18 permits · verified 2026-10-09
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Mesquite?
In short
A retail store in Mesquite, TX has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection charges $150 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 8 of the 18 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Mesquite
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Farmers Market Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Health Division | $10–$100 per day, or annual | per day, or one calendar year from 1 January to 31 December | 2026-10-09 |
| Irrigation System Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $180 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Public and Semi-Public Swimming Pool Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $200 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Apartment, Hotel and Motel License | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $12–$20 per unit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Food Establishment Health Permit | City of Mesquite Health Division | $300–$450 per year, by employee count | one year | 2026-10-09 |
| Temporary Food Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Health Division | $52–$200 per permit, by event type | per event, or seasonal | 2026-10-09 |
| Public Pool and Spa Health Permit | City of Mesquite Health Division | $150 per pool or spa, per year | one year | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Amusement Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $125 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Mesquite
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | Varies — formula on the Mesquite page | a movable sign permit is annual at $250 | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Addition, Alteration and Remodel Permit | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | Varies — formula on the Mesquite page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| New Commercial Building Permit | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | Varies — formula on the Mesquite page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Plan Review Processing Fee | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | Varies — formula on the Mesquite page | per review, including each revision | 2026-10-09 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $150 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Standalone Commercial Trade Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $100 per trade permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $150 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Mesquite?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 18 records listed for a retail store in Mesquite, TX, 8 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 8 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $300.00. That is a floor, not a total. 8 of the 18 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Farmers Market Permit: $10–$100 per day, or annual
Apartment, Hotel and Motel License: $12–$20 per unit
Food Establishment Health Permit: $300–$450 per year, by employee count
Temporary Food Permit: $52–$200 per permit, by event type
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Mesquite permits page and the TX state page.
Is Mesquite expensive for a retail store?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Mesquite sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Mesquite charges $150. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 15 charge less, 5 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.
Demolition Permit: Mesquite charges $150. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 4 charge less and 1 charges more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Mesquite?
Permits for a retail store in Mesquite, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection, City of Mesquite Health Division, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building InspectionIssues 11 permits on this page, including Sign Permit, Commercial Addition, Alteration and Remodel Permit, New Commercial Building Permitwww.cityofmesquite.com/467/Permit-Fee-Schedule
- City of Mesquite Health DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Farmers Market Permit, Food Establishment Health Permit, Temporary Food Permit, Public Pool and Spa Health Permit1515 N. Galloway Ave, Mesquite, TX 75149 · 972-216-8138www.cityofmesquite.com/569/Health-Division-Permits-Fees
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a retail store need in Mesquite that other businesses do not?
1 of the 8 permits particular to a retail store here applies to no other business type we cover in Mesquite: Apartment, Hotel and Motel License.
Farmers Market Permit
$10 for a one-day farmers market vendor permit or $100 for the year-round permit, unchanged by Ordinance No. 5274 — so the annual permit pays for itself at ten market days. The Health Division's Permits & Fees page states the annual permit runs from 1 January to 31 December, so an annual permit bought in November covers two months.
Public and Semi-Public Swimming Pool Permit
$200 to build a public or semi-public pool from 1 October 2026 (up from $150). This is the construction permit; operating the pool needs the Health Division's separate annual permit to operate, $150 per pool or spa under § 12-133.
Apartment, Hotel and Motel License
$12 per unit for a hotel or motel license (§ 12-109), and $20 per unit for a multi-family residential Rental Property License, both unchanged by Ordinance No. 5274. The ordinance moved the Rental Property License fees from § 12-126 to § 10-101 in the Neighborhood Services article. A 200-unit apartment complex is $4,000. A single-family rental property license, long-term or short-term, is $150 flat.
Temporary Food Permit
$52 per vendor per event for a temporary food establishment of fifteen days or less, and $200 per vendor for a seasonal or pop-up food establishment per season or other time period (up from $100 on 1 October 2026). Ordinance No. 5274 deleted the $250 annual pop-up permit for intermittent operations. For city-sponsored events and downtown Mesquite, a food vendor permit is $30 for one day, $50 for four days or less, and $200 a year for a downtown food vendor operating intermittently (down from $250). A farmers market vendor is $10 for a day or $100 for the year.
Shared with other businesses in Mesquite
- Irrigation System Permit — City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection, $180 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Establishment Health Permit — City of Mesquite Health Division, $300–$450 per year, by employee count, one year. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Public Pool and Spa Health Permit — City of Mesquite Health Division, $150 per pool or spa, per year, one year. Also required for fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Commercial Amusement Permit — City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection, $125 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for fitness studios and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Mesquite, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Mesquite permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Mesquite?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 5 of these permits. A retail store also needs Public and Semi-Public Swimming Pool Permit, Apartment, Hotel and Motel License and Public Pool and Spa Health Permit. A restaurant needs Liquid Waste Hauler Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 7 | 5 | 3 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 5 | 4 | 4 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 3 | 3 | 5 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 6 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 1 | 7 | 3 |
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 0 | 8 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 8 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 1 | 0 | 8 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 8 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, coffee shops page and fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Mesquite permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Mesquite Ordinance No. 5274 — amending Appendix D, Comprehensive Fee Schedule (adopted 21 September 2026, effective 1 October 2026), with Exhibit ACity of Mesquite · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Health Division Permits & FeesCity of Mesquite Health Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
