Commercial Compliance Hub

17 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Pasadena?

In short

A auto repair shop in Pasadena, TX has 9 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office charges $100 per year, renewal $50 for the commercial fire alarm permit. 7 of the 17 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Pasadena

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Liquid Waste Transporter Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Public Health DepartmentNo feenot stated in the published material2026-08-24
Used Tire Generator PermitCity of Pasadena Public Health DepartmentNo feenot stated in the published material2026-08-24
Commercial Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office$100 per year, renewal $50one year2026-08-24
Electrical Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Permit Department$40–$75 per circuit, by sign typenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Fence Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Permit Department$100 per 1,000 linear feet or part thereof, plus the application fee; storage lot fences $100 per 500 linear feetnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Paving and Parking Repair Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Permit Department$60 minimum, per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Roofing Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Permit Department$50 per structure, plus the $10 application feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Pasadena

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Electrical Service PermitCity of Pasadena Permit DepartmentVaries — formula on the Pasadena pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Annual Fire and Life Safety InspectionCity of Pasadena Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Pasadena pageannual2026-08-24
Certificate of Occupancy — Change of Use or OccupancyCity of Pasadena Permit Department$150 per application, covering the inspectionsdoes not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use or occupancy2026-08-24
Certificate of Occupancy Issued With a Building PermitCity of Pasadena Permit Department$50 added to the permit and plan review feesdoes not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use or occupancy2026-08-24
Fire Plan Review — BuildingCity of Pasadena Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Pasadena pageone-time, per review2026-08-24
Commercial Plan Review FeeCity of Pasadena Permit DepartmentVaries — formula on the Pasadena pageone-time, per application2026-08-24
Commercial Building PermitCity of Pasadena Permit DepartmentVaries — formula on the Pasadena pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Pasadena?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 17 records listed for a auto repair shop in Pasadena, TX, 9 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 9 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $200.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 17 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Electrical Sign Permit: $40–$75 per circuit, by sign type

Commercial Fence Permit: $100 per 1,000 linear feet or part thereof, plus the application fee; storage lot fences $100 per 500 linear feet

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Pasadena permits page and the TX state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Pasadena?

Permits for a auto repair shop in Pasadena, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Pasadena Permit Department, City of Pasadena Public Health Department, City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a auto repair shop need in Pasadena that other businesses do not?

1 of the 7 permits particular to a auto repair shop here applies to no other business type we cover in Pasadena: Used Tire Generator Permit.

Used Tire Generator Permit

It is unlawful to be a used tire generator in Pasadena without a current permit from the director of public health. Any tyre shop, and most general auto repair businesses, generate used tyres — so this reaches further than the name suggests. Junkyards and automobile wrecking yards are licensed separately under Sec. 17-30, and the fire marshal charges its own annual $150 operational permit for an auto wrecking yard on top. The health department publishes no fee for either permit.

Commercial Roofing Permit

$50 per structure plus the standard $10 application, for overlay or replacement in like materials with minor decking and structural work. A permit is required once repairs exceed 25% of each roof. Where the roof is being altered or structurally modified the arithmetic changes sharply: engineered drawings are required, plan review is $50 and the building permit itself will not be less than $250. Wood shingle, shake and other combustible roofing is prohibited outright except for minor repairs to existing single-family homes.

Shared with other businesses in Pasadena

  • Liquid Waste Transporter Permit — City of Pasadena Public Health Department, No fee, not stated in the published material. Also required for coffee shops, contractors and trades and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
  • Commercial Fire Alarm Permit — City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office, $100 per year, renewal $50, one year. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, veterinary clinics and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
  • Electrical Sign Permit — City of Pasadena Permit Department, $40–$75 per circuit, by sign type, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers, fitness studios and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
  • Commercial Fence Permit — City of Pasadena Permit Department, $100 per 1,000 linear feet or part thereof, plus the application fee; storage lot fences $100 per 500 linear feet, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Paving and Parking Repair Permit — City of Pasadena Permit Department, $60 minimum, per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, restaurants and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Pasadena, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Pasadena permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Pasadena?

The closest match is a contractor or trade, which shares 4 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Used Tire Generator Permit, Commercial Fire Alarm Permit and Electrical Sign Permit. A contractor or trade needs Commercial Demolition Permit, High Pile Storage Permit, Annual Building Contractor Registration and Electrical Contractor License, which a auto repair shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Pasadena, TX, compared with a auto repair shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a auto repair shopOnly a auto repair shop needsOnly it needs
Contractors and trades8434
Restaurants14529
Retail stores165211
Veterinary clinics3251
Coffee shops10347
Fitness studios6254
Salons and barbers2161
Childcare centres3162
Food trucks3073

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the contractors and trades page, veterinary clinics page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Pasadena permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Miscellaneous Health PermitsCity of Pasadena Public Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  2. Fee Schedule — building, electrical, mechanical and plumbing permit feesCity of Pasadena Permit Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.