16 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Pasadena?
In short
A fitness studio in Pasadena, TX has 11 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office charges $100 per year, renewal $50 for the commercial fire alarm permit. 7 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a fitness studio in Pasadena
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit — Assembly Occupancy | City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office | $250–$500 per year, by occupant load | one year, renewed annually | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office | $100 per year, renewal $50 | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Electrical Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Pasadena Permit Department | $40–$75 per circuit, by sign type | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Certificate of Occupancy or Letter of Completiononly if it applies to you | City of Pasadena Permit Department | $50 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Swimming Pool License | City of Pasadena Public Health Department | $100 per year | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Health Spa Certificate of Registration | Texas Secretary of State | $100 per location, per year | annual | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Pasadena
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Electrical Service Permit | City of Pasadena Permit Department | Varies — formula on the Pasadena page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Annual Fire and Life Safety Inspection | City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Pasadena page | annual | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy — Change of Use or Occupancy | City of Pasadena Permit Department | $150 per application, covering the inspections | does not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use or occupancy | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy Issued With a Building Permit | City of Pasadena Permit Department | $50 added to the permit and plan review fees | does not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use or occupancy | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Plan Review — Building | City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Pasadena page | one-time, per review | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Plan Review Fee | City of Pasadena Permit Department | Varies — formula on the Pasadena page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Pasadena Permit Department | Varies — formula on the Pasadena page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Pasadena?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a fitness studio in Pasadena, TX, 11 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 11 that always apply, 5 carry a flat fee, coming to $400.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit — Assembly Occupancy: $250–$500 per year, by occupant load
Electrical Sign Permit: $40–$75 per circuit, by sign type
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Pasadena permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Pasadena?
Permits for a fitness studio in Pasadena, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Pasadena Permit Department, City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office, City of Pasadena Public Health Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Pasadena Permit DepartmentIssues 7 permits on this page, including Commercial Electrical Service Permit, Certificate of Occupancy — Change of Use or Occupancy, Certificate of Occupancy Issued With a Building Permit(713) 475-5575www.pasadenatx.gov/399/Permits-Licenses
- City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 4 permits on this page: Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit — Assembly Occupancy, Annual Fire and Life Safety Inspection, Commercial Fire Alarm Permit, Fire Plan Review — Building209 N. Main, Pasadena, TX 77506 · 713-475-5556www.pasadenatx.gov/588/Fire-Marshals-Office
- City of Pasadena Public Health DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Swimming Pool License1149 Ellsworth Drive, Pasadena, TX 77506 · 713-475-5529www.pasadenatx.gov/315/Health
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 3 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA), Health Spa Certificate of Registrationwww.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a fitness studio need in Pasadena that other businesses do not?
1 of the 6 permits particular to a fitness studio here applies to no other business type we cover in Pasadena: Health Spa Certificate of Registration.
Temporary Certificate of Occupancy or Letter of Completion
$50, issued only at the written request of the owner, applicant or general contractor. The letter of completion is the no-occupancy version of the same document. Notably cheap against Waco's $200 and Arlington's $150 for the equivalent.
Swimming Pool License
$100 a year for every non-private pool in the city limits. The director may exempt a governmental entity, religious organisation or charitable enterprise from the fee — an exemption from the fee, note, not from the license. The pool itself is permitted and built under the ordinary building permit, computed on the improved water surface area in square feet, with plan review fees applying to all pool projects and a $50 annual swimming pool contractor registration.
Health Spa Certificate of Registration
Texas law is direct about this: a person may not operate a health spa, or sell a health spa membership, without a certificate of registration. A health spa is defined as a business selling memberships that provide instruction in, or use of facilities for, a physical exercise programme — so an ordinary gym or studio selling memberships is inside the definition. Each location needs its own certificate and the fee is $100, original or renewal, effective for one year. The fee is rarely the real cost. Security must be provided for each location, and the amount is set by the total amount paid for PREPAID memberships at that location, not by how many members you have: $20,000 of security up to $20,000 of prepaid memberships, then $25,000, $30,000, $35,000, $40,000 and $45,000 in steps, reaching $50,000 once prepaid memberships pass $45,000. Two exemptions matter and are worth checking before you post a bond. A facility that does not require memberships longer than 31 days, does not charge an initiation fee and does not take recurring debits can be exempt. So can an established operator with more than $50,000 in assets per location, at least five years of stable ownership and no closure-related complaints, applying on Form 3006. Separately exempt from registration altogether: tax-exempt organisations, member-owned private clubs, businesses teaching only dance or aerobics, those providing only physical rehabilitation, entities operating under a state license, and school activities under the Education Code.
Shared with other businesses in Pasadena
- Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit — Assembly Occupancy — City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office, $250–$500 per year, by occupant load, one year, renewed annually. Also required for restaurants, retail stores and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Commercial Fire Alarm Permit — City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office, $100 per year, renewal $50, one year. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
- Electrical Sign Permit — City of Pasadena Permit Department, $40–$75 per circuit, by sign type, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Pasadena, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Pasadena permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Pasadena?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 4 of these permits. A fitness studio also needs Swimming Pool License and Health Spa Certificate of Registration. A coffee shop needs Liquid Waste Transporter Permit, Food Establishment Permit, Temporary Utility Release and 3 more, which a fitness studio does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a fitness studio | Only a fitness studio needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 10 | 4 | 2 | 6 |
| Retail stores | 16 | 5 | 1 | 11 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 2 | 4 | 1 |
| Restaurants | 14 | 4 | 2 | 10 |
| Auto repair shops | 7 | 2 | 4 | 5 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 5 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 8 | 0 | 6 | 8 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 6 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and veterinary clinics page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Pasadena permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Fee Schedule — building, electrical, mechanical and plumbing permit feesCity of Pasadena Permit Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Miscellaneous Health PermitsCity of Pasadena Public Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Frequently Asked Questions for Health Spas — Texas Secretary of StateTexas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
