Commercial Compliance Hub

7 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Pearland?

In short

A auto repair shop in Pearland, TX has 1 permit that applies to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Pearland Public Works, Utility Billing charges $100 per year for the containment trap and interceptor fee. 1 of the 7 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Pearland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Emergency Tow Truck Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pearland Health Department$100–$200 first or additional trucknot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Containment Trap and Interceptor Feeonly if it applies to youCity of Pearland Public Works, Utility Billing$100 per year1 year2026-08-24
International Fire Code Operational Permitonly if it applies to youPearland Fire Marshal's Office$150 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Backflow Prevention Assembly Registrationonly if it applies to youCity of Pearland Public Works, Utility Billing$100 per year1 year2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Pearland?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 7 records listed for a auto repair shop in Pearland, TX, 1 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 1 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $0.00. That is a floor, not a total. 1 of the 7 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Emergency Tow Truck Permit: $100–$200 first or additional truck

Which offices issue these permits in Pearland?

Permits for a auto repair shop in Pearland, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Pearland Health Department, City of Pearland Public Works, Utility Billing, Pearland Fire Marshal's Office, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a auto repair shop need in Pearland that other businesses do not?

Emergency Tow Truck Permit

$200 for the first tow truck and $100 for each additional one, issued through the Police Department section of the schedule. A five-truck operation therefore pays $600. Separate from the state licensing a tow operator holds from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation.

Containment Trap and Interceptor Fee

$100 a year, and the ordinance is deliberately broad about what it covers — "including but not limited to grease, grit, grass, oil, lint, and other contaminants". So this is not only a restaurant charge: a laundry with a lint trap and a workshop with an oil interceptor fall under the same line.

International Fire Code Operational Permit

$150 for an IFC operational permit. Pearland prices its fire inspections individually rather than bundling them into one annual certificate, so the total depends on how many apply to your premises: access control $100, hot work $75, spray booth $75, combustible high pile storage $150, commercial cooking $150 and child daycare facility $100. A reinspection is $75. Work out which of these your operation triggers before budgeting a single line for fire.

Shared with other businesses in Pearland

  • Backflow Prevention Assembly Registration — City of Pearland Public Works, Utility Billing, $100 per year, 1 year. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Pearland?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 2 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Emergency Tow Truck Permit and Containment Trap and Interceptor Fee. A fitness studio needs Health Spa Certificate of Registration, which a auto repair shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Pearland, TX, compared with a auto repair shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a auto repair shopOnly a auto repair shop needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios3221
Restaurants7314
Coffee shops5223
Contractors and trades5223
Retail stores7225
Veterinary clinics2131
Childcare centres2042
Food trucks3043

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Pearland permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Pearland Ordinance No. 1358-33, Exhibit A Fee Schedule, passed on second and final reading 22 June 2026City of Pearland, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.