13 permits · verified 2026-08-27
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Rowlett?
In short
A auto repair shop in Rowlett, TX has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Rowlett Health and Code Services charges $50 per year for the grease trap and interceptor inspection. 5 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Rowlett
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grease Trap and Interceptor Inspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $50 per year | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Fire Permit for Garages Repairing Motor Vehicles | City of Rowlett Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal | $50–$100 initial, then renewal | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Liquid Waste Hauler Permit | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $150 per permit | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Contractor Registration | City of Rowlett Building Safety | $100 per registration | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Repair Shop License | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $75 per license | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Rowlett
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Rowlett page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Rowlett page | up to 6 months for the annual temporary sign plan | 2026-08-27 |
| Annual Business Fire Prevention Inspection | City of Rowlett Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal | No fee — initial inspection | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Rowlett page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Commercial Trade and Miscellaneous Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Rowlett page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Rowlett?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a auto repair shop in Rowlett, TX, 8 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 8 that always apply, 5 carry a flat fee, coming to $325.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire Permit for Garages Repairing Motor Vehicles: $50–$100 initial, then renewal
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Rowlett permits page and the TX state page.
Is Rowlett expensive for a auto repair shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Rowlett sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Contractor Registration: Rowlett charges $100. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Allen to $100 in Richardson, with a median of $100. 2 charge less and 3 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Contractor Registration varies by $50 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Rowlett?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Rowlett, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Rowlett Health and Code Services, City of Rowlett Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal, City of Rowlett Building Safety, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Rowlett Health and Code ServicesIssues 3 permits on this page: Grease Trap and Interceptor Inspection, Liquid Waste Hauler Permit, Repair Shop License4000 Main Street, Rowlett, TX 75088www.rowletttx.gov/163/Permits-and-Licenses
- City of Rowlett Fire Rescue, Fire MarshalIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Permit for Garages Repairing Motor Vehicles, Annual Business Fire Prevention Inspection4000 Main Street, Rowlett, TX 75088www.rowletttx.gov
- City of Rowlett Building SafetyIssues 5 permits on this page, including Commercial Building Permit, Sign Permit, Contractor Registration4000 Main Street, Rowlett, TX 75088 · (972) 412-6125www.rowletttx.gov/101/Building-Inspections
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a auto repair shop need in Rowlett that other businesses do not?
2 of the 5 permits particular to a auto repair shop here apply to no other business type we cover in Rowlett: Fire Permit for Garages Repairing Motor Vehicles and Repair Shop License.
Fire Permit for Garages Repairing Motor Vehicles
$100 to obtain and $50 to renew, and it is one of a long list of International Fire Code operational permits Rowlett prices the same way — cutting and welding, flammable liquid handling, hazardous materials, hot work, junkyards, lumberyards and high-piled storage all sit at $100 and $50 alongside it. A repair garage frequently needs more than one: the garage permit itself, plus cutting and welding if there is a torch on site, plus flammable liquid handling for solvent and waste oil. Each is a separate $100.
Repair Shop License
$75 for a repair shop license, with a duplicate at $2. Very few Texas cities in this dataset license vehicle repair as its own trade rather than treating it as an ordinary commercial use, and Rowlett is one of them — so a garage opening here has a license to obtain that its neighbours in Garland or Mesquite do not. The schedule does not state a renewal period; confirm the term with the city rather than assuming it runs with the calendar year.
Shared with other businesses in Rowlett
- Grease Trap and Interceptor Inspection — City of Rowlett Health and Code Services, $50 per year, 1 year. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Liquid Waste Hauler Permit — City of Rowlett Health and Code Services, $150 per permit, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Contractor Registration — City of Rowlett Building Safety, $100 per registration, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for contractors and trades, restaurants, retail stores and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Rowlett, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Rowlett permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Rowlett?
The closest match is a contractor or trade, which shares 2 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Grease Trap and Interceptor Inspection, Fire Permit for Garages Repairing Motor Vehicles and Repair Shop License. A contractor or trade needs Electrical Contractor License, which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 2 | 3 | 1 |
| Restaurants | 8 | 3 | 2 | 5 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 4 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 1 | 4 | 3 |
| Retail stores | 4 | 1 | 4 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 5 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 0 | 5 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 0 | 5 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 5 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, contractors and trades page and salons and barbers page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Rowlett permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Rowlett Master Fee Schedule, 36 pages, approved as Resolution No. RES-26-05-42R on 19 May 2026City of Rowlett · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-27
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
