Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-14

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Burlington?

In short

A retail store in Burlington, VT has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division charges $155 one-time filing for the articles of organization (llc). 7 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Burlington

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Service Establishment License — Vermont Department of Health (Burlington)City of Burlington Clerk/Treasurer's OfficeSet by statute at 18 V.S.A. § 4353(a)(1) and charged by the Vermont Department of Health, scaled by seating: $105.00 for 0 to 25 seats, $180.00 for 26 to 50, $300.00 for 51 to 100, $385.00 for 101 to 200, $450.00 for 201 to 599 and $1,000.00 for 600 or more. A home caterer is $155.00. From the Department's own current application: a commercial caterer is $260.00, a mobile unit $260.00, a push cart $260.00 and a limited operation $140.00.annual, issued by the Vermont Department of Health2026-09-14
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Burlington Department of Permitting and InspectionsA $15.00 filing fee plus $118.00 for one sign, plus $80.00 for each additional sign. Signs forming part of an approved Master Sign Plan are charged at half price per sign. An application to establish or amend a Master Sign Plan is treated as another Development Review Board matter at $155.00, and a sign-related variance is charged as a variance at $195.00.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Burlington

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — Burlington Position (24 V.S.A. § 2291)only if it applies to youCity of Burlington Clerk/Treasurer's OfficeNo feenot applicable2026-09-14
Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Development Review Board Applicationonly if it applies to youCity of Burlington Department of Permitting and InspectionsVaries — formula on the Burlington pageone-time per application2026-09-14
Zoning Permit (required for change of use, not only construction)City of Burlington Department of Permitting and InspectionsVaries — formula on the Burlington pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-14
Zoning Certificate of OccupancyCity of Burlington Department of Permitting and InspectionsVaries — formula on the Burlington pageone-time; a temporary certificate is time-limited by its own terms2026-09-14
Building PermitCity of Burlington Department of Permitting and InspectionsVaries — formula on the Burlington pagea building permit becomes invalid after three years under Code §8-272026-09-14
Fire and Life Safety InspectionCity of Burlington Office of the City Fire MarshalVaries — formula on the Burlington pageper inspection cycle2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

VT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youVermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division$155 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youVermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division$155 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
LLC Annual Reportonly if it applies to youVermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division$45 a yearannual — due within 3 months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 31 for a calendar-year filer2026-09-04
Sales Tax PermitVermont Department of TaxesNo feeno expiration — no renewal required2026-09-04
Corporation Annual Reportonly if it applies to youVermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division$60 a yearannual — due within two and a half months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 15 for a calendar-year filer2026-09-04
General Business License — Vermont Secretary of State Fee Scheduleonly if it applies to youVermont Secretary of State, Corporations DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Burlington?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a retail store in Burlington, VT, 6 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

7 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Service Establishment License — Vermont Department of Health (Burlington): Set by statute at 18 V.S.A. § 4353(a)(1) and charged by the Vermont Department of Health, scaled by seating: $105.00 for 0 to 25 seats, $180.00 for 26 to 50, $300.00 for 51 to 100, $385.00 for 101 to 200, $450.00 for 201 to 599 and $1,000.00 for 600 or more. A home caterer is $155.00. From the Department's own current application: a commercial caterer is $260.00, a mobile unit $260.00, a push cart $260.00 and a limited operation $140.00.

Sign Permit: A $15.00 filing fee plus $118.00 for one sign, plus $80.00 for each additional sign. Signs forming part of an approved Master Sign Plan are charged at half price per sign. An application to establish or amend a Master Sign Plan is treated as another Development Review Board matter at $155.00, and a sign-related variance is charged as a variance at $195.00.

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Burlington permits page and the VT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Burlington?

Permits for a retail store in Burlington, VT come from 5 separate offices: City of Burlington Clerk/Treasurer's Office, City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections, City of Burlington Office of the City Fire Marshal, Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division, Vermont Department of Taxes. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Burlington that other businesses do not?

Food Service Establishment License — Vermont Department of Health (Burlington)

Under 18 V.S.A. ch. 85, restaurants in Vermont's largest city are licensed and inspected by the State rather than the City: the chapter contains no municipal delegation provision of the kind Maine has at 22 M.R.S.A. § 2499 or North Dakota operates by Memorandum of Understanding. Section 4351(a) requires the license from the Commissioner; § 4306(a) makes enforcement the Commissioner's duty; and local health officers refer rather than license, § 602a(b) directing that on discovering a violation involving 'a food or lodging establishment… the local health officer shall immediately notify the Division of Environmental Health.' Burlington's own business guide says the same: 'The Vermont Department of Health licenses and inspects food and lodging establishments throughout the state.' What the City does require of a restaurant is the zoning permit, the zoning certificate of occupancy, building and trade permits, fire inspection, gross receipts tax registration, local approval of any liquor license, and an entertainment permit if there is live music. One archaic city license survives and is recorded here as background rather than as a live obligation for most food businesses: Code §17-7(c) still prices a milk distributor's license at $25.00 per year and an incidental retail milk distributor's license at $5.00, issued by the board of health and expiring the last day of May.

Shared with other businesses in Burlington

  • Sign Permit — City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections, A $15.00 filing fee plus $118.00 for one sign, plus $80.00 for each additional sign. Signs forming part of an approved Master Sign Plan are charged at half price per sign. An application to establish or amend a Master Sign Plan is treated as another Development Review Board matter at $155.00, and a sign-related variance is charged as a variance at $195.00., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Burlington, VT; what each one involves is set out on the Burlington permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across VT and are covered on the VT state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Burlington?

The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 2 of these permits. A coffee shop needs Entertainment Permit (live music at a licensed premises), Food Establishment License and Certified Food Protection Manager, which a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Burlington, VT, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops5203
Restaurants5203
Fitness studios2111
Auto repair shops3112
Salons and barbers3112
Veterinary clinics3112
Childcare centres2022
Contractors and trades4024
Food trucks3023

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Burlington permits page and the VT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Food and Lodging — the Vermont Department of Health's own current page for the statewide licensing of restaurants, food service establishments and mobile units under 18 V.S.A. ch. 85, the license Burlington businesses hold in place of any city food licenseVermont Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  2. 24 V.S.A. ch. 61, § 2291 (Enumeration of powers) — the statute limiting Vermont municipalities to licensing itinerant vendors and peddlers under subsection (9) and circuses, shows and paid entertainments under subsection (11)Vermont General Assembly · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.