16 permits · verified 2026-09-11
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Morgantown?
In short
A auto repair shop in Morgantown, WV has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office charges $20 one-time zoning review fee, per sign permit application — a separate building permit, with its own fee, is also required for signs costing more than $250 for the sign permit. 2 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Morgantown
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto Repair Shop Municipal License (not found)only if it applies to you | City of Morgantown, Finance Department | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-11 |
| Conditional Use Permit (Board of Zoning Appeals)only if it applies to you | City of Morgantown, Planning Division (Development Services) | $150 one-time, per application | one-time, per application | 2026-09-11 |
| Automotive Repair Shop License — West Virginia position (business registration applies)only if it applies to you | West Virginia State Tax Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Morgantown
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire and Life Safety Plan Review (Building Permit) | Morgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Division | Varies — formula on the Morgantown page | one-time, per project | 2026-09-11 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office | $20 one-time zoning review fee, per sign permit application — a separate building permit, with its own fee, is also required for signs costing more than $250 | one-time, per sign permit application | 2026-09-11 |
| Municipal Business License | City of Morgantown, Finance Department | $20 annual, flat | annual — fiscal year, expires June 30; renewal due by July 1 | 2026-09-11 |
| Business and Occupation (B&O) Tax | City of Morgantown, Finance Department | No fee | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Municipal Service Fee | City of Morgantown, Finance Department | No fee | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office | $65 one-time | one-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business | 2026-09-11 |
| Fire Marshal Certificate of Occupancy Inspection | Morgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Division | $50 per inspection | one-time — performed as part of Certificate of Occupancy issuance | 2026-09-11 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Morgantown, Planning Division (Development Services) | Varies — formula on the Morgantown page | one-time, per written verification request | 2026-09-11 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
WV registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division | $25 a year; a late-filed report adds $50 for a profit entity or $25 for a nonprofit | annual — filed between 1 January and 30 June of the year after registration | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales and Use Tax Registration — West Virginia position (through the Business Registration Certificate)only if it applies to you | West Virginia State Tax Division | No fee | not applicable — no separate permit exists | 2026-09-04 |
| Business Registration Certificate | West Virginia State Tax Division | $30 one-time — the certificate never expires | permanent — valid until the business relocates, closes, or the certificate is suspended or revoked | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Morgantown?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a auto repair shop in Morgantown, WV, 7 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $165.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all.
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Morgantown permits page and the WV state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Morgantown?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Morgantown, WV come from 6 separate offices: Morgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Division, City of Morgantown, Finance Department, City of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office, City of Morgantown, Planning Division (Development Services), West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division, West Virginia State Tax Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Morgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire and Life Safety Plan Review (Building Permit), Fire Marshal Certificate of Occupancy Inspection389 Spruce Street, Morgantown, WV 26505 (administration)www.morgantownwv.gov/208/Fire-Department
- City of Morgantown, Finance DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Auto Repair Shop Municipal License (not found), Municipal Business License, Business and Occupation (B&O) Tax, Municipal Service Fee389 Spruce Street, Morgantown, WV 26505 · (304) 284-7408www.morgantownwv.gov/204/Business-Occupation-Tax-Returns
- City of Morgantown, Code Enforcement OfficeIssues 2 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Certificate of Occupancy389 Spruce Street, Morgantown, WV 26505 · (304) 284-7401www.morgantownwv.gov/167/Code-Enforcement
- City of Morgantown, Planning Division (Development Services)Issues 2 permits on this page: Conditional Use Permit (Board of Zoning Appeals), Zoning Verification Letter389 Spruce Street, Morgantown, WV 26505 · (304) 284-7431www.morgantownwv.gov/188/Planning-Division
- West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Organization (LLC), Annual Report1900 Kanawha Boulevard East, Building 1, Charleston, WV 25305 · (304) 558-8000sos.wv.gov
- West Virginia State Tax DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Sales and Use Tax Registration — West Virginia position (through the Business Registration Certificate), Business Registration Certificate, Automotive Repair Shop License — West Virginia position (business registration applies)(304) 558-3333tax.wv.gov
What does a auto repair shop need in Morgantown that other businesses do not?
2 of the 3 permits particular to a auto repair shop here apply to no other business type we cover in Morgantown: Auto Repair Shop Municipal License (not found) and Automotive Repair Shop License — West Virginia position (business registration applies).
Auto Repair Shop Municipal License (not found)
No fee applies. The City's own current Municipal Business License Application lists a complete, fixed set of B&O business classifications (Contracting, Manufacturing, Retail, Restaurant, Wholesale, Rental, Service, Utility, Banking or Other Financial Institution, Amusements, Other), and none of them is auto-repair-specific — an auto repair shop is simply classified as 'Service.' The Zoning Code separately defines 'AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR SHOP' and a distinct 'Automobile Repair Shop, Incidental' use-table entry purely as land-use categories carrying permitted/conditional status by zoning district, not as a licensed business type. An auto repair shop's Morgantown-specific obligations are otherwise the same Municipal Business License, B&O Tax, Municipal Service Fee, and Certificate of Occupancy requirements recorded elsewhere in this file.
Automotive Repair Shop License — West Virginia position (business registration applies)
No auto repair shop license fee is recorded here. The Tax Division's TSD-360 states that any person engaging in business activity in West Virginia must register with the Tax Division before commencing business, at $30 for a Business Registration Certificate that is permanent for each location, and that registration is the state-level item recorded for a repair shop. West Virginia's consumer protection statutes governing vehicle warranty work and aftermarket crash parts regulate conduct rather than creating a license to hold. Vehicle dealer licensing, administered separately by the motor vehicle division, is triggered by buying and selling vehicles rather than by repairing them, so a shop that only repairs falls outside it.
Shared with other businesses in Morgantown
- Conditional Use Permit (Board of Zoning Appeals) — City of Morgantown, Planning Division (Development Services), $150 one-time, per application, one-time, per application. Also required for childcare centres, veterinary clinics, retail stores and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
The other 8 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Morgantown, WV; what each one involves is set out on the Morgantown permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across WV and are covered on the WV state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Morgantown?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 1 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Auto Repair Shop Municipal License (not found) and Automotive Repair Shop License — West Virginia position (business registration applies). A retail store needs nothing here that a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 1 | 1 | 2 | 0 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 5 | 0 | 3 | 5 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Morgantown permits page and the WV state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Municipal Business License Application (Revised 9/1/2022) — the City's own current fillable form, pricing the license at $20.00, listing every B&O business classification, and stating the Municipal Service Fee applies to all employees and self-employed ownersCity of Morgantown, Finance Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- 2019 Planning and Zoning Code, City of Morgantown (current through Ordinance 2025-21) — the City's own complete current zoning text, including Section 1315.03 (subdivision filing fees, referencing the City's own Plan Review and Permitting Fee Schedule), Section 1331.06(19) (Day Care Facility Class 2/3 as a home-occupation conditional use), Table 1369.06.01 (sign permits, the $250 building-permit threshold), Section 1379.02 (Conditional Use filing fee), Section 1381.02 (variance fee), and the Definitions article (Automotive Repair Shop, Veterinary Clinic, Barber Shop/Beauty Salon, Personal Services Establishment, Recreation Facility Commercial Indoor, Kennel Commercial, Home Occupation)City of Morgantown, Planning Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- West Virginia State Tax Division — TSD-360, the Business Registration Certificate, $30 and permanentWest Virginia State Tax Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
