Mesquite
City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection
In short
City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection issues 12 permits we publish for Mesquite, last verified 2026-10-09. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $150 per permanent sign plus a $100 non-refundable application fee | a movable sign permit is annual at $250 | 2026-10-09 |
| Professional License | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $125 per registration | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Addition, Alteration and Remodel Permit | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $480 minimum up to 2,000 sq ft; $480 plus $0.24 per sq ft over 2,000 to 10,000; $2,400 plus $0.16 per sq ft over 10,000 to 15,000; $3,200 plus $0.08 per sq ft over 15,000 | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| New Commercial Building Permit | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $0.38 per square foot; a shell building is one-half the permit fee for a complete building | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Plan Review Processing Fee | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | 30% of the building permit fee, on the first review and each revision | per review, including each revision | 2026-10-09 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $150 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Irrigation System Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $180 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Standalone Commercial Trade Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $100 per trade permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $150 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Public and Semi-Public Swimming Pool Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $200 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Apartment, Hotel and Motel License | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $12–$20 per unit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Amusement Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Mesquite Planning and Development Services, Building Inspection | $125 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Sign Permit
From 1 October 2026 a permanent sign is $150 per sign plus a $100 non-refundable application fee (previously $125 plus $25). A low-clearance or freeway-oriented monument sign is $500 plus a $100 application fee, a banner or inflatable $100 per display period, and a movable sign $250 per business per year. Ordinance No. 5274 deleted the $100 annual sign registration fee. The City's Commercial Fee Schedule 2026-2027 handout prints a permanent sign at $150 including a $25 plan review; the adopted ordinance is the controlling text.
Professional License
$125 from 1 October 2026 (up from $110). Ordinance No. 5274 sets the same $125 for a general contractor, an irrigation contractor, a sign contractor and a backflow contractor. The City's Commercial Fee Schedule 2026-2027 lists it as the Professional License, previously the contractor registration, at $125.
Commercial Addition, Alteration and Remodel Permit
Unchanged by Ordinance No. 5274. A $480 minimum covers up to 2,000 sq ft, and the marginal rate falls with size, from $0.24 to $0.08 a square foot. Appendix D states the fee includes the electrical, plumbing and mechanical permits. A 5,000 sq ft restaurant remodel computes to $1,200 before plan review.
New Commercial Building Permit
Thirty-eight cents a square foot under § 12-100 of Appendix D, unchanged by Ordinance No. 5274. The City's Commercial Fee Schedule 2026-2027 states the fee includes the electrical, plumbing and mechanical permit fees, though subcontractors must still be listed on the building permit application, and that a shell building is charged at one-half the complete-building fee. Multi-family apartments rose from $420 to $450 per unit on 1 October 2026.
Plan Review Processing Fee
Ordinance No. 5274 replaced the single 28% commercial plan review fee with 30% of the building permit fee for commercial and multifamily plans (25% for residential), charged on the first review and on each revision, from 1 October 2026. On the $480 minimum remodel that is a further $144 per review. The City's Commercial Fee Schedule 2026-2027 handout still prints 28%; the adopted ordinance is the controlling text.
Certificate of Occupancy
$150, unchanged by Ordinance No. 5274. From 1 October 2026 a temporary certificate is also $150 (up from $125) and a reinspection $100 (up from $60); a replacement or duplicate certificate stays at $25. Clean and Show — utilities released so a space can be prepared or shown without occupancy — is $100 under § 12-100.
Irrigation System Permit
$180 for a commercial irrigation system from 1 October 2026 (up from $175). The annual backflow prevention assembly inspection fee is $25 under § 12-113.
Standalone Commercial Trade Permit
$100 each for commercial or multifamily electrical, plumbing and mechanical permits from 1 October 2026 (up from $80), where the work stands alone rather than sitting inside a building permit, which already includes them. A commercial spa or hot tub, a temporary storage container and any other miscellaneous commercial permit are also $100. Re-inspection is $100 under § 12-110.
Demolition Permit
$150 for a commercial demolition from 1 October 2026 (up from $100). Under the same ordinance a moving permit is $150, a parking lot permit $125, a commercial re-roof $150 and a commercial fence $120; an electrified fence is $250 with a $200 annual inspection fee.
Public and Semi-Public Swimming Pool Permit
$200 to build a public or semi-public pool from 1 October 2026 (up from $150). This is the construction permit; operating the pool needs the Health Division's separate annual permit to operate, $150 per pool or spa under § 12-133.
Apartment, Hotel and Motel License
$12 per unit for a hotel or motel license (§ 12-109), and $20 per unit for a multi-family residential Rental Property License, both unchanged by Ordinance No. 5274. The ordinance moved the Rental Property License fees from § 12-126 to § 10-101 in the Neighborhood Services article. A 200-unit apartment complex is $4,000. A single-family rental property license, long-term or short-term, is $150 flat.
Commercial Amusement Permit
$125 for commercial amusement from 1 October 2026 (up from $100). The same ordinance sets a bingo facility annual smoking permit at $1,200 (§ 12-101) and a Christmas tree lot at $75. A special event or parade application runs from $75 for under 200 attendees to $275 for more than 5,000 (§ 12-102), with an expedited application fee of $75.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Mesquite
- Phone
- Not verified — use the website
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- City of Mesquite Ordinance No. 5274 — amending Appendix D, Comprehensive Fee Schedule (adopted 21 September 2026, effective 1 October 2026), with Exhibit ACity of Mesquite · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Commercial Fee Schedule 2026-2027 (revised September 2026)City of Mesquite · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
Other offices serving Mesquite
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Texas jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
