11 permits · verified 2026-10-09
What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Mesquite?
In short
A childcare centre in Mesquite, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection charges $150 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 5 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a childcare centre in Mesquite
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Day Care Health Permit | City of Mesquite Health Division | $200 per year | one year | 2026-10-09 |
| Child Care License | Texas Health and Human Services | $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity | annual | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Mesquite
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | Varies — formula on the Mesquite page | a movable sign permit is annual at $250 | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Addition, Alteration and Remodel Permit | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | Varies — formula on the Mesquite page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| New Commercial Building Permit | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | Varies — formula on the Mesquite page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Plan Review Processing Fee | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | Varies — formula on the Mesquite page | per review, including each revision | 2026-10-09 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $150 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $150 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Mesquite?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a childcare centre in Mesquite, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $350.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Child Care License: $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Mesquite permits page and the TX state page.
Is Mesquite expensive for a childcare centre?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Mesquite sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Mesquite charges $150. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 15 charge less, 5 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.
Demolition Permit: Mesquite charges $150. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 4 charge less and 1 charges more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Mesquite?
Permits for a childcare centre in Mesquite, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection, City of Mesquite Health Division, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Texas Health and Human Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building InspectionIssues 6 permits on this page, including Sign Permit, Commercial Addition, Alteration and Remodel Permit, New Commercial Building Permitwww.cityofmesquite.com/467/Permit-Fee-Schedule
- City of Mesquite Health DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Day Care Health Permit1515 N. Galloway Ave, Mesquite, TX 75149 · 972-216-8138www.cityofmesquite.com/569/Health-Division-Permits-Fees
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
- Texas Health and Human ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care Licensewww.hhs.texas.gov
What does a childcare centre need in Mesquite that other businesses do not?
2 of the 2 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Mesquite: Day Care Health Permit and Child Care License.
Day Care Health Permit
$200 a year, unchanged by Ordinance No. 5274, which renames it the Daycare Food Establishment Permit. It is its own permit line rather than a variant of the standard food establishment permit. A second or later food establishment re-inspection is $50 each.
Child Care License
Worked example: a centre licensed for 100 children pays $135 a year ($35 + $1 x 100). The annual fee falls on the anniversary of the date the initial license was issued, not on a calendar date.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Mesquite, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Mesquite permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Mesquite?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Day Care Health Permit and Child Care License. A auto repair shop needs Liquid Waste Hauler Permit, which a childcare centre does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a childcare centre | Only a childcare centre needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 5 | 0 | 2 | 5 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 7 | 0 | 2 | 7 |
| Retail stores | 8 | 0 | 2 | 8 |
| Salons and barbers | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Mesquite permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Mesquite Ordinance No. 5274 — amending Appendix D, Comprehensive Fee Schedule (adopted 21 September 2026, effective 1 October 2026), with Exhibit ACity of Mesquite · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- 5200, Fees — Child Care Regulation HandbookTexas Health and Human Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
