16 permits · verified 2026-10-09
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Laredo?
In short
A restaurant in Laredo, TX has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Laredo Public Health Department charges $52 per food booth or unit for the temporary food establishment permit. 7 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Laredo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Establishment License (Retail Food Operation Permit) | City of Laredo Public Health Department | $129–$386.50 per year, by gross annual food sales | 1 year, expiring 15 August (section 13-40(b)) | 2026-10-09 |
| Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Public Health Department | $52 per food booth or unit | 14 consecutive days | 2026-10-09 |
| Vending Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | $100–$500 per permit, by whose property | 6 weeks, one renewal | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Handler Certificate | City of Laredo Public Health Department | $25 per certificate | 2 years (section 13-58(b)) | 2026-10-09 |
| Vent Hood Extinguishing System Permit and Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits Office | $180 per hood | one-time, per hood at plan review (City Code § 12-81) | 2026-10-09 |
| Special Use Permit — Restaurant Serving Alcohol (R-O, B-1 and B-3 districts)only if it applies to you | City of Laredo Planning and Zoning Department | $400 per application | per application; the approval period is not stated in the Land Development Code fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)only if it applies to you | Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission | $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal | every 2 years | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Laredo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Business Registration | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | not stated in the codified schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permit — Non-Residentialonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Public Health Department | $400 per application, plus $10.00 to TCEQ | application expires 1 year from filing (section 31-81(b)) | 2026-10-09 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | per application; the validity period is not stated in City Code § 28-50 | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Building Permit and Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | per project; the validity period is not stated in City Code § 7-2 | 2026-10-09 |
| Fire Inspection (new business and certificate of occupancy) | City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits Office | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | per inspection visit (City Code § 12-82) | 2026-10-09 |
| Alarm System Permit (Non-Residential)only if it applies to you | City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement Division | $60 per year | 12 months (section 21-81(b)) | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Laredo?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a restaurant in Laredo, TX, 5 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $25.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Establishment License (Retail Food Operation Permit): $129–$386.50 per year, by gross annual food sales
Vending Permit: $100–$500 per permit, by whose property
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB): $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Laredo permits page and the TX state page.
Is Laredo expensive for a restaurant?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Laredo sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Temporary Food Establishment Permit: Laredo charges $52. Across 8 jurisdictions it runs from $35 in Grayson County to $62 in Austin, with a median of $51. 4 charge less, 1 charges more and 2 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Temporary Food Establishment Permit varies by $27 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Laredo?
Permits for a restaurant in Laredo, TX come from 8 separate offices: City of Laredo Public Health Department, City of Laredo Building Development Services Department, City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits Office, City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement Division, City of Laredo Planning and Zoning Department, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Laredo Public Health DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Food Establishment License (Retail Food Operation Permit), Temporary Food Establishment Permit, Food Handler Certificate, On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permit — Non-Residential2600 Cedar Avenue, Laredo, TX · (956) 795-4900www.cityoflaredo.com/departments/health-department
- City of Laredo Building Development Services DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: New Business Registration, Vending Permit, Sign Permit, Commercial Building Permit and Plan Review1120 San Bernardo Avenue, Laredo, TX 78040www.cityoflaredo.com
- City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits OfficeIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Inspection (new business and certificate of occupancy), Vent Hood Extinguishing System Permit and Plan Review1413 Houston Street, Laredo, TX · (956) 794-1633www.cityoflaredo.com/departments/fire-department/fire-permits
- City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Alarm System Permit (Non-Residential)1102 Bob Bullock Loop, Laredo, TX 78043 · (956) 727-6414alarms.cityoflaredo.com
- City of Laredo Planning and Zoning DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Special Use Permit — Restaurant Serving Alcohol (R-O, B-1 and B-3 districts)1413 Houston Street, Laredo, TX 78040 · (956) 794-1613www.cityoflaredo.com/departments/planning-and-zoning
- Texas Alcoholic Beverage CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)www.tabc.texas.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a restaurant need in Laredo that other businesses do not?
2 of the 7 permits particular to a restaurant here apply to no other business type we cover in Laredo: Special Use Permit — Restaurant Serving Alcohol (R-O, B-1 and B-3 districts) and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB).
Food Establishment License (Retail Food Operation Permit)
Under Laredo Code section 13-34, no food products establishment may operate in the city without a retail food operation permit from the Public Health Department unless it holds a Texas DSHS permit or is a licensed food manufacturer. The fee is tiered by gross annual food sales. Section 13-39(a) (Ord. No. 2025-O-141) and the Health Department's Permits and Fees page agree on $129.00 for sales under $50,000 and $386.50 for sales of $150,000 or more. For the middle band ($50,000 to $149,999.99) the code prints one amount and the Health Department page, which dates the tier structure from September 1, 2025, prints another, so no middle-band figure is given. Section 13-39 adds a $100.00 late fee for a renewal filed after expiry and $20.00 to replace a license, and both Health Department pages list a one-time $100.00 application (processing) fee. The license expires on 15 August; a license for part of a year is charged pro rata but never less than half the annual fee (section 13-40), and it must be posted in the establishment (section 13-42). The Health Department's list of businesses needing its permit includes commercial adult and child day care facilities. State law caps the total: under Health and Safety Code section 437.0126 a city may not charge more a year, processing fees included, than DSHS charges for two years, which the DSHS permits page sets at $258, $515 and $773 for the same sales bands.
