6 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Pearland?
In short
A fitness studio in Pearland, TX has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Pearland Fire Marshal's Office charges $150 per permit for the international fire code operational permit. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a fitness studio in Pearland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| International Fire Code Operational Permitonly if it applies to you | Pearland Fire Marshal's Office | $150 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Backflow Prevention Assembly Registrationonly if it applies to you | City of Pearland Public Works, Utility Billing | $100 per year | 1 year | 2026-08-24 |
| Health Spa Certificate of Registration | Texas Secretary of State | $100 per location, per year | annual | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Which offices issue these permits in Pearland?
Permits for a fitness studio in Pearland, TX come from 4 separate offices: Pearland Fire Marshal's Office, City of Pearland Public Works, Utility Billing, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Pearland Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: International Fire Code Operational Permit2703 Veterans Drive, Pearland, TX 77584www.pearlandtx.gov/departments/fire-marshal
- City of Pearland Public Works, Utility BillingIssues 1 permit on this page: Backflow Prevention Assembly Registration3519 Liberty Drive, Pearland, TX 77581www.pearlandtx.gov/departments/public-works
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 3 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA), Health Spa Certificate of Registrationwww.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a fitness studio need in Pearland that other businesses do not?
1 of the 3 permits particular to a fitness studio here applies to no other business type we cover in Pearland: Health Spa Certificate of Registration.
Health Spa Certificate of Registration
Texas law is direct about this: a person may not operate a health spa, or sell a health spa membership, without a certificate of registration. A health spa is defined as a business selling memberships that provide instruction in, or use of facilities for, a physical exercise programme — so an ordinary gym or studio selling memberships is inside the definition. Each location needs its own certificate and the fee is $100, original or renewal, effective for one year. The fee is rarely the real cost. Security must be provided for each location, and the amount is set by the total amount paid for PREPAID memberships at that location, not by how many members you have: $20,000 of security up to $20,000 of prepaid memberships, then $25,000, $30,000, $35,000, $40,000 and $45,000 in steps, reaching $50,000 once prepaid memberships pass $45,000. Two exemptions matter and are worth checking before you post a bond. A facility that does not require memberships longer than 31 days, does not charge an initiation fee and does not take recurring debits can be exempt. So can an established operator with more than $50,000 in assets per location, at least five years of stable ownership and no closure-related complaints, applying on Form 3006. Separately exempt from registration altogether: tax-exempt organisations, member-owned private clubs, businesses teaching only dance or aerobics, those providing only physical rehabilitation, entities operating under a state license, and school activities under the Education Code.
Shared with other businesses in Pearland
- International Fire Code Operational Permit — Pearland Fire Marshal's Office, $150 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
- Backflow Prevention Assembly Registration — City of Pearland Public Works, Utility Billing, $100 per year, 1 year. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Pearland?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 2 of these permits. A fitness studio also needs Health Spa Certificate of Registration. A auto repair shop needs Emergency Tow Truck Permit and Containment Trap and Interceptor Fee, which a fitness studio does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a fitness studio | Only a fitness studio needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 2 | 1 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 7 | 2 | 1 | 5 |
| Retail stores | 7 | 2 | 1 | 5 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 1 | 2 | 4 |
| Contractors and trades | 5 | 1 | 2 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the auto repair shops page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Pearland permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Frequently Asked Questions for Health Spas — Texas Secretary of StateTexas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
