15 permits · verified 2026-08-25
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in New Braunfels?
In short
A coffee shop in New Braunfels, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of New Braunfels Building Division charges $150 per permit for the new occupant permit. 8 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in New Braunfels
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | City of New Braunfels Health Division | $25–$150 single, multiple event or sampler | per event, or up to 6 events a year | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Establishment Plan Review | City of New Braunfels Health Division | one-half of the full-year annual food establishment permit fee for the applicable permit type | one-time | 2026-08-25 |
| Frozen Dessert Manufacturer Permitonly if it applies to you | City of New Braunfels Health Division | $50–$200 permanent or temporary retail | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Handler Card | City of New Braunfels Health Division | $15 per card | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Establishment Permit | City of New Braunfels Health Division | $258–$773 per year, by employee count | 1 year | 2026-08-25 |
| Farmers Market and Mobile Food Court Permitonly if it applies to you | City of New Braunfels Health Division | $100–$150 per year, by venue type | 1 year | 2026-08-25 |
| Health Inspection Request and Reinspectiononly if it applies to you | City of New Braunfels Health Division | $150 per inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in New Braunfels
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Occupant Permit | City of New Braunfels Building Division | $150 per permit | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of New Braunfels Building Division | Varies — formula on the New Braunfels page | per permit | 2026-08-25 |
| Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical and Fuel Gas Permitonly if it applies to you | City of New Braunfels Building Division | $100 commercial permit application fee | per permit | 2026-08-25 |
| Fire Sprinkler and Fire Alarm System Permit | City of New Braunfels Fire Department, Fire Marshal | Varies — formula on the New Braunfels page | per permit | 2026-08-25 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of New Braunfels Planning and Development Services | Varies — formula on the New Braunfels page | per permit | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in New Braunfels?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a coffee shop in New Braunfels, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $165.00. That is a floor, not a total. 8 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Temporary Food Establishment Permit: $25–$150 single, multiple event or sampler
Food Establishment Plan Review: one-half of the full-year annual food establishment permit fee for the applicable permit type
Frozen Dessert Manufacturer Permit: $50–$200 permanent or temporary retail
Food Establishment Permit: $258–$773 per year, by employee count
Farmers Market and Mobile Food Court Permit: $100–$150 per year, by venue type
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the New Braunfels permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in New Braunfels?
Permits for a coffee shop in New Braunfels, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of New Braunfels Health Division, City of New Braunfels Building Division, City of New Braunfels Fire Department, Fire Marshal, City of New Braunfels Planning and Development Services, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of New Braunfels Health DivisionIssues 7 permits on this page, including Temporary Food Establishment Permit, Food Establishment Plan Review, Frozen Dessert Manufacturer Permit550 Landa Street, New Braunfels, TX 78130www.newbraunfels.gov
- City of New Braunfels Building DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: New Occupant Permit, Commercial Building Permit, Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical and Fuel Gas Permit550 Landa Street, New Braunfels, TX 78130newbraunfels.gov/3433/Building-Permits
- City of New Braunfels Fire Department, Fire MarshalIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Sprinkler and Fire Alarm System Permit550 Landa Street, New Braunfels, TX 78130newbraunfels.gov
- City of New Braunfels Planning and Development ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Sign Permit550 Landa Street, New Braunfels, TX 78130www.newbraunfels.gov/4134/Development-Services
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a coffee shop need in New Braunfels that other businesses do not?
Temporary Food Establishment Permit
$52 for a single temporary establishment, or $150 for a multiple-event permit covering up to six events a year — the crossover is three events. A sampler permit for time and temperature controlled food is $25 for a single event or $75 for six. Non-profits pay nothing for either the single or the multiple-event permit. A farmers market permit is $100.
Frozen Dessert Manufacturer Permit
$200 for a frozen dessert manufacturer and $50 for a temporary retail one, with reinstatement after a lapse at $100. Very few Texas cities in this dataset license frozen dessert manufacture as its own category — most fold it into the general food permit — so an ice cream or gelato producer here needs a permit its competitors elsewhere would not.
Food Establishment Permit
Three types on employee count: Type 1 for 1 to 6 employees is $258, Type 2 for 7 to 14 is $515 and Type 3 for 15 or more is $773. Those are the DSHS figures, adopted because Senate Bill 1008 forbids a city charging more than the state would. Several categories sit outside the bands: a tavern $100, a grocery $250, a meat processor $100 and a school kitchen operated by a private company $250. Non-profits pay nothing whatever their headcount, and neither do state-licensed adult or childcare facilities. An application submitted after 1 January attracts a $100 late fee per permit type.
Farmers Market and Mobile Food Court Permit
$100 for a farmers market and $150 for a mobile food court — the permit belongs to the venue operator rather than to the traders in it. Worth settling who holds which before a stallholder assumes they are covered. A temporary food establishment permit is $52 for a single event or $150 for a multiple-event permit covering six events a year, and both are free for a non-profit.
Shared with other businesses in New Braunfels
- Food Establishment Plan Review — City of New Braunfels Health Division, one-half of the full-year annual food establishment permit fee for the applicable permit type, one-time. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Handler Card — City of New Braunfels Health Division, $15 per card, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Health Inspection Request and Reinspection — City of New Braunfels Health Division, $150 per inspection, per inspection. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in New Braunfels, TX; what each one involves is set out on the New Braunfels permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in New Braunfels?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 7 of these permits. A retail store needs Grocery and Tavern Food Permit and Special Use Permit, which a coffee shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 9 | 7 | 0 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 10 | 7 | 0 | 3 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 5 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 0 | 7 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 7 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 1 | 0 | 7 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 7 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 1 | 0 | 7 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 0 | 7 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, food trucks page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the New Braunfels permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of New Braunfels ordinance amending Appendix D Fee Schedule, Health and Food Safety (filed with Texas DSHS 9 September 2025)City of New Braunfels, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- City of New Braunfels food code changesCity of New Braunfels, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- City of New Braunfels Code of Ordinances Appendix D, Fee ScheduleCity of New Braunfels · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
