 for the sign permit. 4 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Morgantown

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Establishment Permit (Monongalia County Health Department)Monongalia County Health Department$150–$600 permit fee banded by seating capacity — $150.00 (0-20 seats), $300.00 (21-50 seats), $450.00 (51-79 seats), $600.00 (80+ seats), each also carrying a separate, matching plan review fee ($250.00-$400.00 across the same four bands) and, for the three larger bands, a confirmed $150.00 ABCC (liquor license) add-onnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Food Manufacturing Facility PermitWest Virginia Bureau for Public Health$35–$1,000 a year, banded by the facility's gross salesannual — expires 30 June2026-09-04
Food Handler PermitWest Virginia Bureau for Public Health$10 capped by statute; the exact fee is set by the local county health department1 to 3 years, set locally within that statutory range2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Morgantown

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire and Life Safety Plan Review (Building Permit)Morgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's DivisionVaries — formula on the Morgantown pageone-time, per project2026-09-11
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office$20 one-time zoning review fee, per sign permit application — a separate building permit, with its own fee, is also required for signs costing more than $250one-time, per sign permit application2026-09-11
Municipal Business LicenseCity of Morgantown, Finance Department$20 annual, flatannual — fiscal year, expires June 30; renewal due by July 12026-09-11
Business and Occupation (B&O) TaxCity of Morgantown, Finance DepartmentNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Municipal Service FeeCity of Morgantown, Finance DepartmentNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office$65 one-timeone-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business2026-09-11
Fire Marshal Certificate of Occupancy InspectionMorgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Division$50 per inspectionone-time — performed as part of Certificate of Occupancy issuance2026-09-11
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Morgantown, Planning Division (Development Services)Varies — formula on the Morgantown pageone-time, per written verification request2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

WV registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youWest Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youWest Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youWest Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division$25 a year; a late-filed report adds $50 for a profit entity or $25 for a nonprofitannual — filed between 1 January and 30 June of the year after registration2026-09-04
Sales and Use Tax Registration — West Virginia position (through the Business Registration Certificate)only if it applies to youWest Virginia State Tax DivisionNo feenot applicable — no separate permit exists2026-09-04
Business Registration CertificateWest Virginia State Tax Division$30 one-time — the certificate never expirespermanent — valid until the business relocates, closes, or the certificate is suspended or revoked2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Morgantown?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a restaurant in Morgantown, WV, 10 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 10 that always apply, 5 carry a flat fee, coming to $175.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Establishment Permit (Monongalia County Health Department): $150–$600 permit fee banded by seating capacity — $150.00 (0-20 seats), $300.00 (21-50 seats), $450.00 (51-79 seats), $600.00 (80+ seats), each also carrying a separate, matching plan review fee ($250.00-$400.00 across the same four bands) and, for the three larger bands, a confirmed $150.00 ABCC (liquor license) add-on

Food Manufacturing Facility Permit: $35–$1,000 a year, banded by the facility's gross sales

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Morgantown permits page and the WV state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Morgantown?

Permits for a restaurant in Morgantown, WV come from 8 separate offices: Morgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Division, City of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office, City of Morgantown, Finance Department, City of Morgantown, Planning Division (Development Services), Monongalia County Health Department, West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division, West Virginia State Tax Division, West Virginia Bureau for Public Health. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Morgantown that other businesses do not?

Food Establishment Permit (Monongalia County Health Department)

The Department's own current 'Permit Fees and Fees for Service — Fiscal Year 2026-2027' schedule prices a Food Establishment Permit in four seating bands, each carrying both a plan review fee and a permit fee. The schedule is a fillable form whose two-column table does not read in a single straightforward order; the seating-band figures here follow the reading order that matches the table's Mobile Food Unit row ($150.00 for both figures) and Retail row (plan review $250.00, permit blank). The ABCC liquor-license add-on for the smallest (0-20 seat) band specifically is not legible in the source document; the $150.00 add-on figure confirmed for the three larger bands is disclosed here as background rather than extended to the smallest band. West Virginia's old uniform statewide restaurant permit-fee rule was repealed (recorded at the state layer), and Monongalia County's own figures are set independently and do not match Kanawha County's KCHD or Cabell County's CHHD figures.

Food Handler Permit

The statute caps this at $10 but leaves each county health department to set its own procedure and its own fee up to that ceiling, and to choose a validity period anywhere from one to three years. A permit or card must be obtained within thirty days of a food employee being hired. One genuinely useful feature: a card issued by any county is valid throughout the state once an additional fee of up to $10 is paid, so a worker moving between counties need not start over. A current certified food protection manager credential is understood to exempt its holder from this separate card, consistent with how most states treat the two credentials.

Shared with other businesses in Morgantown

  • Food Manufacturing Facility Permit — West Virginia Bureau for Public Health, $35–$1,000 a year, banded by the facility's gross sales, annual — expires 30 June. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.

The other 8 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Morgantown, WV; what each one involves is set out on the Morgantown permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across WV and are covered on the WV state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Morgantown?

A restaurant and a coffee shop in Morgantown, WV need exactly the same 3 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Morgantown, WV, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops3300
Food trucks4212
Auto repair shops3033
Childcare centres4034
Contractors and trades5035
Fitness studios2032
Retail stores1031
Salons and barbers3033
Veterinary clinics3033

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Morgantown permits page and the WV state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Permit Fees and Fees for Service — Fiscal Year 2026-2027 — the Department's own current comprehensive fee schedule, pricing Food Establishment permits by seating band (Plan Review $250.00-$400.00, Permit $150.00-$600.00, plus a $150.00 ABCC add-on), a Mobile Food Unit ($150.00 plan review plus $150.00 permit), and a Child Care Center inspection banded by enrollment ($72.00/$150.00/$222.00)Monongalia County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  2. Environmental Health — the Monongalia County Health Department's own current program page, listing Food Establishment, Mobile Food Unit, and Temporary Food Establishment applications and linking the current Permit Fees and Fees for Service scheduleMonongalia County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  3. West Virginia Code section 16-2-16 — food handler permits, capped at $10 and valid statewideState of West Virginia · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.