11 permits · verified 2026-10-09
What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Mesquite?
In short
A contractor or trade in Mesquite, TX has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Mesquite Health Division charges $150 per vehicle for the liquid waste hauler permit. 2 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a contractor or trade in Mesquite
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liquid Waste Hauler Permit | City of Mesquite Health Division | $150 per vehicle | one year | 2026-10-09 |
| Professional License | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $125 per registration | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Irrigation System Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $180 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Electrical Contractor Licenseonly if it applies to you | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | $110 non-refundable application | annual | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Mesquite
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Commercial Building Permit | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | Varies — formula on the Mesquite page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Plan Review Processing Fee | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | Varies — formula on the Mesquite page | per review, including each revision | 2026-10-09 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $150 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Standalone Commercial Trade Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $100 per trade permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $150 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Mesquite?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a contractor or trade in Mesquite, TX, 5 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $425.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all.
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Mesquite permits page and the TX state page.
Is Mesquite expensive for a contractor or trade?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Mesquite sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Mesquite charges $150. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 15 charge less, 5 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.
Demolition Permit: Mesquite charges $150. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 4 charge less and 1 charges more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Mesquite?
Permits for a contractor or trade in Mesquite, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of Mesquite Health Division, City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Mesquite Health DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Liquid Waste Hauler Permit1515 N. Galloway Ave, Mesquite, TX 75149 · 972-216-8138www.cityofmesquite.com/569/Health-Division-Permits-Fees
- City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building InspectionIssues 7 permits on this page, including Professional License, New Commercial Building Permit, Plan Review Processing Feewww.cityofmesquite.com/467/Permit-Fee-Schedule
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Electrical Contractor License(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
What does a contractor or trade need in Mesquite that other businesses do not?
2 of the 4 permits particular to a contractor or trade here apply to no other business type we cover in Mesquite: Professional License and Electrical Contractor License.
Liquid Waste Hauler Permit
$150 for the first vehicle and $150 for each additional vehicle, unchanged; a trip ticket book rose from $20 to $30 on 1 October 2026. The Health Division's Permits & Fees page lists the liquid waste truck permit as $150 a year. The permit falls on the hauler that empties a grease trap rather than on the restaurant.
Professional License
$125 from 1 October 2026 (up from $110). Ordinance No. 5274 sets the same $125 for a general contractor, an irrigation contractor, a sign contractor and a backflow contractor. The City's Commercial Fee Schedule 2026-2027 lists it as the Professional License, previously the contractor registration, at $125.
Electrical Contractor License
Texas licenses no general contractor - there is no statewide builder license. Individual trades are licensed instead: electrical, plumbing and HVAC, each under its own programme. The $110 is the application fee. Published renewal figures conflict between $110 and $165 depending on license subtype, so no renewal amount is recorded until a reviewer confirms which applies.
Shared with other businesses in Mesquite
- Irrigation System Permit — City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection, $180 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, restaurants and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Mesquite, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Mesquite permits page. The 2 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in Mesquite?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 1 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs Professional License, Irrigation System Permit and Electrical Contractor License. A auto repair shop needs nothing here that a contractor or trade does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a contractor or trade | Only a contractor or trade needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 1 | 3 | 0 |
| Restaurants | 7 | 2 | 2 | 5 |
| Fitness studios | 5 | 1 | 3 | 4 |
| Retail stores | 8 | 1 | 3 | 7 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Mesquite permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Mesquite Ordinance No. 5274 — amending Appendix D, Comprehensive Fee Schedule (adopted 21 September 2026, effective 1 October 2026), with Exhibit ACity of Mesquite · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Apply for a New Electrical Contractor License - TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