Temporary Food Establishment Permit
$52.00 for each food booth or unit, valid for fourteen consecutive days from its effective date, under Laredo Code section 13-39(d); the Health Department's fee schedule and its Permits and Fees page give the same $52.00 and fourteen days. The Permits and Fees page says this temporary license covers plate sales and special events, is valid for the same location and event, that food may not be prepared at home, and that food must be prepared on site or obtained from a licensed establishment, with receipts or a donation letter brought in as proof.
Food Handler Certificate
Laredo Code section 13-56(a) makes it unlawful to employ anyone in a food establishment unless that person holds a valid food handler's certificate, and section 13-58 sets $25.00 for a certificate from the Health Department's course and $5.00 for a duplicate, each certificate running two years. The Health Department's fee schedule and Permits and Fees page list the same $25.00 and $5.00; the course runs Tuesdays at 2:00 pm and Fridays at 9:00 am, and the Permits and Fees page also lists online food handler courses run by other providers. For training at the business's own site, section 13-58(f) and the Permits and Fees page describe the charge differently, so no on-site figure is given. Health and Safety Code section 437.0045 limits a city to the certifications DSHS would require of the same employee.
Vent Hood Extinguishing System Permit and Plan Review
Laredo Code section 12-81 Exhibit A lists plan review for a vent hood system at $180.00 per hood, under the plan review heading of the Fire Department's fee schedule (last amended by Ord. No. 2024-O-211). The Fire Department Permits Office page publishes a Vent Hood Extinguishing System Permit Application alongside its other system permit applications. A kitchen that cooks under a commercial hood with a fire-suppression system needs this review; a coffee shop or restaurant without a hood system does not.
Special Use Permit — Restaurant Serving Alcohol (R-O, B-1 and B-3 districts)
The City's Building Development Services Business Application form (updated 01/2026) states that no restaurant serving alcohol may operate in an R-O (Residential/Office), B-1 (Limited Commercial) or B-3 (Community Business) zoning district without a Special Use Permit granted by the City Council, and that establishments serving alcohol may not be within 300 feet of any church, public school, public park, residential structure or residential zoning district, measured from the establishment's front door to the nearest property line. Laredo Land Development Code Appendix B-3 sets the application fee for a Special Use Permit at $400.00. A restaurant that does not serve alcohol, or one in another zoning district, does not need this permit.
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)
Read directly from the TABC two-year licensing fee schedule: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB) $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal, charged on a two-year cycle. A Wine and Malt Beverage Retailer's Permit (BG) is $1,900 if you do not need spirits. Note a widely-cited competitor lists $6,006 for this permit, which does not appear in the TABC schedule.
Shared with other businesses in Laredo
- Vending Permit — City of Laredo Building Development Services Department, $100–$500 per permit, by whose property, 6 weeks, one renewal. Also required for retail stores and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Laredo, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Laredo permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Laredo?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 4 of these permits. A restaurant also needs Vending Permit, Special Use Permit — Restaurant Serving Alcohol (R-O, B-1 and B-3 districts) and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB). A coffee shop needs nothing here that a restaurant does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 4 | 4 | 3 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 6 | 2 | 5 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 6 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 1 | 6 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 2 | 0 | 7 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 7 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 4 | 0 | 7 | 4 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 0 | 7 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 7 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Laredo permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Laredo Code of Ordinances section 13-39, Fees (food establishment licences; Ord. No. 2025-O-141, 4 August 2025)City of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Public Health Department — Environmental Health Permits and FeesCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Public Health Department — New Fee ScheduleCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Laredo Code of Ordinances section 13-40, Scope; term; pro rata feesCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 437, Regulation of Food Service Establishments, Retail Food Stores, Mobile Food Units, and Roadside Food VendorsTexas Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-28
- Texas DSHS Retail Food Establishment permit fees — the rates Amarillo Municipal Code section 8-5-15(b)(1) adopts by referenceTexas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- Laredo Code of Ordinances section 13-58, Issuance of food handler's certificatesCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Laredo Code of Ordinances Chapter 12, Article IV, Fire Prevention Fees (sections 12-81 to 12-83; Ord. No. 2024-O-211, 28 October 2024)City of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Fire Department — Permits OfficeCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Laredo Land Development Code Appendix B-3, Zoning FeesCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Building Development Services — Business Application Form (form updated 01/2026)City of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Two-Year Licensing Fees — TABCTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
