14 permits · verified 2026-09-11
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Morgantown?
In short
A retail store in Morgantown, WV has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office charges $20 one-time zoning review fee, per sign permit application — a separate building permit, with its own fee, is also required for signs costing more than $250 for the sign permit. 2 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Morgantown
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Conditional Use Permit (Board of Zoning Appeals)only if it applies to you | City of Morgantown, Planning Division (Development Services) | $150 one-time, per application | one-time, per application | 2026-09-11 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Morgantown
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire and Life Safety Plan Review (Building Permit) | Morgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Division | Varies — formula on the Morgantown page | one-time, per project | 2026-09-11 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office | $20 one-time zoning review fee, per sign permit application — a separate building permit, with its own fee, is also required for signs costing more than $250 | one-time, per sign permit application | 2026-09-11 |
| Municipal Business License | City of Morgantown, Finance Department | $20 annual, flat | annual — fiscal year, expires June 30; renewal due by July 1 | 2026-09-11 |
| Business and Occupation (B&O) Tax | City of Morgantown, Finance Department | No fee | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Municipal Service Fee | City of Morgantown, Finance Department | No fee | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office | $65 one-time | one-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business | 2026-09-11 |
| Fire Marshal Certificate of Occupancy Inspection | Morgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Division | $50 per inspection | one-time — performed as part of Certificate of Occupancy issuance | 2026-09-11 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Morgantown, Planning Division (Development Services) | Varies — formula on the Morgantown page | one-time, per written verification request | 2026-09-11 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
WV registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division | $25 a year; a late-filed report adds $50 for a profit entity or $25 for a nonprofit | annual — filed between 1 January and 30 June of the year after registration | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales and Use Tax Registration — West Virginia position (through the Business Registration Certificate)only if it applies to you | West Virginia State Tax Division | No fee | not applicable — no separate permit exists | 2026-09-04 |
| Business Registration Certificate | West Virginia State Tax Division | $30 one-time — the certificate never expires | permanent — valid until the business relocates, closes, or the certificate is suspended or revoked | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Morgantown?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a retail store in Morgantown, WV, 7 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $165.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all.
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Morgantown permits page and the WV state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Morgantown?
Permits for a retail store in Morgantown, WV come from 6 separate offices: Morgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Division, City of Morgantown, Code Enforcement Office, City of Morgantown, Planning Division (Development Services), City of Morgantown, Finance Department, West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division, West Virginia State Tax Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Morgantown Fire Department, Fire Marshal's DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire and Life Safety Plan Review (Building Permit), Fire Marshal Certificate of Occupancy Inspection389 Spruce Street, Morgantown, WV 26505 (administration)www.morgantownwv.gov/208/Fire-Department
- City of Morgantown, Code Enforcement OfficeIssues 2 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Certificate of Occupancy389 Spruce Street, Morgantown, WV 26505 · (304) 284-7401www.morgantownwv.gov/167/Code-Enforcement
- City of Morgantown, Planning Division (Development Services)Issues 2 permits on this page: Conditional Use Permit (Board of Zoning Appeals), Zoning Verification Letter389 Spruce Street, Morgantown, WV 26505 · (304) 284-7431www.morgantownwv.gov/188/Planning-Division
- City of Morgantown, Finance DepartmentIssues 3 permits on this page: Municipal Business License, Business and Occupation (B&O) Tax, Municipal Service Fee389 Spruce Street, Morgantown, WV 26505 · (304) 284-7408www.morgantownwv.gov/204/Business-Occupation-Tax-Returns
- West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Organization (LLC), Annual Report1900 Kanawha Boulevard East, Building 1, Charleston, WV 25305 · (304) 558-8000sos.wv.gov
- West Virginia State Tax DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Sales and Use Tax Registration — West Virginia position (through the Business Registration Certificate), Business Registration Certificate(304) 558-3333tax.wv.gov
What does a retail store need in Morgantown that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in Morgantown
- Conditional Use Permit (Board of Zoning Appeals) — City of Morgantown, Planning Division (Development Services), $150 one-time, per application, one-time, per application. Also required for childcare centres, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
The other 8 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Morgantown, WV; what each one involves is set out on the Morgantown permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across WV and are covered on the WV state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Morgantown?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A fitness studio needs Fitness Studio/Gym Municipal License (not found), which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 3 | 0 | 1 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 5 | 0 | 1 | 5 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 1 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 3 | 0 | 1 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 0 | 1 | 3 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Morgantown permits page and the WV state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
