13 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in San Antonio?
In short
A auto repair shop in San Antonio, TX has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of San Antonio Development Services Department charges $350 new application, including letter for the non-conforming use registration. 5 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in San Antonio
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Non-Conforming Use Registrationonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $350 new application, including letter | one year; annual renewal is $150 including the letter | 2026-08-24 |
| On-Premises Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $10.80 up to 32 sq ft of sign area, then $10.80 plus $0.22 per sq ft above 32; plus a height fee of $2.00 per foot of height | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Changeonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $795–$5,930 by site acreage | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $350 per letter | one-time, per letter | 2026-08-24 |
| Conditional Use Authorisationonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $300 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in San Antonio
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the San Antonio page | a plan review extension costs 25% of the plan review fee | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the San Antonio page | an extension costs 50% of the permit, in addition to the permit cost | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Trade Permit — Mechanical, Electrical and Plumbing | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the San Antonio page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Certificate of Occupancy | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $200 per certificate | does not expire, but an expired certificate carries a $500 fine plus the certificate fee | 2026-08-24 |
| Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $50 per re-inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in San Antonio?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a auto repair shop in San Antonio, TX, 5 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $200.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
On-Premises Sign Permit: $10.80 up to 32 sq ft of sign area, then $10.80 plus $0.22 per sq ft above 32; plus a height fee of $2.00 per foot of height
Zoning Change: $795–$5,930 by site acreage
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the San Antonio permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in San Antonio?
Permits for a auto repair shop in San Antonio, TX come from 3 separate offices: City of San Antonio Development Services Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of San Antonio Development Services DepartmentIssues 10 permits on this page, including Non-Conforming Use Registration, Commercial Plan Review, Commercial Building Permit(210) 207-1111www.sa.gov/Directory/Departments/DSD/Resources/Fees
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a auto repair shop need in San Antonio that other businesses do not?
On-Premises Sign Permit
The cheapest sign permit in this dataset by a wide margin — a 30 sq ft wall sign at ground level is $10.80, against $150 in Waco and Frisco and a $200 minimum in Abilene. The height fee is what adds up: $2.00 per foot. Electrical signs carry an inspection fee on top — $10.80 for gas tube, electric or LED, and $5.40 plus $0.22 a socket for an incandescent sign. The on-premises sign permits inspection fee is $50 and sign plan review $50 per permit. Eligible for the city Fee Waiver Programme.
Conditional Use Authorisation
$300 for a conditional use, against $500 for a specific use authorisation and $700 for a master plan community district fee. Notably cheap next to Arlington's $2,400 specific use permit — San Antonio prices the use approval far below the rezoning it sits alongside.
Shared with other businesses in San Antonio
- Non-Conforming Use Registration — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $350 new application, including letter, one year; annual renewal is $150 including the letter. Also required for restaurants, retail stores and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Zoning Change — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $795–$5,930 by site acreage, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Zoning Verification Letter — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $350 per letter, one-time, per letter. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, childcare centres, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in San Antonio, TX; what each one involves is set out on the San Antonio permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in San Antonio?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 5 of these permits. A fitness studio needs Coin-Operated Amusement Machine Decal, Building and Fire Code Appeal, Landscape Plan Review and 2 more, which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 10 | 5 | 0 | 5 |
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 3 | 2 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 3 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 2 | 3 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 19 | 5 | 0 | 14 |
| Retail stores | 21 | 5 | 0 | 16 |
| Coffee shops | 7 | 1 | 4 | 6 |
| Contractors and trades | 9 | 1 | 4 | 8 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 0 | 5 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, retail stores page and veterinary clinics page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the San Antonio permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Development Fee Schedule, rev. October 2025City of San Antonio Development Services Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
