Commercial Compliance Hub

Morgantown

Monongalia County Health Department

In short

Monongalia County Health Department issues 3 permits we publish for Morgantown, last verified 2026-09-11. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.

What this agency issues

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Child Care Center Inspection/Plan Review Fee (Monongalia County Health Department)Monongalia County Health Department$72–$222 per facility, banded by licensed enrollment — $72.00 (1-12 children), $150.00 (13-25 children), $222.00 (26 or more children)not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Mobile Food Unit Permit (Monongalia County Health Department)Monongalia County Health Department$150.00 one-time plan review fee for a new mobile food unit, plus a $150.00 permit fee, per the Department's own current fee schedule.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Food Establishment Permit (Monongalia County Health Department)Monongalia County Health Department$150–$600 permit fee banded by seating capacity — $150.00 (0-20 seats), $300.00 (21-50 seats), $450.00 (51-79 seats), $600.00 (80+ seats), each also carrying a separate, matching plan review fee ($250.00-$400.00 across the same four bands) and, for the three larger bands, a confirmed $150.00 ABCC (liquor license) add-onnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

About each permit

Child Care Center Inspection/Plan Review Fee (Monongalia County Health Department)

This is a local childcare-specific fee, layered on top of West Virginia's own state Child Care Centre License recorded at the state layer. Monongalia County's own current fee schedule states this figure directly, banded by enrollment. This appears on the Department's own general environmental-health fee schedule rather than a page specifically describing a childcare program, so a Morgantown childcare operator should confirm directly with the Department whether this fee applies to an initial facility plan review, a recurring inspection, or both.

Mobile Food Unit Permit (Monongalia County Health Department)

The Monongalia County Health Department is the real food-permitting authority for a Morgantown food truck, as stated on its own site, monchd.org. Its own current fee schedule prices a Mobile Food Unit at $150.00 for plan review plus a further $150.00 permit fee; the same schedule's Retail line shows plan review $250.00 with the permit column blank. This Health Department permit is required in addition to, not instead of, the City's own $14.00-$/night Downtown Vending Permit recorded separately above.

Food Establishment Permit (Monongalia County Health Department)

The Department's own current 'Permit Fees and Fees for Service — Fiscal Year 2026-2027' schedule prices a Food Establishment Permit in four seating bands, each carrying both a plan review fee and a permit fee. The schedule is a fillable form whose two-column table does not read in a single straightforward order; the seating-band figures here follow the reading order that matches the table's Mobile Food Unit row ($150.00 for both figures) and Retail row (plan review $250.00, permit blank). The ABCC liquor-license add-on for the smallest (0-20 seat) band specifically is not legible in the source document; the $150.00 add-on figure confirmed for the three larger bands is disclosed here as background rather than extended to the smallest band. West Virginia's old uniform statewide restaurant permit-fee rule was repealed (recorded at the state layer), and Monongalia County's own figures are set independently and do not match Kanawha County's KCHD or Cabell County's CHHD figures.

Contact

Jurisdiction
Morgantown
Phone
(304) 598-5131

Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.

Sources

Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. Environmental Health — the Monongalia County Health Department's own current program page, listing Food Establishment, Mobile Food Unit, and Temporary Food Establishment applications and linking the current Permit Fees and Fees for Service scheduleMonongalia County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  2. Permit Fees and Fees for Service — Fiscal Year 2026-2027 — the Department's own current comprehensive fee schedule, pricing Food Establishment permits by seating band (Plan Review $250.00-$400.00, Permit $150.00-$600.00, plus a $150.00 ABCC add-on), a Mobile Food Unit ($150.00 plan review plus $150.00 permit), and a Child Care Center inspection banded by enrollment ($72.00/$150.00/$222.00)Monongalia County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11

Other offices serving Morgantown

The full permit list for this jurisdiction

Industry permit lists that include this agency

West Virginia jurisdictions

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.