13 permits · verified 2026-08-27
What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Richardson?
In short
A contractor or trade in Richardson, TX has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Richardson Building Inspection Division, Community Services Department charges $150 minimum fee, commercial for the commercial electrical installation permit. 5 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a contractor or trade in Richardson
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Waste Hauler Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Richardson Public Services | $150 per truck, per year | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Contractor Registration | City of Richardson Building Inspection Division, Community Services Department | $100 per registration or renewal | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Fire Code Operational Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Richardson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | $50–$100 per permit, then annual renewal | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Industrial Pre-Treatment Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Richardson Public Services | $1,089 per month, per outfall | monthly | 2026-08-27 |
| Electrical Contractor Licenseonly if it applies to you | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | $110 non-refundable application | annual | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Richardson
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Richardson Building Inspection Division, Community Services Department | Varies — formula on the Richardson page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Commercial Electrical Installation Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Richardson Building Inspection Division, Community Services Department | $150 minimum fee, commercial | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Fire Protection System Construction Permit | City of Richardson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Richardson page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Interior Finish and Alteration Permit | City of Richardson Building Inspection Division, Community Services Department | Varies — formula on the Richardson page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Richardson Building Inspection Division, Community Services Department | $100 per certificate, waived with a building permit | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Miscellaneous Commercial Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Richardson Building Inspection Division, Community Services Department | Varies — formula on the Richardson page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Richardson?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a contractor or trade in Richardson, TX, 5 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $200.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire Code Operational Permit: $50–$100 per permit, then annual renewal
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Richardson permits page and the TX state page.
Is Richardson expensive for a contractor or trade?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Richardson sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Richardson charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.
Contractor Registration: Richardson charges $100. Across 7 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Allen to $100 here, with a median of $100. 3 charge less and 3 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Richardson?
Permits for a contractor or trade in Richardson, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Richardson Building Inspection Division, Community Services Department, City of Richardson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, City of Richardson Public Services, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Richardson Building Inspection Division, Community Services DepartmentIssues 6 permits on this page, including Commercial Building Permit, Commercial Electrical Installation Permit, Interior Finish and Alteration Permit411 W Arapaho Road, Richardson, TX 75080www.cor.net/departments/building-inspection
- City of Richardson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Protection System Construction Permit, Fire Code Operational Permit300 N Greenville Avenue, Richardson, TX 75081www.cor.net/departments/fire-department
- City of Richardson Public ServicesIssues 2 permits on this page: Waste Hauler Permit, Industrial Pre-Treatment Permit1260 Columbia Drive, Richardson, TX 75081www.cor.net
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Electrical Contractor License(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
What does a contractor or trade need in Richardson that other businesses do not?
1 of the 5 permits particular to a contractor or trade here applies to no other business type we cover in Richardson: Electrical Contractor License.
Contractor Registration
$100, unchanged since 2015, and codification settled a question the old PDF left open: section 6-116 calls it a Contractor Registration AND RENEWAL fee, so the same $100 covers both. It is a single line with no trade breakdown, unlike Irving at $125 per trade or Converse at $100 initial and $75 to renew.
Electrical Contractor License
Texas licenses no general contractor - there is no statewide builder license. Individual trades are licensed instead: electrical, plumbing and HVAC, each under its own programme. The $110 is the application fee. Published renewal figures conflict between $110 and $165 depending on license subtype, so no renewal amount is recorded until a reviewer confirms which applies.
Shared with other businesses in Richardson
- Waste Hauler Permit — City of Richardson Public Services, $150 per truck, per year, 1 year. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and auto repair shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Fire Code Operational Permit — City of Richardson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $50–$100 per permit, then annual renewal, 1 year. Also required for auto repair shops, coffee shops, fitness studios, restaurants, retail stores and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Industrial Pre-Treatment Permit — City of Richardson Public Services, $1,089 per month, per outfall, monthly. Also required for auto repair shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Richardson, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Richardson permits page. The 2 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in Richardson?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 4 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs Electrical Contractor License. A auto repair shop needs Grease Trap and Waste Interceptor Inspection and Zoning Request and Special Permit, which a contractor or trade does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a contractor or trade | Only a contractor or trade needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 6 | 4 | 1 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 3 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 10 | 3 | 2 | 7 |
| Restaurants | 11 | 3 | 2 | 8 |
| Coffee shops | 8 | 2 | 3 | 6 |
| Fitness studios | 4 | 1 | 4 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 5 | 3 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 0 | 5 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 0 | 5 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page, restaurants page and auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Richardson permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Richardson Code of Ordinances, Appendix B — Master Fee Schedule (adopted by Ord. No. 4559, § 2, 15 September 2025; amended by Ord. No. 4560, § 1, 13 October 2025)City of Richardson · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-27
- City of Richardson Community Services Department Building Permit Fee Schedule, effective 1 October 2015City of Richardson Community Services Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-26
- Apply for a New Electrical Contractor License - TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
