11 permits · verified 2026-10-09
What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Laredo?
In short
A salon or barber in Laredo, TX has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Laredo Public Health Department charges $400 per application, plus $10.00 to TCEQ for the on-site sewage facility (septic) permit — non-residential. 4 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a salon or barber in Laredo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BYOB Venue Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | $150 per location, per year | 1 year (section 5-18(a)) | 2026-10-09 |
| Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | $78 per license period | two years | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Laredo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Business Registration | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | not stated in the codified schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permit — Non-Residentialonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Public Health Department | $400 per application, plus $10.00 to TCEQ | application expires 1 year from filing (section 31-81(b)) | 2026-10-09 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | per application; the validity period is not stated in City Code § 28-50 | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Building Permit and Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | per project; the validity period is not stated in City Code § 7-2 | 2026-10-09 |
| Fire Inspection (new business and certificate of occupancy) | City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits Office | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | per inspection visit (City Code § 12-82) | 2026-10-09 |
| Alarm System Permit (Non-Residential)only if it applies to you | City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement Division | $60 per year | 12 months (section 21-81(b)) | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Laredo?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a salon or barber in Laredo, TX, 4 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $78.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all.
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Laredo permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Laredo?
Permits for a salon or barber in Laredo, TX come from 7 separate offices: City of Laredo Building Development Services Department, City of Laredo Public Health Department, City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits Office, City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement Division, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Laredo Building Development Services DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: New Business Registration, Sign Permit, Commercial Building Permit and Plan Review, BYOB Venue Permit1120 San Bernardo Avenue, Laredo, TX 78040www.cityoflaredo.com
- City of Laredo Public Health DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permit — Non-Residential2600 Cedar Avenue, Laredo, TX · (956) 795-4900www.cityoflaredo.com/departments/health-department
- City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Inspection (new business and certificate of occupancy)1413 Houston Street, Laredo, TX · (956) 794-1633www.cityoflaredo.com/departments/fire-department/fire-permits
- City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Alarm System Permit (Non-Residential)1102 Bob Bullock Loop, Laredo, TX 78043 · (956) 727-6414alarms.cityoflaredo.com
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a salon or barber need in Laredo that other businesses do not?
1 of the 2 permits particular to a salon or barber here applies to no other business type we cover in Laredo: Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License.
Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License
Establishment licenses are valid for two years from the date of issue, so the $78 is a two-year cost rather than an annual one — worth halving before you compare it with a yearly permit elsewhere. The fee applies to standard and specialty establishments; a mini-establishment license is $70. It covers full-service, mobile and specialty establishments, and applies to licenses expiring on or after 1 September 2023. Individual practitioners are licensed separately from the establishment, so a salon needs both its own license and a license for each operator working in it.
Shared with other businesses in Laredo
- BYOB Venue Permit — City of Laredo Building Development Services Department, $150 per location, per year, 1 year (section 5-18(a)). Also required for retail stores and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Laredo, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Laredo permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Laredo?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License. A fitness studio needs Amusement Ride Permit, Public or Semipublic Swimming Pool Permit and Health Spa Certificate of Registration, which a salon or barber does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a salon or barber | Only a salon or barber needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 4 | 1 | 1 | 3 |
| Retail stores | 6 | 1 | 1 | 5 |
| Auto repair shops | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 7 | 0 | 2 | 7 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Laredo permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Barbering and Cosmetology Fee Changes — TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
