7 permits · verified 2026-08-25
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Net Health?
In short
A retail store in Net Health, TX has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health) charges $150 per inspection for the food establishment re-inspection fee. 3 of the 7 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Net Health
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Farmers Market Vendor Permitonly if it applies to you | Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health) | $25–$100 per year, by risk band | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Establishment Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health) | $150 per inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-25 |
| Retail Food Establishment Permit | Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health) | $345–$773 per year, by risk band | 1 year, prorated on first issue | 2026-08-25 |
| Retail Food Establishment Plan Review | Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health) | $175–$600 per review, by floor area | per review | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Net Health?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 7 records listed for a retail store in Net Health, TX, 3 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 3 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $0.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 7 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Farmers Market Vendor Permit: $25–$100 per year, by risk band
Retail Food Establishment Permit: $345–$773 per year, by risk band
Retail Food Establishment Plan Review: $175–$600 per review, by floor area
Which offices issue these permits in Net Health?
Permits for a retail store in Net Health, TX come from 3 separate offices: Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health), Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health)Issues 4 permits on this page: Farmers Market Vendor Permit, Food Establishment Re-inspection Fee, Retail Food Establishment Permit, Retail Food Establishment Plan Review815 N Broadway Avenue, Tyler, TX 75702www.netphd.org
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a retail store need in Net Health that other businesses do not?
Food Establishment Re-inspection Fee
$150, and the same $150 for a re-instatement inspection or an inspection you request yourself. Sitting alongside these are administrative penalties graded across five levels from $100 to $500 — a separate ladder from the inspection fees, and the schedule does not say what conduct sits at each level, so ask the district before assuming a first offence lands at Level 1.
Shared with other businesses in Net Health
- Farmers Market Vendor Permit — Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health), $25–$100 per year, by risk band, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Retail Food Establishment Permit — Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health), $345–$773 per year, by risk band, 1 year, prorated on first issue. Also required for coffee shops and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Retail Food Establishment Plan Review — Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health), $175–$600 per review, by floor area, per review. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Net Health?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 4 of these permits. A restaurant needs Temporary Food Vendor Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 6 | 4 | 0 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 3 | 1 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Net Health permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- NET Health Retail Food Permit Fee Schedule, Exhibit A, dated 25 September 2025 and effective 1 September 2025 (filed with Texas DSHS 29 September 2025)Northeast Texas Public Health District, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
