16 permits · verified 2026-08-27
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Richardson?
In short
A auto repair shop in Richardson, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Richardson Building Inspection Division, Community Services Department charges $150 minimum fee, commercial for the commercial electrical installation permit. 7 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Richardson
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Waste Hauler Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Richardson Public Services | $150 per truck, per year | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Grease Trap and Waste Interceptor Inspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Richardson Public Services | $50 per inspection | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Contractor Registration | City of Richardson Building Inspection Division, Community Services Department | $100 per registration or renewal | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Fire Code Operational Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Richardson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | $50–$100 per permit, then annual renewal | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Zoning Request and Special Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Richardson Development Services | $500–$2,500 per application, by type | per application | 2026-08-27 |
| Industrial Pre-Treatment Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Richardson Public Services | $1,089 per month, per outfall | monthly | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Richardson
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Richardson?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a auto repair shop in Richardson, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $200.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire Code Operational Permit: $50–$100 per permit, then annual renewal
Zoning Request and Special Permit: $500–$2,500 per application, by type
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Richardson permits page and the TX state page.
Is Richardson expensive for a auto repair shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Richardson sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Richardson charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.
Contractor Registration: Richardson charges $100. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Allen to $100 here, with a median of $100. 2 charge less and 3 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Richardson?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Richardson, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Richardson Building Inspection Division, Community Services Department, City of Richardson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, City of Richardson Public Services, City of Richardson Development Services, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Richardson Building Inspection Division, Community Services DepartmentIssues 7 permits on this page, including Commercial Building Permit, Commercial Electrical Installation Permit, Interior Finish and Alteration Permit411 W Arapaho Road, Richardson, TX 75080www.cor.net/departments/building-inspection
- City of Richardson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Protection System Construction Permit, Fire Code Operational Permit300 N Greenville Avenue, Richardson, TX 75081www.cor.net/departments/fire-department
- City of Richardson Public ServicesIssues 3 permits on this page: Waste Hauler Permit, Grease Trap and Waste Interceptor Inspection, Industrial Pre-Treatment Permit1260 Columbia Drive, Richardson, TX 75081www.cor.net
- City of Richardson Development ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Zoning Request and Special Permit2360 Campbell Creek Boulevard, Suite 525, Richardson, TX 75082www.cor.net/departments/development-services
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a auto repair shop need in Richardson that other businesses do not?
Industrial Pre-Treatment Permit
$1,089 A MONTH per outfall — by a very wide margin the largest recurring permit charge in this dataset, and roughly $13,000 a year for a single discharge point. It applies to industrial users under the city's pre-treatment programme rather than to ordinary commercial premises, but a plating shop, a laundry or a manufacturing process discharging to sewer should establish early whether it is caught, because nothing else on Richardson's schedule comes close to this in annual cost.
Shared with other businesses in Richardson
- Waste Hauler Permit — City of Richardson Public Services, $150 per truck, per year, 1 year. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Grease Trap and Waste Interceptor Inspection — City of Richardson Public Services, $50 per inspection, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Contractor Registration — City of Richardson Building Inspection Division, Community Services Department, $100 per registration or renewal, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for contractors and trades, restaurants, retail stores and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Fire Code Operational Permit — City of Richardson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $50–$100 per permit, then annual renewal, 1 year. Also required for coffee shops, contractors and trades, fitness studios, restaurants, retail stores and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Zoning Request and Special Permit — City of Richardson Development Services, $500–$2,500 per application, by type, per application. Also required for restaurants, childcare centres, veterinary clinics, fitness studios and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Richardson, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Richardson permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Richardson?
The closest match is a contractor or trade, which shares 4 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Grease Trap and Waste Interceptor Inspection and Zoning Request and Special Permit. A contractor or trade needs Electrical Contractor License, which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractors and trades | 5 | 4 | 2 | 1 |
| Restaurants | 11 | 5 | 1 | 6 |
| Retail stores | 10 | 4 | 2 | 6 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 4 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 8 | 3 | 3 | 5 |
| Fitness studios | 4 | 2 | 4 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 5 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 0 | 6 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page, restaurants page and contractors and trades page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Richardson permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Richardson Code of Ordinances, Appendix B — Master Fee Schedule (adopted by Ord. No. 4559, § 2, 15 September 2025; amended by Ord. No. 4560, § 1, 13 October 2025)City of Richardson · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-27
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
