15 permits · verified 2026-10-09
What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Mesquite?
In short
A fitness studio in Mesquite, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection charges $150 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 4 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a fitness studio in Mesquite
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Irrigation System Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $180 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Public and Semi-Public Swimming Pool Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $200 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Public Pool and Spa Health Permit | City of Mesquite Health Division | $150 per pool or spa, per year | one year | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Amusement Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $125 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Health Spa Certificate of Registration | Texas Secretary of State | $100 per location, per year | annual | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Mesquite
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | Varies — formula on the Mesquite page | a movable sign permit is annual at $250 | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Addition, Alteration and Remodel Permit | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | Varies — formula on the Mesquite page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| New Commercial Building Permit | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | Varies — formula on the Mesquite page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Plan Review Processing Fee | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | Varies — formula on the Mesquite page | per review, including each revision | 2026-10-09 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $150 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Standalone Commercial Trade Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $100 per trade permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $150 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Mesquite?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a fitness studio in Mesquite, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $400.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all.
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Mesquite permits page and the TX state page.
Is Mesquite expensive for a fitness studio?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Mesquite sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Mesquite charges $150. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 15 charge less, 5 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.
Demolition Permit: Mesquite charges $150. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 4 charge less and 1 charges more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Mesquite?
Permits for a fitness studio in Mesquite, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection, City of Mesquite Health Division, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building InspectionIssues 10 permits on this page, including Sign Permit, Commercial Addition, Alteration and Remodel Permit, New Commercial Building Permitwww.cityofmesquite.com/467/Permit-Fee-Schedule
- City of Mesquite Health DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Public Pool and Spa Health Permit1515 N. Galloway Ave, Mesquite, TX 75149 · 972-216-8138www.cityofmesquite.com/569/Health-Division-Permits-Fees
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 3 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA), Health Spa Certificate of Registrationwww.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a fitness studio need in Mesquite that other businesses do not?
1 of the 5 permits particular to a fitness studio here applies to no other business type we cover in Mesquite: Health Spa Certificate of Registration.
Public Pool and Spa Health Permit
$150 for the permit to operate each public or semi-public pool or spa, so a hotel with a pool and a separate spa pays $300; unchanged by Ordinance No. 5274, which adds a $150 permit for splash pads with filtered and recirculated water systems. The late or re-inspection fee is $50, and certified pool operator registration $10. This operating permit is separate from, and additional to, the $200 construction permit for a public or semi-public pool under § 12-100.
Health Spa Certificate of Registration
Texas law is direct about this: a person may not operate a health spa, or sell a health spa membership, without a certificate of registration. A health spa is defined as a business selling memberships that provide instruction in, or use of facilities for, a physical exercise programme — so an ordinary gym or studio selling memberships is inside the definition. Each location needs its own certificate and the fee is $100, original or renewal, effective for one year. The fee is rarely the real cost. Security must be provided for each location, and the amount is set by the total amount paid for PREPAID memberships at that location, not by how many members you have: $20,000 of security up to $20,000 of prepaid memberships, then $25,000, $30,000, $35,000, $40,000 and $45,000 in steps, reaching $50,000 once prepaid memberships pass $45,000. Two exemptions matter and are worth checking before you post a bond. A facility that does not require memberships longer than 31 days, does not charge an initiation fee and does not take recurring debits can be exempt. So can an established operator with more than $50,000 in assets per location, at least five years of stable ownership and no closure-related complaints, applying on Form 3006. Separately exempt from registration altogether: tax-exempt organisations, member-owned private clubs, businesses teaching only dance or aerobics, those providing only physical rehabilitation, entities operating under a state license, and school activities under the Education Code.
Shared with other businesses in Mesquite
- Irrigation System Permit — City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection, $180 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, restaurants and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Public and Semi-Public Swimming Pool Permit — City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection, $200 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Commercial Amusement Permit — City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection, $125 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Mesquite, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Mesquite permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Mesquite?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 4 of these permits. A fitness studio also needs Health Spa Certificate of Registration. A retail store needs Farmers Market Permit, Apartment, Hotel and Motel License, Food Establishment Health Permit and Temporary Food Permit, which a fitness studio does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a fitness studio | Only a fitness studio needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 8 | 4 | 1 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 7 | 2 | 3 | 5 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 1 | 4 | 3 |
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 0 | 5 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 5 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 3 | 0 | 5 | 3 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 5 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 1 | 0 | 5 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 5 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Mesquite permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Mesquite Ordinance No. 5274 — amending Appendix D, Comprehensive Fee Schedule (adopted 21 September 2026, effective 1 October 2026), with Exhibit ACity of Mesquite · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Frequently Asked Questions for Health Spas — Texas Secretary of StateTexas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
